We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great value and very clean”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

as has been said before, the owners are lovely, very helpful and polite. This is an older property but you get what you pay for and it's very clean. Each unit has it's own little deck and the set up feels quite private.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allie2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, General Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank Heaps for your positive review .We are glad you enjoyed your one night stay with us . We are the first motel in Hanmer springs, we are keeping updating the rooms each year and make the room more comfortable to stay in . We are glad to have you here , and you can see the difference when you come back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    85
    45
    15
    12
See reviews for
117
96
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wanaka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and tidy with an amazing lookout of hamner springs. The kids loved the park and the use of the DVDs after a busy day in the hot pools. The staff were great and very helpful. The bedrooms were lovely and warm and very comfy beds. Thank you we will defiantly be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We were in number 10. Great views over the town. And sunny all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, General Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Nichola,
thank you for your time to give us the valuable review.
It is wonderful to have you and your family staying in our motel , and it is the most important thing for us to make you enjoy the time staying in Hanmersprings. You bring the sunshine back to here.
WE are looking forward to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

THis is a good value place to stay in Hamner Springs. Located at the edge of the township, the self contained units are comfortable and spacious, the staff are friendly, there is a laundry available and most of what yuo need is walking distance (albeit a bit of ahill) if you have no car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Dear Alison
thank you for your time doing the review. WE are happy to have you here and enjoy the days in the Hanmersprings.Our chalets are set in extensive grounds situated just 250 metres from the Hanmer Springs village shops and 400 from the hot pools. Being slightly uphill we enjoy magnificent views and have a very quiet location. Not everyone knows there is fantastic mountain views in the Hanmerspings.
The most important things is making you comfortable to stay in our place.
thank you very much , you have a wonderful trip in NewZealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

While the room was clean, large and comfortable the establishment itself is definitely in need of a refurb. It's a shame that the rooms are so dated because everything else is a winner - very central and great staff.

Room Tip: If you're after somewhere modern then it'd probably be worth giving this one a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
THat is right , we are uphill with magnificent views.Each chalet is a separate building (no common walls) set in our spacious grounds, and each has its own veranda. WE are the first motel in hanmerspring and keep updating the rooms. it will be different when you visit us next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We always stay here when we come to Hanmer Springs. It is older in style and could do with updating, but we love it's location and the fact that it's at the top of the hill, you have a view over to the mountains looking towards Christchurch. Ask for chalet no 12 or 14, which are seperate from the others and also has undercover parking and 2 balconies.

Room Tip: Chalet numbers 12 or 14 for undercover parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annebbillytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. That is right there are totally four of 2 bedroom townhouse in our motel , and Our townhouse apartments are set further back in our extensive grounds for greater privacy and enjoy quite magnificent views. WE are keeping updating interior facilities and make them more comfortable to stay.
You enjoy staying with us is the most important thing to us.
thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Five ladies for a girls weekend staying two nights in Hanmer Springs.We had a three bedroom Lockwood chalet, nicely furnished, spacious and modern. Reception was helpful in pointing out areas to visit. The chalet was easy walking distance to restaurants and shops with the lovely Conical Hill walkway just up the road behind us and a short walk down the road to Hanmer. The amenities were good with a fabulous gas log fire in the lounge and heat pump fanning into the bedrooms. The open plan lounge, dining, kitchen area had all the comforts of home with large chaise lounge suite, coffee table and sky tv and plenty of room for the dining table, chairs and kitchen barstools. The wraparound deck showed fabulous expansive views of the countryside. The beds were comfortable and chalet warm and cosy. There was no clothes dryer in the house but it did have a laundry area and portable clothes rack for drying towels etc, which with the fire having heated the rooms, dried togs and towels overnight in the lounge. My one suggestion would be to hang a mirror in the bedrooms, as the only mirror in the chalet was the bathroom and with five women in one chalet that is definitely not enough.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Abroadswords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable suggestion , That's a great review for us , we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you when you can make it up again to lovely Hanmer Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

One of our favourite motels on our NZ trip. It's a shortish walk from the 'town centre' and the springs themselves but is beautifully quiet. Parking was easy and the chalet was nicely spacious with a great seating area outside.
The cooking facilities were among the best we had in any of our motels and we even had a lovely view out of the bathroom window!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCMike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
THank you for your lovely Review and we are happy that you enjoy the night with us.
We are keeping updating the rooms and improve our services.
We will see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#17 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Chalets And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Chalets And Apartments

Property: Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Address: 84 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenacres Chalets And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique complex of cosy, individual alpine chalets and superior villas set in acres of parkland overlooking Hanmer Village and the mountains beyond. A short walk to the famous Thermal pools and Shops. 1, 2, 3 bedroom with fully equipped kitchens, something to suit everyone from couples to families. Spectacular views, privacy and quiet with room to move. Wireless internet, DVD library, BBQs, Playground, Private Spa. Commitment to environmental sustainability. Friendly NZ owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Greenacres Chalets And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing