We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've found our spot in Hanmer Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
NewZealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We've found our spot in Hanmer Springs”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Friendly welcome ,paper work all done in a few seconds .We liked the really spacious rooms with a lovely mountain view towards Conical Hill and Mount Isobel .The room was nice and clean well set up and big beds with lovely crisp clean sheets and pillowcases .Having been regular visitors to Hanmer we know how cold it can get at night so we really appreciated the warm room .The thermal pools are a refreshing five minute stroll down the road .This lodge has its own resteraunt with good food at a reasonable price .The resteraunt is nicely tucked away from the accomadation so peaceful sleep was no problem .We were looking for a place where we could park up and relax ,Hot Springs Motor Lodge was the ideal place .Just one thing that could improve the resteraunt ,the wine list was pretty uninspiring ,more featured local Waipara wines would improve the dining experience

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room to really appreciate the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    94
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
165
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We arrived in Hanmer very late at night after driving across the molesworth station tired and hungry. The lovely lady owner welcomed us despite the fact that she was in bed when we rang the door at 11.45 pm! She couldn't have done more- offering us food and milk so we could have a hot drink. The room was of a very high quality with a lovely comfy deep bath, tea and coffee and kitchenette facilities , free wifi and flat screen tv and comfy huge american style bed. We can't thank her enough for her understanding and warm welcome.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursea66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We visited the Hot Springs Hotel because we were due to visit Christchurch .... but the earthquake prevented us doing so, and we were re-booked into Hanmer Springs. The Hot Springs Hotel is a great place with fantastic, friendly and obliging staff, who answer your questions before you've had a chance to think of them! The rooms are large, clean and comfortable .... no frills, but the king size beds give you a good nights sleep. Our room faced onto the road, but traffic noise was not a problem, and we enjoyed a very good night's sleep..

The only downside to the Hot Springs Hotel is that it is a good 10 minutes walk from the town centre, and the adjoining restaurant doesn't have a lot to recommend it! Fine if you like huge portions, but the service leaves an awful lot to be desired ..... like service!!!!!!

I'd recommend anyone to visit the Hotel, but eat in the town .......

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mischiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Avoid this place at all costs.
I booked this accomodation as it was all that was left in Hanmer post Christchurch earthquake. The host was very rude from the start and appeared almost put out that she had to serve us. She was not accomodating and at one stage even locked us out of the room as she checked it for damage which of course there was none. We are not unreasonable people and believe this behaviour was unacceptable. I would not recommend to anyone. The room was also poorly equipped with the smallest television I have ever seen.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyMike17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Large clean rooms. BBQ area. Restaurant provided an evening meal for our 23 strong group at short notice and reasonable cost. A little far from shops but motel provided a courtesy van

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TykeHBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My partner and I stayed in this lodge for two days. This certainly was one of our best lodges in New Zealand taken "value for money" into account. Very spacious and clean room. Also the lady at the reception was really friendly and even explained us the scenic route up the hills through Christchurch, via Governor's Bay to Akaroa.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacwegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

A lovely motel that really surpassed my expectations. It didn't feel like a motel at all, but more like a modern hotel. Our room was spacious and SPOTLESS. One of the cleanest places I've ever stayed. Everything looked beautiful and new. A very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
145 reviews
3.1 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing