We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new huge rooms real cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2009

My partner and I arrived in Hanmer Springs without a reservation. We drove around the main street of Hanmer Springs in search for some nice and cheap accommodation as we were only staying the night. We looked at a standard room in "The Heritage" which I found to seem old and smelly so we then took a short drive back to the start of Hanmer Springs where we came accross the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. We were greeted by a kind lady who showed us a room. When we agreed to stay there for the night, the host handed us 2 beach towels for the Hot Springs and some dinner vouchers. She was very friendly and kind. Our room was massive for a motor inn which only cost $100NZD for the night. There was a huge king sized bed, all ready with electric blankets, it had a little kitchen and tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also very large and the whole place was SPOTLESS! The place seemed so new that we may even have been one of the first guests to stay there! Overall, great value, great service and really gorgeous views.
For dinner I recommend the Monteiths Brewery on the main street accross the road from the hot springs. The food there was divine! We went there for lunch and also went back for dinner! It was THAT good!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noise_Natzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hot Springs Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2009

I really liked this place. The rooms are huge and appear to be brand new. If you have a laptop there is FREE cable hi speed a big plus! Big king bed (+twin bed) in my very room. Nice views too. In a quiet area.
I did NOT eat at the place next door so can't comment on that.
The tv in the room was rather small but a flat screen.
Right now they have an $89 pre booking special which is a heck of a deal in this area.
This is one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in in NZ. Nice balcony, lots of windows.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chisana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Found that the complex was under New Managment. The Bar Restaurant has been upgraded. It was a good place to relax The food was also excellent with an apparently new menu. Would definatly return

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MalcolmAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Christchurch
15
Reviewed 16 July 2006

A group of us went for a weekend away in Hanmer and stayed at the Hot Springs Motor Lodge. Although the accommodation was ok the food at the attached Hot Springs Hotel and Bar was substandard to say that least - a drink wasn't even included in the Continental Breakfast.

When we advised the hosts of the Motor Lodge that we (6 of us) found breakfast disappointing to say the least we were told that no other of the 17 units had complained about their breakfasts and that we needed to look in the mirror for the problem - this was from host himself.

Very disappointing and unacceptable behaviour from the host of a accommodation establishment.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FDK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 海海冏蒂
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Mote...
#11 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
149 reviews
3.1 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hot Springs Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hot Springs Motor Lodge

Address: 35 Hanmer Springs Road | PO Box 115, Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#10 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £73 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hot Springs Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Hanmer Springs scenic surroundings while relaxing in one of our modern, clean and comfortable accommodation units. We have 32 modern, spacious units including studios, spa units, and luxury 1 and 2-bedroom spa apartments. Each Motel has either a king-size bed or king and a single, a kitchenette and an ensuite bathroom. No need to leave the complex either as we have a licensed restaurant adjoining the property - offering breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. On offer on Sunday mornings is a cooked / continental breakfast buffet which can be enjoyed at the Hot Springs Hotel from 8.30am, as well. Free guest BBQ also available. Sky TV, Free WiFi, BBQ area, Off-street parking, Mountain Bike storage and Guest Laundry are some of the facilities we offer to ensure your stay is comfortable. A 6-minute walk takes you to the thermal pools and village centre offering beauty treatments, fashion shopping, a variety of cafes, mini putt golf courses and a picturesque 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hot Springs Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hot Springs Motor Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hot Springs Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing