We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We had a upstairs spa room which was great! Has everything you need with spacious rooms average size bathroom and a little balcony with table and chairs! Room was warm and being across the road from the pools topped it off! Service was good and not a problem when we borrowed towels for the pools and borrowed one of their free dvds for the night!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadiGeorjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    41
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
81
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Unfortunately, I didn't get to stay here because I mixed up the dates!! When I came to reception to check-in, they said my reservation was for the following day and they were already fully booked for that day. The lady at the reception was so kind that she started phoning other lodges to be able to accommodate me and my family. Now that's what I call great service and warmth. Truly appreciated. I will definitely stay here next time.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Penciltoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

We pre purchased a "honeymoon package" of the hotel website. The package was $310 and consisted of: night in a spa suite, bottle of wine, chocolates, $100 voucher for dinner at a local bar and 2 entries to hanmer springs pools. Very welcoming hosts spent time marking on a map where things where. Free morning paper and wifi were offered. 50+ sky channels, comfortable beds and very clean room. Thanks for the stay I hope to return in the near future and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSmith00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We had an upstairs spa studio room. It is nicely furnished, the bed comfy and the pressure in the shower was great. There was a small balcony with a table and two chairs that overlooked the church next door and across towards the thermal pools. It is only a short walk to the pools and to the shops and restaurants. We were only planning on staying one night, but ended up staying two and it was no bother to add the extra night on. They also offer free wifi here and provide towels for use at the thermal pools. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. I booked(a day ahead) package 3. Arrived earlier than i stated and the room was all ready. We had room 14 which is upstairs . Bathroom had a double spa bath and decent sized balcony on the road front . The wine and platter from Monteiths (included in package) was yummy and huge-we ate the leftovers for lunch on our drive to picton . The host even let us leave the car there and use the pool towels after we had checked out .
Fantastic value for money, best stay on our south island trip!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKRoss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed one night and was perfect for our family of three. Arrived really late at night (10pm) with no fuss at all. Very tidy and modern. Excellent location - close to the hot pools and town. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank thehamilton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed for just 1 night, had a spacious studio, spa bath,excellent shower, small kitchenette . Everything you need for a short stay. Excellent location just across from the Hanmer Spring hot pools and close to the shops and cafes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoadzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Peak Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Peak Motor Lodge

Property: Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Address: 2 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tussock Peak Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury and style in a prime central location. Stunning mountain views and a stroll away from Hanmer Springs' many attractions. Units range from spacious spa studios through to 2 bedroom family suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tussock Peak Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tussock Peak Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Tussock Peak Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing