We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Springs Motel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We arrived to a very warm welcome by Robert and were shown to our lovely well appointed room. The quality of the fittings and furnishings was excellent. It was as if everything we could have needed had been thought of. Even a pannini maker was in the kitchen. Towels were supplied from reception, for our use when visiting the Hot Pools. We loved the fact our apartment was a stand alone unit. This makes such a difference. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed a bottle of wine in the gazebo overlooking the golfcourse. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmaccapipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    12
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This was supposedly an executive suite. Although room was pleasant did not feel it was worth the $190 per night price tag. Old fashioned TV, poor sound quality. Would have expected bathrobes.
Loved the three golden retrievers

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlborough2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineSprings256, Owner at Alpine Springs Motel, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Complimentary bathrobes for use during your stay are available from reception as mentioned in the information folder located in each unit. If you compare a similar room at other 4 and a half star establishments in Hanmer Springs our prices are in line with their charges and they are sometimes without the facilities we have on offer such as air conditioning, complimentary 500+ DVD library, 14 sky channels, complimentary pool towels, in room safe, fully equipped kitchens and portable bbq’s, welcome basket, private terraces with outdoor seating, and an acre of gardens with seating all around with views straight down the golf course to the mountains. Most other establishments will also be a block building with people staying above you, below you and either side of you with no gardens.We have checked the sound quality on the television and can find nothing wrong with it, shame you didn’t mention this during your stay as you may have had one of the settings wrong. Prior to you staying we had already started an upgrade of televisions and this will continue until all units have been done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We only stayed 1 night, but this motel was by far the most luxurious accommodation we've stayed in during our 8 month trip to NZ. Each apartment is it's own self-contained unit. Ours looked out onto the golf course with snow-capped mountains in the background. There was a modern well-equipped kitchen and flat-screen TVs in every room with a larger one in the common room. The bathroom was divine.

It is a 6 minute walk across the golf-course to the hot springs.

We were very pleased we had stumbled onto this gem.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwied_Canucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Host is friendly & everything is new! The kitchenette is the best I have seen of my 18days trip. Totally agree with the other reviews and the 3 golden retrievers are awesome!!! Love it here!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

On my tour of the South Island there was a few days of heavy rain and a bridge was out at Arthurs Pass. I had to back track and go through the Lewis Pass. My sister booked this motel as a friend of hers had stayed here and said it was OK. We arrived after driving 4 hours longer than anticipated, on a rainy day, having been diverted to somewhere I didn't want to be. I was not in the best frame of mind.

This motel turned out to be one of the best we stayed at during our entire trip.

The room was great, the Spa tub welcome, clean as a whistle, the kitchen had everything we needed, and the bed really comfortable. It was quiet and the surroundings beautiful. The Owner and staff could not have been more helpful which was really appreciated.

All motels should try to get to this standard.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

This gem is one of the highlights of our trip to Christchurch and surrounds in November 2010! The room is clean, cosy, and has everything that you need for a family or romantic vacation! The owner/manager is friendly, happy, extremely helpful. The property features a nice garder adjacent to a golf course and a wonderful view. The 3 friendly golden retrievers at the property makes your arrival special and welcome. This is a place that naturally has that extra special quality that comes with the owner's love for his property and people that come through the propertly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Well worth staying here.We had lovely view down the Golf course. Very modern with all the goodies though a bit smail.But let that put you off.We would go back,Big Bathroom with Spa bath,laundry useful.Kitchen well stocked.
Very good for walks,many restuarants,we found Jolly Jacks very good,steaks excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
130 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Springs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Springs Motel

Property: Alpine Springs Motel
Address: 121 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpine Springs Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Springs Motel is a unique, peaceful, private complex and add of qualmark 4 star plus standard, set in an acre of mature landscaped gardens next to Hanmer golf course, with stunning alpine views in every direction. Our luxurious motel is the perfect place to stay on a getaway weekend, family holiday, business trip, or while touring New Zealand. The motel has 10 ground floor self contained studios and apartments located at the quiet end of Hanmer Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine Springs Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing