We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 2 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
motueka
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A 2 day break”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife recently retired and was given a voucher for a 2 night break in Hanmer Springs. The voucher included accommodation in a standard studio room. We decided to use the voucher at short notice when the weather gods offered up 3 days of nice weather so booked the accommodation with no issues. Arrived just after 2 pm and decided to upgrade to a superior ground floor studio. Pleased we did as it was a little bigger than the standard. The room itself was a good standard 4 star+ motel room with king size bed, kitchenette (microwave, toaster and fridge) and good size bathroom with shower over bath. The bath had quite steep sides so this may be an issue for those with mobility issues. First night there I had a great night sleep on a very comfortable bed. Second night woken by some noisy neighbours in the early hours who refused to turn in!!! We took our own breakfast things so did not use the restaurant. The motel itself is a 5 minute walk from the hot springs and town centre so very convenient. All in all not a motel I would have chosen but good value and if our normal motel not available would not worry about returning here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff_motueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hello Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities that we have to offer here at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. My apologies to you on behalf of our other guests, we did have a family reunion in the same weekend as your stay and they appeared to have enjoyed the mild evenings by sitting outside a bit too long. Please don't let this put you off - we look forward to welcoming you back one day on your next visit to Hanmer Springs.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    94
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
165
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Partner and I started here for 2 nights on a grab one deal. Hotel room was large and well equiped . the bathroom very spacious. Nice breakfasts available in the hotel next door. This town does not have much to do at night so not having access to all the free to air TV channels like channel 4 or more than 1 movie sport channel gets a little boring. Over all nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello Hamish, thank you for your review. We were pleased to read your enjoyed our large spacious rooms and the breakfasts that were included in the Grabone deal we had on offer. We are continually looking at ways to enhance our guests stay and have noted your request for more TV channels and have placed it on our wish list to discuss with our Directors.
We hope you had a pleasent trip home and look forward to one day welcoming you back to Hanmer Springs.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wundowie, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I visited the hot springs Hanmer Springs website and booked through that, they have heaps of different packages, we opted for the 'Hot Springs Escape' which was for two people for two nights for $149NZ. There was my Mum and I plus my 8 yr old who was an extra $69NZ using existing bedding. It had a King plus a single. Lovely rooms, full verandah with access to back and front doors. Free WiFi but dropped in and out was hard to get a connection. Nice and clean family run business. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you Kirsty for reviewing your stay at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. The Hot Springs Escape package you mention is very popular with visitors and can be booked through the Hurunui iSite. We look forward to one day welcoming you back to the Hot Springs Motor Lodge and Hanmer Springs.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely motel back in May 2013. We were only in Hanmer for one night for a family birthday celebration. We booked this motel after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. Our room was very large and was spotlessly clean. The bed was large and comfortable and even though the motel was full we didn't hear any noise from other rooms. We will definitely be staying here again and I highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travellingbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
I was very pleased to read that your and your family selected Hanmer Springs for a birthday celebration and that you choose to stay with us. Even better you really enjoyed yourself and the facilities here at the Hot Springs. Thank you for your review and your recommendation. we look forward to one day welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs complex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful presented room. Lovely and clean. Very modern. Bed comfortable, large screen tv on wall.
Having the restaurant as well is a added bonus. Food was yum. All the staff very friendly. Highly recommend. Love to go back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ongeliqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for placing such a lovely review of your time spent with us in Hanmer. We were pleased to see you enjoyed your time in Hanmer and staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs complex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

much more than we expected for the cost. spacious rooms, amazing views of snowy mountains. very warm, and a comfy bed. walking distance to hot springs and all restaurants. when u stay at lodge you get discount vouchers for the hotel/pub next door, they also provided fresh towels for the hot pools each day. plenty of parking. very friendly, helpful staff. We would definitely stay here next time we visit Hamner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pistol116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review of your stay with us here at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. We are all really pleased to see how much you enjoyed visiting Hanmer Springs and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed Queen's Birthday weekend. This was a return visit for us, and Hot Springs Motor Lodge is still highly recommended. Very friendly staff, large comfortable bed and an exceptionally spacious room. Will be back soon we hope.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterralston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. we were pleased to read you enjoyed the room and your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing