We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Yet another lovely relaxing stay last weekend. Have stayed in different rooms over recent visits. The view from upstairs in A Block is amazing looking West up the Lewis Pass way and the balcony is great for viewing the evening sunsets and night-sky if you are a star-gazer! B Block is further away from the main road and so quieter.
The rooms are large and very modern and clean. Microwave is good for heating/cooking. The bathrooms are very large and spacious with all that you need.
The Hosts Kim and Warren are so welcoming and always give me my favourite room, whichever it is at the time! Lovely king bed and thanks for the free wifi, sky movie channel and pool towels. There is direct access to the beautiful Dog Steam Walk and picnic area, just down a path next to Restaurant car park, which is a lovely alternative walk to the street opposite the Pools, Cheltenham St.- which is signposted were to take a left track up a wee climb to street level. See you next time Kim and Warren.

Room Tip: Upstairs in A Block for the best view of amazing sunsets in summer and view west towards the Lewis P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanPat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello JanPal2013, thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stays with us. I agree, we have such easy access to the mighty Dog Stream Walk - something we enjoy walking ourselves regularly. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon
Kind ergards
Kim, Warren and the team from Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    90
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
46
160
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great place. Clean, modern and the managers couldn't have done more to accommodate us. Will definitely stay here next time in Hanmer. It's superior to other places I've been to before in Hanmer. Welcoming and modern. Thanks for the great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello MariaD, thank you for your review of your lovely review of your stay with us, we are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Warren and Kim and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

we got upgraded from standard room to room with a spa bath.. Wasn't really worth it because when the jets turn on all this scum came out ruining the water .. Also there was small carpet caterpillars when pulling out fold out couch.. Views were lovely and got towels for pool. The restaurant they recommend next door is poor though. Overall average.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessiejazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello JessieJazzCat, thank you for taking the time to review our property and your stay with us. I was disappointed to read that we did not deliver and you were disappointed. The clear ness of our water has been a concern lately with the pump filtration system into the village of Hanmer Springs being under repair after a malfunction - the water can appear quite green although fine for consumption and bathing. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Hanmer Springs
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

By this stage of our trip around NZ we were confused about how far ahead to book, or even if that was necessary. Having gone past the New Year we had found if more difficult to just turn up so had been booking ahead the night before. In popular place like Hanmer Springs this means less choice, since places seem to get booked up in advance. Hot Springs was available though, and it was perfectly comfortable. One of the furthest places from the town centre but an easy walk nonetheless.

The room was large but very dark inside, with trees right up to what amounted to a shared balcony across a number of rooms on our side of the motel. Given the fabulous sunshine outside that was a little disappointing, but the motel was full so no option for change.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello Randrnz and thank you for your review on your stay with us. I was pleased to read we could accommodate you the night before your arrival and you found the room very comfortable. You are very correct in that Hanmer Springs can get very busy in the weekends and during the holiday season so booking in advance is a safe option, especially if you are on a restricted time frame. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just arrived home from a nice relaxing night away for our anniversary. Couldnt have asked for more! Most impressed with how clean the room was, also modern and comfertable. The resturant was awesome to, great food, attentive staff. Certainly will be back and will recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 364debr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Happy Anniversary.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. I was pleased to see you enjoyed the restaurant and our rooms and had a relaxing night away celebrating your anniversary
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have stayed at this motel several times over the past 3 years and we are always pleased with the warm welcome, the lovely clean units and the opportunity for some peace and quiet. Thank you, again :)

Room Tip: The upstairs spa bath unit has a much better tv than the downstairs spa bath unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philtam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your compliments, I am so pleased that we made you happy again. Look forward to welcoming you back to Hanmer again one day soon
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

excellent rooms, very big, with an extra single bed, bathroom huge amazing water pressure, beautiful big fluffy towels, provided swimming towels to take to the heated pools... 30 paces from a restaurant, which was a huge advantage in the wet weather.
staff very informative and helpful

Room Tip: I guess the upper floor would have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello Jenny, thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, our location and the restaurant next door. With all the wet weather we have been having it is nice not to have to travel far on a winters night. we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.6 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing