We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Top Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Springs Motel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We were guided here by the good reviews that this place has earned and we were not disappointed . The rooms were very clean and comfortable and only the best fittings had been used throughout, whoever built the place spared little expense to ensure that the guests would be very comfortable. The double spa is a great touch. It is not too far away from the township and thermal baths, a nice stroll around part of the golf course will get you there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arko69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 86 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2009

These apartments are a little out of town but we appreciated the space and quiet being next to the golf course as it could have been a little noisy in the town. The main area of the apartment was quite spacious with a well-equipped and clean kitchen. However, the bedrooms were very small without any cupboards or places to put suitcases. Luckily we did not need to use the third bedroom so had all our belongings on the beds in there. We thought this very strange indeed as if you had more children I am not sure what you would do. Also there was a ginormous spa in the bathroom leaving little space for the toilet which was squished between the spa and the shower. If we had been in any way over a normal weight range the toilet would have been difficult or even impossible to use. My husband being an average size man had some difficulty using it. Again a little strange. Overall however, we enjoyed our stay here and the hosts were very nice although the male had a habit of repeatedly saying that they had to charge for everything as they got nothing for free due to being a business. Not sure what all that meant. Anyway it was pleasant enough staying here and either a short walk to the town or an even shorter drive. The springs were nice enough to spend a couple of hours but not sure I would bother coming to this town again if short of time.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishsmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Clean luxury cabins with 12 channel TV ,Double Spa, very new just 2 mins drive to Hanmer, next to Golf Course. They even give you towels to take into the Springs. A nice welcome pack also.
Very welcoming, luxury at an affordable price. Really scenic setting. Will be back some time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doirewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

My extended family, my wife and I stayed at the Alpine Lodge for a weekend in Febuary this year and we were delighted. We booked a three bedroom cabin and it was fantastic, brand new and fitted out to an extremly high standard. (The garden overlooked a green of the local golf course).

Bob made us feel welcome and didn't mind us "borrowing" his fantastic Labrador retriever for photo opportunities. The Lodge is very close to Hamner (10 mins walk) and I would recommend a stay there to anyone.

Alan & Sylvia Parker
Greenwich
London

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Alan&Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2005

What a delightful place Hanmer Springs is and we were lucky enough to stay in a lovely motel just on the edge of the village. The resident owners, Rhian and Bob Slugget are in the process of upgrading the apartments and they have made an excellent job of it. The new apartments are very comfortable, well appointed with spa baths, Sky TV and very adequate and well equipped kitchens. The thermal pools in Hanmer are well worth a visit and are very therapeutic - the village is welcoming and very clean and the people are extremely friendly.

5  Thank Breconian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Daniela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
731 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
617 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Springs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Springs Motel

Address: 121 Argelins Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £87 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpine Springs Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Springs Motel is a unique, peaceful, private complex and add of qualmark 4 star plus standard, set in an acre of mature landscaped gardens next to Hanmer golf course, with stunning alpine views in every direction. Our luxurious motel is the perfect place to stay on a getaway weekend, family holiday, business trip, or while touring New Zealand. The motel has 10 ground floor self contained studios and apartments located at the quiet end of Hanmer Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine Springs Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing