We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to a perfect night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It started with a warm welcome at reception ...went in hoping to leave our luggage somewhere until our pamper spa started and were told our room was ready and we could go in early (2 hrs) of which we were really appreciative of. Free WiFi and DVD's and complimentary "real" milk was also a nice touch. Bedding was lovely and comfortable. Highlight was the bathroom shower...UNBELIEVABLE. Highly recommend this motel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellybee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Kaikoura to Golden Bay to much for one day and be able to take in the magnificent sights, so best place to stop? I asked Paul Carberry of New Zealand in Depth and straight back came the answer I know just the place in Hanmer Springs and yet again he delivered! Right on the main street, opposite the springs, and the historic hospital 110 metres from the shops, restaurants and the supermarket but in a peaceful location with excellent parking right outside our door and a great up to date room, balcony or patio, with enough facilities to rustle up a light meal watch one of 50 channels or borrow a DVD, great bed, hot and powerful shower and of course the attention, from the welcome to the wave off we were treated as friends, always smiles and nothing was too much trouble. We needed a one night stopover but the welcome said stay a little longer and next time we just might!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Just one night here in Hanmer Springs. Very comfortable upstairs unit. Close to town for shopping and dinner out. Just a few minutes walk. Everything you needed. We would certainly stay again. Thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaycrestL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed one night and pretty impressed with the motor lodge. it has great location, within walking distance to the thermal pool, the rooms new and tidy with nice modern colour, very comfortable setting, provided all SKY channels. We stayed at a 2 bedroom unit (as they didn't have any 1 bedroom unit) which is a bit costly for $ 230 per night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our only regret about staying at the Tussock Peak is that it wasn't for an extra couple of days! Our welcome was friendly and informative, the rooms are immaculately clean and well equipped, the location is perfect and the beds are comfy! We also took up the $50 wine and cheese offer which was Divine!

Room Tip: We were in room 2 which was on the ground floor with 2 bedrooms, living area and well equipped littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a great hotel, we called in on the off chance of a room Mon 23rd December and stayed one night, Julie was great in checking us in, great room with a small courtyard was fantastic.

Spotlessly clean, well laid out rooms for 2 people.. Located opposite a beautiful park that runs through the town on the main strip, you can access everything by walking to hot springs, cafes, restaurants.

Thank you Tussock, will be recommending to anyone whom may be visiting your wonderful town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justacustomer43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

If you are lucky enough to meet Lisa, you will have a perfect experience from start to finish. The motel is lovely. It's immaculately clean. It's nice. It's comfortable. It's nestled right in town... you can walk to the pools, the shops, etc. And the host? She really couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Thank you Tussock Peak Motor Lodge. Lisa even offered her home to park our caravan overnight. True service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tussock Peak Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tussock Peak Motor Lodge

Address: 2 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#8 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £81 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tussock Peak Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury and style in a prime central location. Stunning mountain views and a stroll away from Hanmer Springs' many attractions. Units range from spacious spa studios through to 2 bedroom family suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tussock Peak Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tussock Peak Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Tussock Peak Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing