We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“1 night stay”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were recommended this place by family, have driven past it several times before - thinking it would be way too expensive but this time went in an were pleasantly surprised. Value for money this is one of the nicest an roomiest motels we have ever stayed in. Receptionist friendly and helpful. Super king size bed an lovely BIG spa (which sadly we were too pooped to use) We will definatly be going back. Spoke to other family about it an they already booked in day after we were there. So nice to stay in friendly and clean and roomy/comfortable accommodation. We are already talking about our next visit. We have stayed in many motels in NZ an this is probably the best value for money. Thank you so much for helping us end our holiday on a high.

Room Tip: Don't judge until you have tried, this is honestly one of the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Jan J, thank you for your review and please thank your friend, from us, for her recommendation to stay with us. Word of mouth recommendations are so valuable and we do appreciate them. We are so pleased we helped end your holiday on a positive and do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hanmer Springs and the Hot Springs Motor Lodge one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim and Warren and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    91
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
161
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SHOREHAM BY SEA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We returned to Hot Springs Motor Lodge for the second time in three weeks and we were not disappointed . This is a first class motel with staff and accommodation giving it the air and quality of a top 5 star hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and everything is top drawer including the highly efficient WIFI. I cannot recommend this motel more highly.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dogwalker_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you Dogwalker_12 for such a lovely recommendation and review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to one day welcoming you back. In the meantime enjoy the rest of your travels through New Zealand
Kind regards
Kim and Warren and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Spacious Immaculately Clean Studio Rooms. Value for money. Excellent water pressure in shower. Lovely hosts. Perfect outdoor facility for large groups. Property comes highly recommended. Will certainly go back when I'm next in Hanmer Springs

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleanKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you Cleankiwi for reviewing your stay here at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge, we were really pleased to read you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer, including our lovely outdoor BBQ area. On a sunny day summer or winter it is lovely to sit out there and pass the time of day. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hanmer Springs and the Hot Springs Motor Lodge one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This was our first time to this motel and we were so pleased with our choice. The superior studios rooms are very spacious with room for a single bed, king bed, three seater sofa and a table and chairs. Very friendly owners, and the room was serviced with clean towels on the second day, something you don't get everywhere. Free wi fi and the offer of free spa towels for the hot pools was an added bonus. Huge bath, so remember to take your bubble bath. Would stay here again if we return to Hanmer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for writing such a lovely review about your stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, the facilities and your stay with us. We hope you have a Happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back to Hanmer Springs and the Hot Springs Motor Lodge in 2014.
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Clean tidy , good service and friendly staff. , Not far to walk to town ,handy to restaurant next door. Great food at restaurant with discount for guests. Very spacious and comfortable, loved the Spa bath.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, General Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hello Anne-Marie, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your spacious room, the Hotel and location of our property. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a studio for 2 nights. First time in Hanmer. We were given a room at the end of the terrace so was quiet and private. Huge unit, lovely and comfortable and spotless. Restaurant great for casual dining. Staff in both were really friendly

Room Tip: Upstairs at end in B block. Loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witches50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
It is always lovely to read that someone really enjoyed their stay in Hanmer and our facilities. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we look forward to welcoming you back one day to Hanmer Springs
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The room was surprisingly large. Good location, easy walk into Hanmer Springs town centre. Only stayed one night, so no time to try out the on-site restaurant (but the menu looked good). Our room had a back door that opened up onto a large communal deck area which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyp2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I agree our rooms are very spacious and surprisingly large, but they are great for being able to spread out and relax completely without tripping over suitcases or each other! We were pleased to see you enjoyed your room and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing