We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super Helpful”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The stay was just overnight but could not have had a better experience. The reception was kind and helpful went out of her way to assist us even putting our washing in the dryer and bring it into the room for us while we were enjoying the Springs just a short walk away. Room was comfortable and clean. Walking distance from all the restaurants and cafe's in the main street.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    44
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
71
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Friendly service and clean rooms however I wouldn't stay again particularly on a Sat night as rooms back onto pub and it was quite noisy. Rooms are clean and very basic. Heater did not work. Double bed was two singles pushed together and they were quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry you did enjoy your stay. This always concerns us. We think we know which room you were in and will check the heater (also go through the other rooms as well) but wish you had told us as we would have rectified the problem. We could have been contacted at any time, even on an 'out of hours' telephone number at night. Also all of our king beds are king bed splits the reason being that we have many requests for 2 x single beds. We have had many many compliments on how comfortable our beds are but realise that possibly they will not suit everybody, or be like home. Regarding the pub, the people outside enjoying themselves were inside or had left by 8pm we think. We are sorry you found our rooms basic, we are a 4 Star Motel and think we are generally the same as a normal motel of that star rating. Once again, we are sorry but we always try our best and will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Just across the road from the hot springs so just right in that respect. Clean, reasonably sized studio room and fresh milk offered on arrival not UHT containers in the room. Phone in room was in a stupid place which got knocked off it's perch almost every time we walked past it.I HATE flip top waste bins as they get dirty just by being looked at.Nice white bedlinen and sheets but top cover on the bed weighs a ton.Pillows were a tad hard for my liking but otherwise no complaints apart from poor sound insulation between us and next room. We could hear almost every word of conversations and when they left early in the morning there was no lie in for us as the staff were in cleaning straight away. At least they were cleaning properly. Very nice warm and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEOFFREY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Sorry about the phone, we cannot see where else in the room to move it to, but maybe we can look at putting something on, to hold it more firmly in place. Thanks for that. Regarding the sound insulation between rooms, most of our rooms have very good sound insulation room to room as there are stairwells in between, so it is just unfortunate that you were in a room that is directly next to another room. We will try to be more considerate when we are cleaning. We think the room next door to you must have been first to leave that morning and we were anxious to get it cleaned as it was a busy holiday weekend. We try to start cleaning as late as possible, 9.30 am on a Sunday 9.00 am other days, so apologies for that. However thank you for your review and all your points have been noted and we will aim to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This motel is operated by a lovely lady who makes you most welcome. The motel is close to the township and hot pools; just a few minutes walk away. Our unit was spotlessly clean, perfectly equipped to suit our needs. Our bed was most comfortable.
I would strongly recommend this motel to anyone wanting a stay in Hanmer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMaxChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you very much. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The motel is ideally located at a short stroll of central Hanmer Springs. We felt welcomed by the friendly hosts and the rooms fully met our expectations. Very clean, well appointed bathrooms and comfy beds. Apart from this the room had a nice kitchenette. We had a fab stay.
Can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchtraveller75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The first time we stayed here was a birthday suprise and it was great. Heaters and lights were left on as we were late arriving and the studio unit was comfortable and cosy.
This time was better!! The staff were relaxed and friendly and as the motel is moments away from the cafes ,resturants, and hot pools , it only added to our enjoyment. We will be staying again .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kavman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and especially glad you had a nice birthday. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We didnt book any accomadation before arriving in town, and just decided to check here after seeing that it was the best located motel in terms of proximity to restaurants and the hot springs.

It was easily the best place we stayed at in New Zealand. The room was basically a modern 1 bedroom apartment, with kitchen, large living area, and 2 balconies.

When we checked in, we also received fresh milk, which was a nice touch.

It's just a few minutes walk to the hot springs, and there were several excellent restaurants nearby. We had dinner at Saints which I would also strongly recommend trying if you are in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M, Owner at ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you very much for your review. That would be Room 13 that you stayed in as not all of our One Bedroom Units have 2 balconies. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Hanmer Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel

Property: ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
Address: 16 Jacks Pass Road | Hanmer Springs, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanmer Inn Motel sits right in the centre of the village. The Thermal Pools are 2 minutes walk away and is close to the shops and many restaurants. The comfortable units, ranging from studios to 2 Bedroom Family Units have plenty of heating and also ALL have kitchens - hotplates (some units have a full cooker but please specifically request), microwave, full fridge, electric frypan etc. Milk is offered to each guest/unit on arrival, and there are a range of beverages available in the room - selection of Teas, Coffee and Hot Chocolate, complimentary newspaper ON REQUEST. The Hanmer Inn Motel also offer FREE WIFI (conditions apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanmer Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing