We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise splodge of tomato sauce...”

Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A surprise splodge of tomato sauce...”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to stop and eat at this venue, as we were staying in the motor lodge.

As others have said - a great looking pub and bistro.

Went for the beef burger- which was delivered with a big, surprise splodge of tomato sauce on the bun- which was not listed in the menu.

For many, this would be fine - but I despise the stuff.

The waitress checked in on our meals, where I stated by displeasure for this surprise splodge- to which she replied 'a disappointing surprise no doubt'. She handled it well, but it would have been nice to have been offered a replacement or at least done reassurance that she would feed this back to the kitchen crew.

Once I removed the offending saucy splodge the remaining burger was quite tasty!

Attention to detail, and knowing the menu are really important in the food business... If the sauce was listed, I'd have known to ask for it to be left off.

Helpful?
1 Thank ddaff78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you had a splodge of tomato sauce on your burger that was not shown as being part of the meal component on our menu. Your feedback is welcomed and we have discussed this further with everyone in the kitchen and our wait team.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    105
    47
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A tasty dish!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Dined at the Five Stags restaurant and bar as we were staying at the adjacent hot springs motor lodge. The decor is a modern twist on a vintage nz hunting spot and the place was packed with Easter holiday makers and crusaders rugby fans alike. The staff were able to accommodate everyone with ease whether they were there for dining, drinking or to watch the game. We had to wait a little while for our meals but considering the amount of people there it wasn't unreasonable and the staff kept us well informed of the ETA of our meals. I had the arancini balls which were delish followed by the salmon and my parter had the lamb shanks and he also had nothing but high praise. A great spot and we will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMeyers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, Easter was incredibly hectic for all the businesses in Hanmer Springs as so many people came to enjoy everything Hanmer has to offer. Our team worked really hard to deliver meals as quickly as possible on a very busy evening - the busiest of the year, so a lovely review online is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back one day
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We decided to go there because an owner of hotel nearby advised us this restaraunt. It was very good looking and stylish. But service was not very nice and food was terrible. We found some frozen pieces inside our rise balls. And then meat balls that we ordered was red inside, not cooked at all. My husband was poisoned and couldn't sleep half a night. It ruined our great evening.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello Valerie, sorry to hear about your experience at the restaurant. I hope you husband is now feeling a lot better and you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommend!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great night at the Five Stags, cool fit out, lovely staff, wonderful food and all our table was impressed with there meals. I had Salmon which was devine! My partner had the platter and the ribs he loved every mouth full! Nice spot. Even had a easter treat for kids

Helpful?
1 Thank Neisha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello Neisha, thank you for your lovely review of your meal that you and your partner enjoyed at the Five Stags restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Five Stags Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food safety standards”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

A simple beef and red wine pot pie, turned into the worst pie ever and at 8pm at night when they weren't even busy. I cut through the middle and found the pie frozen, took it back to them n asked to speak to the manager, they brought the same pie back out reheated with the top pastry missing off the plate, the plate was that hot the waitress had to use serviette to serve. The manger didn't want to come and talk to us instead telling the waitress what to say. In the end we didn't have to pay for the meal as under the food standards they can not serve the same item of food it needs to b a whole new one. Very poor from the chef, if he or she is trained and very poor from the manager hiding behind the front staff. Wouldn't eat or recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamiJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello SamiJC, I was very sorry to read of your experience at the Five Stags a couple of weeks ago. We had an assistant chef on trial this evening, who did his own thing when not monitored and unfortunately your return meal was an example of this, please accept our apology for this. I was also alarmed to read that our Duty Manager on the night did not take the responsibility of dealing with your complaint. Our wait staff are great, but they do need the support of their seniors when dealing with complaints. Please accept our apology for this lack of service from our senior member of staff, this is not the level of service we pride ourselves on.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Stags Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Five Stags Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing