We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, high quality food in a unique atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Stags Hanmer Springs

Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Price range: US$5 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, high quality food in a unique atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent!
We are staying at the Hot Springs Motel (which is also excellent) and we were recommended to go the the restaurant.
When we walked in we were amazed by the attention to detail in decoration from light fittings to door handles they have it all covered!
The staff were very helpful and welcoming.
We had chicken wings for entree they were great value. Literally a 'bucket' of wings!
For mains we had steak and a Venison burger, both were on the specials menu, and both were full of Flavour. The steak was cooked perfectly. My husband asked for rare and that's exactly what he got. It was so tender and juicy.

The only negative thing if we were to pick on anything was that it was a little cold in there.
However, the quality of the food, service and atmosphere were so good that we were easily distracted.

Overall it was a very good value, high quality food and we would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TMosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you TMosch for your review and recommendation, we were pleased to read you enjoyed your meal, the decor and found our staff to be helpful and welcoming.

You mentioned our Specials menu - this menu is our daily specials with our Head Chef introducing new dishes for a short period of time. Subject to how well they are received we then put them on our next menu - which is what will be happening with the Venison Burger and Steak, which have received great feedback.

Sorry to read that the building was cold - with such a high ceiling stud sometimes our three fires we have in the building need a bit of extra assistance from a turbo heater! This we have now in place to give that additional boost to warmth when needed on our cold winter days.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    89
    43
    28
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was recommended the Five Stags by the motel staff next door. Was a bit dubious about what it would be like, so was pleasantly surprised to find a lovely pub with plenty of relaxed atmosphere. Stayed to watch the ABs game, and the staff helpfully let us pull our table out of the dining room and into the pub to watch the game. Food was delicious. It took a while to arrive (which was expected as it was busy night), but did not disappoint. Got the ribs, which were melt in the mouth. Ended up snubbing the many other Hamner eating establishments in favour of eating here again the next night too! Would highly recommend. As per any tourist town, don't leave it too late to head out for dinner as the Manager will (understandably) send their staff home early if the place is quiet.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Badger_NZ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello Badger_NZ1234. Thank you for your review. I am pleased we pleasantly surprised you with our food and atmosphere and very much appreciate your vote to dine with us both nights whilst you were in Hanmer Springs. We look forward to one day welcoming you back to Hanmer Springs and the Five Stags Restaurant
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a great meal here, and the wait staff were very friendly and easy going. The only negative thing was the amount of time we waited after ordering, but I'm never bothered about waiting when the food has been cooked fresh and to perfection.

Sadly I didn't get my phone out in time to get a pic of my flaming steak, but it was fairly spectacular and added a bit of fun to our lovely meal.

I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for great food served by friendly people in a warm, welcoming environment. A++++

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello LeahK64, thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience at the Five Stags Restaurant. I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your meal, the atmosphere and environment of the Five Stags. My apologies for the delay, weekend nights are very busy with everyone wishing to dine at the same time. We try our best to deliver meals promptly. Thank you for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Five Stags Hanmer Springs one day soon
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best place in Hanmer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Watched the ABs v England game on biggest screen in Hanmqer. It was so hard to decide what to eat from the range of fantastic looking meals on the menu. Went with the ribs and they were generous, melt in your mouth, delicious! Great service, fantastic atmosphere, and really lovely aeting. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you Maria D for your lovely feedback on the atmosphere, meal and service you enjoyed whilst dining at the Five Stags Restaurant when watching the AB's play against England on the big screen. To top the night of the All Blacks won. Look forward to welcoming you and your friends back one day soon
Kind regards
Warren and Kim Rogers
Manager
Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unimpressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The place we stayed at recommended 5 stags so we went there that night for tea, staff were friendly but food took around 30-45min to come out, the meals were good so we decided to come back in the morning to use our free breakfast voucher, the same staff member who was so friendly to us was so rude and made us feel unwelcome, we were passed a menu and not offered a seat then after we waited at the bar for 10min to get served (the girl was right there but ignored us) we just left. Won't be going back it's not worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessiejazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Five Stags Hanmer Springs, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello JessieJazzCat, I was very sorry to read that you were unimpressed with your experience on Saturday morning at our restaurant. As you mentioned the staff member who looked after you the night before is lovely and friendly, so your experience on Saturday morning is very out of character for this person. A lack of understanding that you wanted to be seated and not peruse the menu only was were we broke down in providing good customer service. Please accept our apologies for this. On a positive I was pleased to see you enjoyed your meal on the Friday night and do hope you may give us a second chance on another visit to Hanmer Springs.
Kind regards
Warren and Kim Rogers
Managers
Five Stags Restaurant Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Stags Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Five Stags Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing