We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Loved our stay as part of the couples pamper package thru the isite in hanmer. My husband dislocated his shoulder the week before and they were super accomodating, even offering to postpone our weekend away if we wanted.
Upgraded our room for free too!
Not too far walk from the hot pools

Room Tip: Try to get an upstairs room for an amazing view and balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beck20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for your posting your review on your stay with us. The Pamper Pack is a lovely gift idea for people who are wanting to visit Hanmer Springs. I hope your husbands shoulder is now mended and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

What an absolute gem! This hotel is 5 star at 3 star prices for me.
Clean, roomy, wonderful kingsize bed plus a single, microwave, sink, toaster, cutlery, dishes, super super strong steaming hot shower, lovely towels, toiletries and linen.
Table, 2 comfy sofa singles. Industrial washer and dryer on premises at $3 each, lovely friendly reception.
On the plus side also, there is a fabulous restaurant/bar on the premises, the meals are great value, the waitress lovely and we wished we were staying longer.
Highly recommend, 2 min drive or leisurely walk to pools and town centre, to die for views.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kezCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you Kazcairns for your review, We are pleased to see you enjoyed the facilities we offer and the Five Stags Restaurant Bar connected to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on your next visit to New Zealand.
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hostess was very helpful. Room large and comfortable (but lacked airconditioning during a hot spell). Cooking facilities are a microwave only. Convenient to the village although we chose to drive there. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Traffic noise if windows are opened in Rooms 8-10 which happen to have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pasummers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review on your stay with us at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, although a bit too hot. On the day of your stay we reached nearly 36 degrees, hard to imagine in winter we have snow on the ground. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Arrived late due to our flights and had to phone the manager on duty (Jill) she was very pleasant and accommodating. The room was great, huge comfy bed and no issues at all. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer. Thank you would definitely recommend it

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kazz9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. On your next visit to the South Island you will have to schedule in a longer stay. Thank you for your recommendation
Kind regards
Kim and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was lovely, it was clean and tidy, it was a pleasure to stay here! The room I was in had three single beds with a kitchenette, spacious bathroom and access to a outdoor eating area! The bar was great although a bit pricey... Breakfast was average! Overall great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge - we were pleased to see you enjoyed your room and the outdoor area. We look forward to welcoming you back one day
Kind regards
Kim and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I have stayed at many motels in Hanmer over 30 years and this is by far the best. Great comfortable king bed, huge room, bath and reasonable restaurant attached. Friendly , helpful owners. Thank you we will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, General Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Hello Marg22, thank you for writing such a lovely review of our Motel and your stay with us. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your time and facilities. You obviously enjoy Hanmer Springs - with 30 years of visits to Hanmer you certainly would have seen the changes over the years
We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Kim and Warren Rogers
Managers
Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were recommended this place by family, have driven past it several times before - thinking it would be way too expensive but this time went in an were pleasantly surprised. Value for money this is one of the nicest an roomiest motels we have ever stayed in. Receptionist friendly and helpful. Super king size bed an lovely BIG spa (which sadly we were too pooped to use) We will definatly be going back. Spoke to other family about it an they already booked in day after we were there. So nice to stay in friendly and clean and roomy/comfortable accommodation. We are already talking about our next visit. We have stayed in many motels in NZ an this is probably the best value for money. Thank you so much for helping us end our holiday on a high.

Room Tip: Don't judge until you have tried, this is honestly one of the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Jan J, thank you for your review and please thank your friend, from us, for her recommendation to stay with us. Word of mouth recommendations are so valuable and we do appreciate them. We are so pleased we helped end your holiday on a positive and do look forward to welcoming you back to the Hanmer Springs and the Hot Springs Motor Lodge one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim and Warren and the team at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
772 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#13 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
630 reviews
3 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing