We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great package deal”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great package deal”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent three nights at Settlers in a one bedroom unit and agree with other reviewers that it is one of the best places to stay in Hanmer Springs. The units are within easy walking distance to all restaurants and the pools and being able to use the complexes free towels at the pools is a great idea. A fine dining restaurant we would recommend to visitors to Hanmer is "31" just around the corner from Settlers. Thoroughly recommend Settlers if you are going to Hanmer Springs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor and we are pleased your enjoyed your Settlers experience and the very handy Fine Dining restaurant nearby.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    72
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
371
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent one night in Hanmer on our way from Nelson to Christchurch and the Settlers Motel was a great find. We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit in the back of the motel. It was clean, spacious and comfortable. If you are looking to cook or eat inside there aren't enough supplies or table settings but if the weather is nice there is a great picnic table and umbrella out back. We were traveling with two kids (3.5 and 5.5) and the DVDs at the front desk were a great bonus. The hosts were very kind and allowed us to take towels to the Hot Springs after we checked out as long as we brought them back. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: There are two ground level rooms at the back where we stayed that were quiet and away from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Our two bedroom units are set up for a family of 6, which dining chairs and 2 stools for 6 around the table and plenty of cooking pots/pans and frying pan, microwave and 2 hotplates. There is cutlery and crockery/glassses for 6 people also.

We will be doing some refurbishment of our family units during our Winter off season and will be looking at some new furniture in the living area.

We hope to welcome you back to Settlers some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our 2 bedroom unit was spacious enough with "settler" style furniture & slat beds that were not comfortable, but did have nice bed linen. The lounge settees were budget quality and very uncomfortable - there was enough lounge seating for 5 (adequate for our group), although the unit slept 6, and insufficent dining seating. Car parking is restricted, although the receptionist did find an extra slot for us. Provision of pool towels was appreciated. Although clean and adequately equipped our group considered the tariff expensive and have enjoyed better value for money in Hanmer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Motel and we are glad you found the property clean and the linen of good quality.

We will be upgrading our sofas this winter during the off season. We are in the process of sourcing a comfortable convertible sofa for our family units. It appears comfort is compromised when combined with a fold out mattress.

We have dining chairs and stools for up to 6 guests (2 stools sit out of sight under the table).

We offer a lot of extras at Settlers free of charge and have packages for mid week nights and two night weekenders and weekend extenders.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and have noted our comments, as we move towards our winter refurbishment and maintenance schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was rather much smaller then expected for the price.
The upholstered furniture not very comfortable .
The car parking is very tight and the exhaust fumes go right into the ground floor units .
The beds where very comfortable and excellent quality.The Kitchen was only a kitchenette ,with a small fridge under the bench without a deep freezer . Very few TV channels .
Friendly Hosts . Location good .

Room Tip: upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry our motel did not meet your expectations.

We are a Motel complex with kitchenettes and not an apartment complex.

The average stay in our tourist town is 1.5 nights and we are surrounded by restaurants and cafes and a good supermarket within walking distance. We offer many complementary services and products within our price and packages for mid week and off season.

We also offer a generous car park at the door to each unit and room for a 2nd car on the complex also.
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your time at Settlers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Settlers Motel. The place is spotless, well maintained and looks brand new. We loved the bubble tub, amenities and comfortableness of the establishment. It really felt homey. From the umbrellas outside our door, extra towels for the springs to dvd's available at the front desk - we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The location is fantastic with an nice short walk to the hot springs and shops in Hanmer. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We do have a beautiful village and such a lot to offer for a small town, with everything close at hand. You can park your car for the whole time you visit Settlers.
We look forward to welcoming you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Husband and I took a side trip from a business trip to Christchurch. We thought that the motel was well situated and the township of Hanmer Springs delightful. The hot springs were heavenly after a game of golf. Our hosts gave us very good advice on where to dine. This was altogether a memorable visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
thank you for your review of Settlers and Hanmer Springs. Yes everything is close at hand and in walking distance. We are very lucky to have such wonderful amenties in Hanmer Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billericay
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for two nights in a top floor unit with balcony.
Although the unit was adequately furnished with good quality products, we found it a little small to be really comfortable.
Again, we thought it to be a tad overpriced for the same reason compared to other motels on our travels.
Complimentary towels for the Hot pools were nice though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillericaySeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your review on our motel. Our studios are small but we believe adequate for a short stay in Hanmer Springs. We also provide all our services complementary. Free Wifi, morning paper, pool towels, washing and drying laundry services, milk and a full library of DVDs.
For a longer stay we would recommend a one bedroom unit with a separate living space.

We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing