We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in Hamner Springs to enjoy the hot springs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Staying in Hamner Springs to enjoy the hot springs”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

THis is a good value place to stay in Hamner Springs. Located at the edge of the township, the self contained units are comfortable and spacious, the staff are friendly, there is a laundry available and most of what yuo need is walking distance (albeit a bit of ahill) if you have no car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Alison
thank you for your time doing the review. WE are happy to have you here and enjoy the days in the Hanmersprings.Our chalets are set in extensive grounds situated just 250 metres from the Hanmer Springs village shops and 400 from the hot pools. Being slightly uphill we enjoy magnificent views and have a very quiet location. Not everyone knows there is fantastic mountain views in the Hanmerspings.
The most important things is making you comfortable to stay in our place.
thank you very much , you have a wonderful trip in NewZealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    85
    43
    15
    10
See reviews for
114
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

While the room was clean, large and comfortable the establishment itself is definitely in need of a refurb. It's a shame that the rooms are so dated because everything else is a winner - very central and great staff.

Room Tip: If you're after somewhere modern then it'd probably be worth giving this one a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
THat is right , we are uphill with magnificent views.Each chalet is a separate building (no common walls) set in our spacious grounds, and each has its own veranda. WE are the first motel in hanmerspring and keep updating the rooms. it will be different when you visit us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We always stay here when we come to Hanmer Springs. It is older in style and could do with updating, but we love it's location and the fact that it's at the top of the hill, you have a view over to the mountains looking towards Christchurch. Ask for chalet no 12 or 14, which are seperate from the others and also has undercover parking and 2 balconies.

Room Tip: Chalet numbers 12 or 14 for undercover parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annebbillytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. That is right there are totally four of 2 bedroom townhouse in our motel , and Our townhouse apartments are set further back in our extensive grounds for greater privacy and enjoy quite magnificent views. WE are keeping updating interior facilities and make them more comfortable to stay.
You enjoy staying with us is the most important thing to us.
thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Five ladies for a girls weekend staying two nights in Hanmer Springs.We had a three bedroom Lockwood chalet, nicely furnished, spacious and modern. Reception was helpful in pointing out areas to visit. The chalet was easy walking distance to restaurants and shops with the lovely Conical Hill walkway just up the road behind us and a short walk down the road to Hanmer. The amenities were good with a fabulous gas log fire in the lounge and heat pump fanning into the bedrooms. The open plan lounge, dining, kitchen area had all the comforts of home with large chaise lounge suite, coffee table and sky tv and plenty of room for the dining table, chairs and kitchen barstools. The wraparound deck showed fabulous expansive views of the countryside. The beds were comfortable and chalet warm and cosy. There was no clothes dryer in the house but it did have a laundry area and portable clothes rack for drying towels etc, which with the fire having heated the rooms, dried togs and towels overnight in the lounge. My one suggestion would be to hang a mirror in the bedrooms, as the only mirror in the chalet was the bathroom and with five women in one chalet that is definitely not enough.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Abroadswords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable suggestion , That's a great review for us , we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you when you can make it up again to lovely Hanmer Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

One of our favourite motels on our NZ trip. It's a shortish walk from the 'town centre' and the springs themselves but is beautifully quiet. Parking was easy and the chalet was nicely spacious with a great seating area outside.
The cooking facilities were among the best we had in any of our motels and we even had a lovely view out of the bathroom window!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCMike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
THank you for your lovely Review and we are happy that you enjoy the night with us.
We are keeping updating the rooms and improve our services.
We will see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Excellent value for money when all you need is a place to rest the head after a day of travel and sightseeing. Many other reviewers have commented on the dated state of the rooms and I must echo these. It is certainly not flash accommodation and could really use some fresh paint and fixtures to modernise and improve the visual appeal. That being said, we were simply using Hanmer Springs as a stop over between Dunedin and Nelson so only needed a place to rest for the night. Check-in and check-out was a breeze, especially since I booked and paid on-line using the AA booking site. The young man was very friendly and helpful - providing a map, recommendations for "the best bar in town", and openning and closing hours for the hot springs.
Our group was made up of 3 single female travellers ranging in age from 30 to 60 so the two bedroom cabin was perfect - one bedroom with a double bed, the other with two singles and the common area also had two single beds.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This place would be ok in the Summer, but we stayed the first weekend with rain for the first time in months and the room was so damp already. Very old and tired furniture and fittings, bathroom was terrible, shower hopeless. Person at reception at the time of our check-in could not even recommend a restaurant for us to dine at for tea and only pulled two brochures off the wall. Sorry but we wont be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offthefarm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Chalets And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Chalets And Apartments

Property: Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Address: 84 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenacres Chalets And Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique complex of cosy, individual alpine chalets and superior villas set in acres of parkland overlooking Hanmer Village and the mountains beyond. A short walk to the famous Thermal pools and Shops. 1, 2, 3 bedroom with fully equipped kitchens, something to suit everyone from couples to families. Spectacular views, privacy and quiet with room to move. Wireless internet, DVD library, BBQs, Playground, Private Spa. Commitment to environmental sustainability. Friendly NZ owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenacres Chalets And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing