We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Accommodation and Spectacular Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Accommodation and Spectacular Views”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Villa and had an amazing time. The rooms were great and we had an amazing view. Particularly liked that the bedrooms and living area had a small deck off them to sit and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Really love that we could bring our puppy with us and there was also a play area for kids. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAC3Y_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    85
    42
    15
    10
See reviews for
114
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We loved our chalet and the fact that it was stand alone with no noise from rooms next door. We found our hosts extremely friendly and helpful, the chalet was perfect for our needs, well appointed and very clean. Our time in the spa at Greenacres was delightful, again with our host accommodating our requirements for temperature and comfort.
I will recommend Greenacres to any friends travelling to NZ from Canada as there is so much to do from Hanmer Springs and the Motel/Chalet is in a perfect location with a great view of the surrounding mountains and close to some good hiking and biking.

Room Tip: We liked the chalet because we were separate from the next building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were looking for a quiet place for a reasonable price and close to town. We found all that in the Greenacres. The place was clean, with great view over the mountains, the staff was very friendly. We would recommend this place to people seeking closeness to nature yet within the town and not expecting extravagance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Firstly i have to say that Im not big on writing reviews. But the service here and the extremely friendly friendly stuff was just so brilliant thati couldn't help myself. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that just feels like home then look no further! Private spa pool aswell. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

There is a delightful retro feel to this peaceful, clean, well run property that may well have you wishing you were staying longer. We regretted that our stay was for one night only. Well positioned at the edge of town, its slightly elevated position taking advantage of lovely views, it is within easy walking distance of the town centre and the springs, and the nearby walk up Conical hill. Our cottage was cosy and charming, well equipped, with a comfortable bed. Edwin, the personable owner, was very accommodating and helpful. Greenacres is moderately priced and represents great value, we highly recommend it and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly proprietor Edwin, who successfully aims to please his customers. Clean spacious apartment, comfortable beds, amazing views from each room in the alpine setting, warm sunny so we enjoyed dinner and breakfast on the patios. Edwin provided the gas BBQ for our dinner cooking. We would go again as it was such a pleasant experience at an moderate cost.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed overnight in one of the chalets at Greenacres and found it plain, but clean, with a very well equipped kitchen (a real stove, not just a hot plate) and handy to the hot pools and restaurants in Hamner Springs. The heater worked well in the main room (we had a double bed in the main room, plus an extra bedroom with two twin beds) but the bathroom with the shower was a bit too cold. The staff was very helpful with the TV, which some previous guest had unplugged and then replugged for Nintendo or some other video game, so the regular cable wasn't initially accessible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koliev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Chalets And Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Chalets And Apartments

Property: Greenacres Chalets And Apartments
Address: 84 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenacres Chalets And Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique complex of cosy, individual alpine chalets and superior villas set in acres of parkland overlooking Hanmer Village and the mountains beyond. A short walk to the famous Thermal pools and Shops. 1, 2, 3 bedroom with fully equipped kitchens, something to suit everyone from couples to families. Spectacular views, privacy and quiet with room to move. Wireless internet, DVD library, BBQs, Playground, Private Spa. Commitment to environmental sustainability. Friendly NZ owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenacres Chalets And Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing