We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous little hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Our recent stay at the Greenacres was one of the highlights of our trip to the South Island, whilst our 1 bedroom chalet was not the Ritz, it was warm and comfortable. the ambience of the entire place was really nice and the owners were really accommodating, even taking credit card payment from me to pass on for the massage that they helped me to organise so I would not have to make an additional cash withdrawal and get charged another bank fee. Small things like that make a real difference I think. Our 4 year old loved the playground and just running around on the large lawn in the middle of the chalets whilst we sat at one of the tables/chairs provided reading our books and having a wine, a really nive way to finish our trip to NZ. The one dissapointment was that the onsite spa was not working as we would have loved to use it but all in all a lovely little property.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2011

We had a great stay at Greenacres and found the staff and owner to be most helpful. Our accommodation was great and the kitchen was fully equiped. The views were outstanding from our 2 bed unit. We enjoyed the attractions that Hamner had to offer and overall enjoyed our visit to Hamner.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillenerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

My partner and I stayed at this motel for 1 night, around 8.30pm I had a 10 minutes shower, my partner followed soon after and 5 minutes into her shower the water turned cold while she was washing her hair.

The manager told me that 15 minutes shower was too long and the hot water system would take one hour to heat up again. He also told us that the whole complex was full and there was no spare showers available. I then boiled the jug 3 times to help my partner wash her hair, by the time we got into bed at 9.30pm, her body was so cold it wasn't funny.

To top the bad night off, we had to endure 90 minutes of loud base music from next door, all we could hear is duff duff. I didn't trouble the manager again because I have already troubled him once.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Our townhouse was spacious,spotless with amazing vistas from its 2 large balconies.
The short distance from downtown ensured a peaceful nights sleep. A beautiful walk thru conifer and beech forests is a couple minutes from the property with stunning views over the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Stayed here for a night in a chalet, the owners were friendly and accomodating. The accomodation was comfortable and warm, the bathroom was old and in need of an update. It had a full kitchen with all the utensils you could need. Wifi internet was good. As was the laundry which we found to be clean. You could not walk to town, well the motel is atop a hill and wouldnt be a comfortable walk back up!

Very good value for money motel.

We found Hanmer springs to be touristy and expensive but I guess since it is a weekend getaway place for the Christchurch locals that is why.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

We have been to stay here 3 times now and just love it. Evrery time we have family from the UK we take them here. The setting is just beautiful, on a peaceful site. The accommodation is clean and ideal for families. My kids just love staying here. But one of the things that really makes it are the owners, they are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. We will continue staying here every time we go back to Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We underestimated our time in driving up from Dunedin to Hanmer Springs and called the Motel around 5 saying we would not be arriving till 9-9:30 (We arrived around 9) The lady at the desk, don't know if she owned Greenacres Motel or not, was very short and unfriendly and said, "oh, I may be I in bed by then". We asked if she'd let us call a bit before we got there to inform her exactly when we'd be arriving and she reluctantly said she would and that our "townhouse" (which we didn't book) is hard to find. When we got there she was rushed and unhappy and gave us poor directions to our accommodations and unfortunately we couldn't find it in the dark (no lights, no signage, no map). Anyway we finally found it. Her negativity spoiled our experience there. The room was huge, in fact we got two rooms with a livingroom and kitchen. We didn't book that so that was great. The bathroom situation was odd in that it had 3 tiny bathrooms. One with tub and sink, one with a toilet, and one with a shower.
If it weren't for the very unfriendly lady, I might recommend Greeacres Motel but because of her attitude I would definitely NOT recommend it.
The town itself was OK, very touristy and not where I'd go to again. There's so many more beautiful places to go in New Zealand that aren't touristy, why go there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogandParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
703 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Larchwood Motel
Larchwood Motel
#21 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpine Garden Motel
Alpine Garden Motel
#16 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Chalets And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Chalets And Apartments

Address: 84 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £60 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenacres Chalets And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique complex of cosy, individual alpine chalets and superior villas set in acres of parkland overlooking Hanmer Village and the mountains beyond. A short walk to the famous Thermal pools and Shops. 1, 2, 3 bedroom with fully equipped kitchens, something to suit everyone from couples to families. Spectacular views, privacy and quiet with room to move. Wireless internet, DVD library, BBQs, Playground, Private Spa. Commitment to environmental sustainability. Friendly NZ owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenacres Chalets And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing