We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Night Away!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just arrived home from a nice relaxing night away for our anniversary. Couldnt have asked for more! Most impressed with how clean the room was, also modern and comfertable. The resturant was awesome to, great food, attentive staff. Certainly will be back and will recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 364debr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Happy Anniversary.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. I was pleased to see you enjoyed the restaurant and our rooms and had a relaxing night away celebrating your anniversary
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    94
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
166
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed at this motel several times over the past 3 years and we are always pleased with the warm welcome, the lovely clean units and the opportunity for some peace and quiet. Thank you, again :)

Room Tip: The upstairs spa bath unit has a much better tv than the downstairs spa bath unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philtam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your compliments, I am so pleased that we made you happy again. Look forward to welcoming you back to Hanmer again one day soon
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

excellent rooms, very big, with an extra single bed, bathroom huge amazing water pressure, beautiful big fluffy towels, provided swimming towels to take to the heated pools... 30 paces from a restaurant, which was a huge advantage in the wet weather.
staff very informative and helpful

Room Tip: I guess the upper floor would have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello Jenny, thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, our location and the restaurant next door. With all the wet weather we have been having it is nice not to have to travel far on a winters night. we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hot Springs, our room was very big, super king bed, fully equipped kitchen, and large bathroom. The staff are very nice and very helpful, there is free wifi and towels to take to the hot pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hello Lorraine, thank you for your lovely review. I agree the free WIFI is great for our guests to use, keeping in touch with the world whilst relaxing here in Hanmer Springs. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment for one night, would have liked to stay longer. Apartment was Clean and Modern.
Had a full kitchen with oven, utensils etc. Bathroom was clean and modern, the shower is in the bath so this may cause a problem for some. There is also a huge TV in the lounge if you have time to watch. Beds were comfortable.
It was short walk to the town centre and Hot Springs and you are supplied with towels for the Hot Springs and added bonus!
Staff were helpful and full of advice.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs make sure you get a unit on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTam8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you TimTam for your lovely review of your stay with us. I agree with you our two bedroom unit is a very comfortable unit with great views out to the mountains. A lovely place to relax whilst visiting Hanmer Springs.
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Unfortunately we cannot give a great review, we were looking forward to a great stay but found the whole experience like something out go the programme faulty towers. Unfriendly service,cold and unhelpful manner and don't even think to ask for anything because that's definitely an annoyance for them , so if something is missing from your room tea, coffee or room hasn't been serviced properly don't mention it cause you gonna get a whole heap of bother .
Strangely there was no phone in the room and the barbecue didn't work, we didn't want to say anything re that as didn't want any further hassle . Would not stay there again
On a positive note the room was clean and smelt nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonu158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hello Sharon, I was very sorry to read your review and your disappointment in the experience you had when you stayed with us recently. We are here to make our guests stay enjoyable assisting in all areas possible ie with the bbq etc. My reception team and I have discussed your feedback in detail and we wish to pass on our apologies to you.
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Had the loveliest stay at hot springs motor lodge, rooms are spacious and had everything plus more that we needed for our stay. The adjoining restaurant and bar also did a great buffet breakfast which we enjoyed so much that we went back the following morning for it too. Also spent a busy Saturday evening in the bar/restaurant where the staff worked their butt off to accommodate everyone's meal and beverage needs, a little wait (but what can we expect on a busy Easter weekend) but for the tasty food it was worth the wait! Will definitely stay here next time we are in town!

Room Tip: Try the wild mushroom arancini balls they are deliscious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMeyers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Easter was such a busy weekend for everyone in Hanmer Springs - our population swelled from 900 to over 7,000 - so we are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay here at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge and your meal at the adjacent restaurant and found it blissful. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing