We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here one night, picking the hotel from the outside appearance. The receptionist was polite and helpful we saw our room before deciding and were offered a discount without asking.
The large room was clean well equipped (even a microwave) with a wet room type shower. A decent TV and a complimentary DVD was also available.
It was in easy walking distance of places to eat but I would recommend that you order the breakfast there as the choice was either too limited or too long a wait in town. Evening meals were great in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    41
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this motel, and found it to be very good. Pleasant upstairs room with nice decor. Very clean, and comfy bed and furnishings. Perfect location, just across the road from the hot pools & spa, and easy walk to the restaurants and cafes. Friendly staff. Only criticism would be that it was a bit noisy at night, from other guests talking loudly in the carpark!!

Room Tip: Definitely get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We chose this place due to price and convenience to hot springs, also it was far superior to Top Ten Park and cheaper! Absolutely great room, clean, comfy beds, quiet and fabulous girl on reception....very helpful and 2 hour free wifi. It's also across the road from a lovely park where we carried our cups of tea at days end. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boozybub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed here for one night only. But the motel was very handy for the things we did in 24 hours. It is two minutes away from the heated pools and the restaurants are a minute away. The beds ,bathroom and kitchen facilities are good. We had the upper level so we no noise of other people above us. The free internet is great. Overall a very nice place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Tussock Peak is very comfortable and clean and the service is fantastic! Our clothes were washed, dried and folded within a couple of hours at a small cost. Complimentary internet and paper. Great location too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The location of tussock peak is awesome, a short 5 minute walk to the pools and restuarants etc. the rooms were ok. The bathroom is prone to flooding when the shower is on but otherwise comfortable. the staff were helpful. we had a ground floor room to the "balcony area" was not really of much use, especially as the midges were everywhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzawebbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
511 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Hanmer Springs is a very picturesque location and I assume in winter it would be a winter wonderland. There are several hot pools and in winter these would be fantastic. The area is surrounded by snow capped mountains. The small village of Hanmer Springs is geared towards tourists and has several restaurants and other facilities. Tussock Peak Motor Lodge is a comfortable but more or less a simple motel. Rooms are clean and comfortable and in winter these need to be heated as even in "summer" we needed it. There is no restaurant but breakfast, I assume a continental breakfast, can be ordered. Dinner and lunch need to be had at other establishments. The staff are very helpful and offer good advice about what is around. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Unable to recommend as we stayed in 1 ground floor room only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Peak Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Peak Motor Lodge

Property: Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Address: 2 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tussock Peak Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury and style in a prime central location. Stunning mountain views and a stroll away from Hanmer Springs' many attractions. Units range from spacious spa studios through to 2 bedroom family suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tussock Peak Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tussock Peak Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Tussock Peak Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing