We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed Queen's Birthday weekend. This was a return visit for us, and Hot Springs Motor Lodge is still highly recommended. Very friendly staff, large comfortable bed and an exceptionally spacious room. Will be back soon we hope.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. we were pleased to read you enjoyed the room and your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    82
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
44
150
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here Queens Birthday weekend, Hanmer was very busy indeed. Friendly hosts, clean and comforatable and nice amenities. Very large rooms indeed. My only constructive comments would be could do with a wee bit more furniture in lounge and room we had did not have a bedroom door (designed that way). Our daughter was sleeping in lounge so that may be probelmatical on a longer stay. No biggie for us, well recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room facing road for great mountain views, but probably other rooms have this too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benbo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Hello, thank you for your feedback placed on your stay with us at Queens Birthday Weekend. Our rooms are lovely and large, providing a roomy environment for our guests to enjoy their stay. It is always good to receive constructive feedback as we have regular meetings with the owners to discuss how we can improve our facilities to ensure our guests are always comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hot Springs Motor Lodge and Hanmer Springs again one day.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We have stayed here on previous visits to Hanmer and it has always impressed us as being a top place to stay. However, when we stayed this time we found that things appear to have slipped just a little bit. The units are no longer serviced every day unless you request it and pay a daily fee. This of course means that the guests have to do their own ‘housework’ and the units are not re-stocked, so if anything runs out you must apply to have it replaced. I find that this distracts from the enjoyment of the holiday. I think that the tariff charged could easily include this service. I also found that the maintenance of the units is not being kept up to the standard we have come to expect at this motor lodge. I checked out some other accommodation in Hanmer and found that there are better options much closer to the town and the Hot Springs, for much the same tariff. However, this is still a nice place to stay and you will be denied nothing and the units are spacious and comfortable. The hotel restaurant next door is very handy, and although the meals are generous, they tend to be just a little bland. The motor lodge guest discount at the restaurant is a nice gesture, but make sure you get it as it sometimes appears to slip their mind.

Room Tip: Just tell them what type of room you would like and they will do their best to suit your tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philygumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Mr PhilyGumbo

I was very concerned to read your review of our property on Tripadvisor and would like to discuss further with you. We have been under new management for the last five months and have instigated several changes including servicing of guests rooms daily. Therefore your comments do very much concern me. If you could please contact us direct either on or 0800 number or email address that would be appreciated.

Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a very convenient Lodge, great management, very clean and tidy and we enjoyed our two night stay. The bed was King size and extremely comfortable. The management and staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. The Lodge is situated on the edge of the village and within walking or driving distance to all facilities. Autumn was such a pretty time of year to be walking. Restaurant next door was excellent and friendly with a great variety on the menu and the food was delicious. Discount for food and drinks were given because we were staying at the lodge - another plus.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor. No lift to upper floors. Very quiet and would not hesitate to recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamAbsolum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
What a lovely review - thank you for posting your feedback on your stay with us. It really is a lovely time of the year in Hanmer Springs the forest is so changeable in colour and it is a delight to walk through. The team were really pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, the meals and the facilities here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hanmer Springs one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Berlin, WI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This location was excellent for visiting the hot springs. We booked the relaxation/pamper package and this was the hotel we were placed in. The rooms are spacious, clean and had free wifi. The woman at the desk was very helpful and nice. You could walk through the trees across the road to the hot springs and it was also very close to the stores, restaurants and mini grocery store. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmelinaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you for posting your review of the Hot Springs Motor Lodge, our location is close to all that the village offers and I was pleased to see you enjoyed this. With a good dusting of snow happening on the hills now it is an ideal time to revisit Hanmer Springs for a soak in the hot pools.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here around Anzac Day. We had two units. Rooms were modern - love the mirrors. Beds were great. Water pressure in shower was great. Large bathroom with decent size towels. Rooms backed onto a nice deck area with no view but we were here for the hot pools so it didn't bother us at all. We were downstairs which suits us better with one of our party less mobile than the rest. We didn't eat next door so can't comment on that. This is on the edge of town meaning it was quiet and a quick drive to the shops. Room lacked nothing we needed except when 3 people are in room maybe a stool so all three can sit at the table might be considered. Thanks for making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for selecting to stay with us at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge, and for posting a review of your time with us. Your feedback is valuable to us and I have taken on board your comment re an extra chair when three in the room and will be looking into this. All in all I was pleased you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We were extremely happy to stay here! The room is very new, clean and very well maintained! The view from our room (upstairs) is stunning. Room décor is simple, yet luxurious. We book this room for the king size bed, and very pleased with it.....it was so comfortable! Love the cleanliness of the bathroom very much too. The host is nice and friendly. The only one thing that we regretted is we stayed only one night!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for posting such a lovely review on your stay with us. It is always rewarding to be able to pass on your lovely feedback to the team who look after our rooms every day to ensure you have a pleasant stay. we look forward to welcoming you back for more than one night soon
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#20 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.6 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing