We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

It is rainning when we stay in , but there is fan heater warm up the room quickly. It is private place on the uphill where we get fantastic mountain view. My child spend 2 hour on the playground.
the stuff here are really helpful. we will be back next time.

Room Tip: the room 4 we stay has wonderful view through the windows. we have a relax morning tea here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Qiuping S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with use and hope to see you back again!
Maybe next time the weather will be better!
Have a nice holiday season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great location and yet quiet and good motel accommodation. The only place I would stay at in Hanmer. Great service very keen to help in anyway. They know the area and where to eat. They also know where all the good walks are. The location is high up so you get a great view but is still in walking distance. The chalets are showing sign of their age, but they are clean and we stayed for three nights and were happy with it.

Room Tip: They have a spa just didn't use it. The single bedroom chalets are great for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nautique5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank very much for this positive review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back very soon!
May your holiday season and the New Year be filled with much joy, happiness and success!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived in Hanmer Springs quite late in the afternoon and little of quality was available; we thus took a room (Chalet 7) in the Greenacres Motel. The Receptionist was very helpful but the room was dilapidated (plaster falling off wall, wall paper missing, woodwork damaged) and a major disappointment after a long car journey. Basically, we would not recommend it; indeed, stay away. Wifi worked well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Shabby
We are sorry that we have no time to put the wall paper back in the bed room . it was teared off by the kids .
Follow your suggestion , we are going to painting the room 7 instead of the wall paper next week , and it is going to close the room for next 2 weeks. We hope we can make people who are staying in the room 7 comfortablly during the christmas time.

thank you for your time giving us the feedback. We are keeping updating the units and improving our servies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

as has been said before, the owners are lovely, very helpful and polite. This is an older property but you get what you pay for and it's very clean. Each unit has it's own little deck and the set up feels quite private.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allie2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, General Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank Heaps for your positive review .We are glad you enjoyed your one night stay with us . We are the first motel in Hanmer springs, we are keeping updating the rooms each year and make the room more comfortable to stay in . We are glad to have you here , and you can see the difference when you come back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and tidy with an amazing lookout of hamner springs. The kids loved the park and the use of the DVDs after a busy day in the hot pools. The staff were great and very helpful. The bedrooms were lovely and warm and very comfy beds. Thank you we will defiantly be back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: We were in number 10. Great views over the town. And sunny all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, General Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Nichola,
thank you for your time to give us the valuable review.
It is wonderful to have you and your family staying in our motel , and it is the most important thing for us to make you enjoy the time staying in Hanmersprings. You bring the sunshine back to here.
WE are looking forward to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

THis is a good value place to stay in Hamner Springs. Located at the edge of the township, the self contained units are comfortable and spacious, the staff are friendly, there is a laundry available and most of what yuo need is walking distance (albeit a bit of ahill) if you have no car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Alison
thank you for your time doing the review. WE are happy to have you here and enjoy the days in the Hanmersprings.Our chalets are set in extensive grounds situated just 250 metres from the Hanmer Springs village shops and 400 from the hot pools. Being slightly uphill we enjoy magnificent views and have a very quiet location. Not everyone knows there is fantastic mountain views in the Hanmerspings.
The most important things is making you comfortable to stay in our place.
thank you very much , you have a wonderful trip in NewZealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

While the room was clean, large and comfortable the establishment itself is definitely in need of a refurb. It's a shame that the rooms are so dated because everything else is a winner - very central and great staff.

Room Tip: If you're after somewhere modern then it'd probably be worth giving this one a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbbalemi, Manager at Greenacres Chalets And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

THat is right , we are uphill with magnificent views.Each chalet is a separate building (no common walls) set in our spacious grounds, and each has its own veranda. WE are the first motel in hanmerspring and keep updating the rooms. it will be different when you visit us next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#17 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#20 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alpine Garden Motel
Alpine Garden Motel
#16 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Chalets And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Chalets And Apartments

Address: 84 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenacres Chalets And Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique complex of cosy, individual alpine chalets and superior villas set in acres of parkland overlooking Hanmer Village and the mountains beyond. A short walk to the famous Thermal pools and Shops. 1, 2, 3 bedroom with fully equipped kitchens, something to suit everyone from couples to families. Spectacular views, privacy and quiet with room to move. Wireless internet, DVD library, BBQs, Playground, Private Spa. Commitment to environmental sustainability. Friendly NZ owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenacres Chalets And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing