We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Settlers Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The St James(Hanmer Springs)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Garden Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Retreat(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greenacres Chalets And Apartments(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Chalets Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Lake Apartments(Hanmer Springs)
US$198
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Hanmer Springs(Hanmer Springs)
US$155
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
546
82
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
546
82
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundryhot poolshot springsone nightpamper packagelittle extrasdvd librarywalking distancethought of everythingspa baththe main streetprivate courtyardbedroom unitgreat place to staypool towelsstay there againextra towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I found Settlers Motel by pure chance while driving through Hanmer Springs and we were fortunate enough to book the last room for that weekend. And what a beautiful, cosy, warm room it was! Exactly what you want after spending the day at the hot springs which is a very short walk away. The service and friendliness of the owners was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrettyPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our motel. We are glad you found everything cosy and to your satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back some time in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We love this place so much its become an essential stop off when leaving the South Island for home. Alan and Sally have thought of every accessory you may need whilst away, the rooms are spotless, and service family style. Very helpful and obliging hosts. Will be seeing you again in March 2014.
Cheers,
Bob n Anne

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaglehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We both really appreciate you taking the time to write the review and we do endeavour to make our motel home from home and a memorable stay.
We are glad you were warm and cosy, a must during our winter months! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We recently had a weekend at the Settlers - the result of a gift voucher from family. We found the facilities provided covered all our expectations and the management made sure we were aware of all the extras that were available. There seemed to be nothing in the way of services that they charged for - something we had not experienced before after many years of using motels in both North & South Islands. We must also comment on the warmth of the rooms - we would happily stay there again in the middle of winter. Other motel operators could learn a lot from Sally & Alan on providing a warm & welcoming environment. We will be back - sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms with the spa bath and small balcony are the best !!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retep42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review which is much appreciated. We do try to ensure our guests are warm and cosy and that they have a memorable time at Settlers and in our lovely village. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with 2 kids in a 2BR apartment. The only thing we could fault the place on was no lock on the bathroom door. Large spacious bedrooms and living areas.
We stayed here when the South Island experienced terrible storms and damaging wind. We lost power for an hour or so and within 5 minutes of this happening someone came to check that we were all OK and to give us additional torches to use.
The range of DVDs was great and the towels for the pools. We were assisted with information on the closure of Lewis Pass Road also.
We will definitely be staying here again when we return to HS.
Thank you for a great start to our lap of the South Island.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cba81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your review on our motel and we really appreciate your comments. There is a small button lock on our bathroom doors to the side of the handle, maybe you missed it!
We are glad our power cut did not go on too long during the storms. We hope we can welcome you all back some time in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We needed a two bedroom apartment to share with an older relative, and the Settlers was a good choice. The location within easy walk of the thermal springs and the street of shops and cafes was perfect.
We appreciated the free towels for use at the baths, and the little extras like a bit of cooking oil and condiments in the well set out kitchen. This meant we could relax and breakfast in the room. We used one of the heaps of free to borrow videos, and loved that there were books too. The only niggle was that there is no lock on the bathroom door, and this is a problem when sharing with a hearing impaired person (fixed with a bit of a sticky note as an 'engaged' sign. There were free umbrellas too.
The only sound we heard on a busy Saturday was the birds twittering in the morning. The curtains were good at keeping out the sun and noise, and the heat pump worked a treat.

Thanks for a friendly welcome and (more unusual) a really friendly farewell.

Room Tip: Top floor was good for views of the mountains, if you can carry your gear upstairs.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handbag88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Manager at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our motel. It is much appreciated and it is great to hear what our guests are saying about us and helps us strive to maintain our high standard and continuing improving the experience for our guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews