We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Excellent Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Value & Excellent Facilities”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just spent a couple of days in Hanmer Springs staying at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. Rooms were great unexpectedly large & very clean. Great value for the price. Ask for a room overlooking the road & when you wake up in the morning the views are spectacular - there is virtually no traffic after sunset. Everything was spotless and the management very helpful. We needs a new battery in our remote & it was fixed in minutes.

While on the map it looks to be out of town it is actually a easy 5 minute walk, by being on the edge of town you actually get to see the view which is breathtaking.

We had a small conference in the hotel next door which was great - big rooms & great food. The only downside is learning about Hanmer Springs time, it seems nothing opens til around 8.30am.

I would thoroughly recommend on all fronts: facilities, service, & price.

Room Tip: Ask for overlooking the road to get the fantastic views, no issue with traffic noise after sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 221Nick1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    94
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
166
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at Hanmer Springs motel for a day. It is located close to the Hanmer Springs hot pools. Clean rooms, very soft bed (too soft for me). You do get towels to take to the hot pools.

They had unusual scheme about free wi fi. The wi fi password works only for an hour and expires. That was really inconvenient.

For a day, this place surely served the purpose

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Varunnayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

After a long nail-biting drive through winding mountain roads we landed at Hot Springs Motor Lodge. A great little find. We had a one bedroom with no particular view, which we knew at the time of booking. The bathroom was huge, and the bed comfortable. Our daughter and her family had a two bedroom with breathtaking views. The managers of the property were extremely helpful with directions to the Hot Springs (just up the street) and gave us towels to take with us. They also told us about the restaurant at the hotel next door so that we could get dinner for the kids when we got back from the hot springs. As we were packing the van to leave the manager came out to make sure we had everything we needed for the trip ahead. I felt like I was in a Bed and Breakfast....just without the homemade breakfast. If we are in Hanmer again this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmd15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent just one night at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge but wished it could have been for more. We had an amazing 2-bedroom unit on the upper floor with amazing views of the mountains. We arrived in the evening after a long scenic drive from Nelson and our hosts were fabulous. They provided us with all the information about the Hot Springs so that we could make it to the pools before they closed and provided us with towels. Our son ended up with a nose bleed during the night we stayed and our hosts were so kind and understanding about the extra clean-up required. And then as we left for another long day of driving we asked about the closest place to acquire some ice. Instead of directions they handed over some ice packs and just asked that we pay it forward. It was such a kind gesture and so appreciated. I can't say enough nice things about the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. Whenever we are in Hanmer Springs we'll be staying there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Qld
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge for one night and in a 2 week trip where we stayed in 9 different places this was our favourite place to stay. We were in an upstairs room with a beautiful view west towards the mountains. The room was very comfortable and quiet and the bathroom was quite large. No facilities for self catering but there are a few dining options in town. Also getting the towels to use at the Hot Springs was a nice touch. The host was also very friendly and welcoming and she was happy to give travel advice and answer my questions about the area. Would have been happy to stay longer.

Room Tip: If you want a view upstairs room facing West - if you have heavy cases though you may want the downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

It was our first night in New Zealand. Our room was comfortable, reasonably priced and close to most things. The staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Stay away from hotels and night clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess1247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I arrived last week. Generally the feel was good. The motel is clean and new looking. The room is very spacious. More importantly, the motel comes with free internet.
Location is 5 mins drive to the town centre.

Staff is very friendly and helpful. They even provide extra towel for us incase we are going to the thermal spa.

No regret.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
694 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing