We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat in Hanmer Springs”

Five Stags Hanmer Springs
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat in Hanmer Springs”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We had a great time at the Five Stags in Hanmer Springs. I had the pulled pork BBQ sandwich special which was excellent. The ork was really tender and fell apart. It had a nice cabbage and apple coleslaw on the bun. Delicious. Another family member had the seafood chowder which they enjoyed. It had a great feel to the place. Good service and didn't wait very long at all for our meals.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    104
    47
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Disaster”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Having stayed at the adjoining motels with friends in May and having had a pleasant experience at the restaurant, we prevailed on our annual gathering of 16 friends to dine here on Sat night. This proved to be an unmitigated shambles and disaster for our happy group of diners.
We booked some weeks in advance for a 7.30 sit-down and arrived 15 minutes early to find our 2 tables reserved and available. That was the only highlight. A thorough review of what transpired from there would take as long as our stay.
In short, our mains took up to 2 1/4 hours to arrive and not surprisingly, more than one was cold and sent back to reheat. The entrees which only a few ordered were a mixed selection and presented after about an hour of arrival. My partner ordered the leek and potato soup from the menu, only to be presented with french onion,the waitress explaining we had been given an out of date menu. That went back. An adjoining friend was presented with his entree and having sampled a forkful was bemused to have the plate whisked away from him with the explaination that the course was for some other diner. Again the wait.
In short Fawlty Towers has nothing on this place!!!
What really irked was the attitude of the staff, no apologies at checkout and certainly no discount offered or granted when a colleague asked for such.
We could have adopted the stance of the adjoining table of diners who after a lengthy wait discovered their meals inedible and walked out en masse.
Words cannot adequately cover this non-dining experience. In short, it was horrid.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Whitebaiter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall, great. ”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Atmosphere was awesome, relaxed and 'fancy' pub like setting. Staff were fantastic and the food was great. Good variety with the menu. The salmon was very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Witchy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value, service and decor.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went in here for lunch as it was the closest restaurant to our accommodation. The staff were friendly and professional (especially the woman from Buenos Aires). We had one of their super-sized jugs of beer and 'chicken in a bucket' - excellent value and promptly delivered to our table.
We didn't need to order anything else (ok, we ordered more beer) as there was heaps of chicken - they are nibbles not wings (well ours were) - even better! We don't believe this restaurant deserves their lowly ranking. When we return in Dec, we will visit this place often.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swimwalkeatlaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere - slow service”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Great meals. I had the venison sliders which were fantastic for the price. 4 weeny little venison burgers with salad and cherrys, mmmmm followed by pan fried fish and chips with salad which was pretty average. My partner had Asian beef broth with beef wontons, which he said was delicious. Followed by beer battered fish and chips which he thoroughly enjoyed. Because of the slow service they brought out a complimentary garlic bread, which made the whole meal far too much to eat. A suggestion to the chef re the sliders, how about using whole mushrooms instead of bread for the sliders. I know Hanmer Springs supports backpackers, but it would be nice if their English was a little better. Anyway I'm not complaining, just making suggestions. We will be back, we loved the place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Five Stags Hanmer Springs also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Five Stags Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing