We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My partner surprized me with a romantic getaway with a package deal of the hot springs and accommodation at settlers. I was really impressed with our room and the little touches that they had like the choclates on the bed. The place was clean and tidy with surpub service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkabella29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

thank you so much for your review on Trip Advisor and we are glad you enjoyed your time at Settlers. We hope you can return to our beautiful village some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We hadn't been to Hanmer Springs before and was interested in a package that the local Hot Springs offered. I booked a package, and the accommodation was at the Settlers Motel.
It was superb!! It was clean and welcoming and the staff were very kind and thoughtful to their visitors. They always were happy to answer our questions and were available when ever we required them.
Certinaly a place I'll be going back to!!


Sarah, Melbourne; Australia

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah123000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our motel and we are so glad you enjoyed the Settlers Experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Absolutely loved our stay. Really pleased with the quality and standard of our room and facilities. Nice touches with the bathrobes and bedlinen quality - hotel standard! We will definitely be back and have already recommended you to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our boutique motel and we are always striving to ensure Settlers is as great as it can be! We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My partner and I visited Hanmer between Christmas and New Year’s Eve, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the motel, we were greeted warmly (as if we were being welcomed into someone's home) and the room was gorgeous! We were so impressed with the complimentary DVD collection and towels for the hot springs. The studio unit was perfect for the two of us; we wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be recommending to friends and hopefully we can come back one day and enjoy this hidden treasure again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at our motel, we strive to ensure our guests have everything they need! thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have been to Hanmer on many occasions in the past and as creatures of habit always stayed in another nearby motel, but this time we left it too late to book for the Christmas holiday and had to look around for some alternative accommodation. We were therefore delighted with our stay at the Settlers, the hosts were friendly and welcoming, our spa unit was immaculate, very well equipped and quiet, there were no additional charges and we enjoyed the complimentary chocolates and Christmas cake. Needless to say we will be back.

Room Tip: We chose one of the two ground floor executive spa units which are separate from the main building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44edmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

We really appreciate your writing a review on Trip Advisor and are happy to hear you were pleased with your 'second choice' motel! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Our first night in New Zealand was spent in the pleasant Settlers Motel. The proprietors were informative and efficient. They helped us find interesting activities in Hanmer Springs. The room was comfortable with well made furnishings. Small but very comfortable. I would recommend Settlers Motel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Settlers and in our lovely village. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We felt really relaxed at the Settlers Motel. The owners are very helpful and pleasant. the rooms were very tidy and we loved it that that we were able to use everything on site free of charge ( laundry, movies) Would definitely stay there next time we visit Hanmer. Location is also great walking distance to pools, shops etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridget c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

thank you for taking the time to write a review on our motel and we like to hear that our guests had a lovely relaxing time. Yes it is a good quiet location here in Leamington Street, so handy to the village and with the walking and biking trails at the end of our street!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £86 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing