We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter warmer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Winter warmer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our room looked out to the hills - magnificent view. Warm and comfortable and loved the king size bed. The restaurant on site was welcomed due to the very cold, damp weather we experienced. Loved happy hour - running for 3 hours too. Service staff very hospitable and owners very welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewilsons31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello Thewilsons31, thank you for your review, we were pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and your time spent at the Five Stags Restaurant which is located next door. Hardly no snow this winter but we have had our share of damp days and I agree to spend time at the restaurant in front of the fire is a great way to spend a relaxing afternoon in Hanmer when wet. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    91
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
161
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here in February for a night on our way through to Nelson. The first thing I noticed on arriving to our room was how much space there was. Huge bathroom and huge studio room, not to mention the massive bed and TV. A very quiet location, perfect for couples. I would happily recommend this motel to others. Hopefully next time we'll be able to check out the restaurant too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelRay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello RachelRay22, thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us in February and thank you for recommending us to others. A verbal recommendation is such a positive reinforcement to have for a business. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely spacious room but the ventilation in the bathroom left much to be desired. Looking forward to a wonderful spa bath but was dodging condensation drips off the ceiling despite the heater being on and window open. We were warned to keep the door shut from the bathroom for fear of setting off the fire alarm system in the room which we did. Unfortunately the room next door was not so diligent and we were rudely awoken on Sunday morning with the fire alarm from next door going off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rox4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello Rox4, I was sorry to read that the condensation in your bathroom caused you discomfort and have since had the extractor fans in all bathrooms checked to ensure they are operating to reduce the build up of excess steam in the bathrooms. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Hanmer Springs
Kind regards
Kim and Warren Rogers
Managers
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Yet another lovely relaxing stay last weekend. Have stayed in different rooms over recent visits. The view from upstairs in A Block is amazing looking West up the Lewis Pass way and the balcony is great for viewing the evening sunsets and night-sky if you are a star-gazer! B Block is further away from the main road and so quieter.
The rooms are large and very modern and clean. Microwave is good for heating/cooking. The bathrooms are very large and spacious with all that you need.
The Hosts Kim and Warren are so welcoming and always give me my favourite room, whichever it is at the time! Lovely king bed and thanks for the free wifi, sky movie channel and pool towels. There is direct access to the beautiful Dog Steam Walk and picnic area, just down a path next to Restaurant car park, which is a lovely alternative walk to the street opposite the Pools, Cheltenham St.- which is signposted were to take a left track up a wee climb to street level. See you next time Kim and Warren.

Room Tip: Upstairs in A Block for the best view of amazing sunsets in summer and view west towards the Lewis P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanPat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hello JanPal2013, thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stays with us. I agree, we have such easy access to the mighty Dog Stream Walk - something we enjoy walking ourselves regularly. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon
Kind ergards
Kim, Warren and the team from Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Great place. Clean, modern and the managers couldn't have done more to accommodate us. Will definitely stay here next time in Hanmer. It's superior to other places I've been to before in Hanmer. Welcoming and modern. Thanks for the great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello MariaD, thank you for your review of your lovely review of your stay with us, we are pleased you enjoyed our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back one day soon
Kind regards
Warren and Kim and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

we got upgraded from standard room to room with a spa bath.. Wasn't really worth it because when the jets turn on all this scum came out ruining the water .. Also there was small carpet caterpillars when pulling out fold out couch.. Views were lovely and got towels for pool. The restaurant they recommend next door is poor though. Overall average.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessiejazzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello JessieJazzCat, thank you for taking the time to review our property and your stay with us. I was disappointed to read that we did not deliver and you were disappointed. The clear ness of our water has been a concern lately with the pump filtration system into the village of Hanmer Springs being under repair after a malfunction - the water can appear quite green although fine for consumption and bathing. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Hanmer Springs
Kind regards
Kim Rogers
Manager
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

By this stage of our trip around NZ we were confused about how far ahead to book, or even if that was necessary. Having gone past the New Year we had found if more difficult to just turn up so had been booking ahead the night before. In popular place like Hanmer Springs this means less choice, since places seem to get booked up in advance. Hot Springs was available though, and it was perfectly comfortable. One of the furthest places from the town centre but an easy walk nonetheless.

The room was large but very dark inside, with trees right up to what amounted to a shared balcony across a number of rooms on our side of the motel. Given the fabulous sunshine outside that was a little disappointing, but the motel was full so no option for change.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs M, Manager at Hot Springs Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Hello Randrnz and thank you for your review on your stay with us. I was pleased to read we could accommodate you the night before your arrival and you found the room very comfortable. You are very correct in that Hanmer Springs can get very busy in the weekends and during the holiday season so booking in advance is a safe option, especially if you are on a restricted time frame. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand
Kind regards
Kim, Warren and the team at Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#12 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Property: Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing