We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a ground floor room with a little courtyard at the front in this lovely clean hotel. Situated within walking distance to town and the springs {which we thought was VERY overated}...

The owners were very friendly and helpful offering advice re restaurants, massages and drives....

Comfortable, well appointed accommodation with a kitchenette and a separate bedroom...

You won't be disappointed....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBernasconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
thank you for your recent review and we are pleased your enjoyed your stay and found our unit comfortable. We are sorry you were disappointed in the thermal pools complex.

The mineral water comes from deep below ground and is very therapeutic for your body. They are true thermal springs, so the water will be a slightly different colour and will smell differently from the Fresh water pools in the family part of the complex.

There will be an upgrade of all the changing rooms next month including heated floors.

We hope you will return one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    72
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
372
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

From the moment we checked in, we were made very welcome and received some of the best customer service I have ever had! We booked and stayed in the 1-Bedroom Executive Honeymoon Suite which was very clean and extremely well fitted out with all the little extra's that make your stay that much nicer and easier. We enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked back for later this year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwiflyboy205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Settlers experience so much that you have booked your return visit! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was travelling with two elderly ladies and had mistakenly booked a room upstairs, Sally was quick to change our rooms around to the ground floor at the last minute which we were very grateful for and with out extra charge, an added bonus.
The rooms are just lovely, comfortable and there is nothing that has been left out or missed, from preparing food down to the red wine glass, its all there. Laundry facilities provided also at no cost, everything so very clean neat and tidy.
Great stay, wish it had of been longer.
Natalie

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our motel and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Settlers experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The decor is beautiful, service is fantastic and the rooms were very clean. A great selection of free DVD's for hire. Lovely and peaceful and very close to the hotpools. Fabulous walk through the forest is right at the end of the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glbayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your review on our Motel, we appreciate you taking the time to write about Settlers. Yes we are handy to the Thermal Pools, shops and restaurants and yes the beautiful Heritage Forest with several different walks, is just at the end of our street! We are glad you found the forest, it is such a peaceful place with a lot of birdlife. We look forward to seeing you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maungaturoto, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What an awesome motel in a beautiful town!Fantastic location & still amazingly quiet; the unit was lovely with it's own private courtyard & was spotless; the hosts were friendly & very helpful. We loved our stay here. If we are lucky enough to go back to Hanmer we will definitely be staying at Settlers again!

Room Tip: The 'Honeymooners' unit was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your recent positive review about Settlers. Yes we do have a great location, so handy to everything, but also a wee bit hidden away. We certainly hope you can make it back to our beautiful town again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed for our mini honeymoon straight after the wedding as waiting to go on honeymoon later on. Absolutely loved our stay. Loved all the wee touches of the beautiful toiletries including a bath infuser for the spa bath, the chocolates on the bed, the towels for the hot pools and the DVD collection free to use.
Lovely staff, nothing a problem. Gorgeous resident cat in the office who is very lovely.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs unit, balcony overlooking the area. As downstairs ones by the carpark aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beck20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Manager at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our motel.
We are glad you loved your stay at Settlers! Our team works really hard to ensure that you are comfortable and cosy and we are pleased your enjoyed our little 'extras'. We hope you can return some time in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Settlers Motel in 2007 (I think it was under different ownership) and had a fabulous stay. We checked in again last month and standards have not changed, they are still excellent.

From the moment of check in to being showed our room, to the wee breakfast we had booked to get us on the road - we were not disappointed. The only disappointment that we had, is that we did not have long enough to stay at the Settlers!!!! Next time we are in NZ we will make a point of staying there a few days.

Fabulous place and a credit to the owners!

Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arewereallythere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
It is great that you have returned to Settlers after so many years and were not disappointed!
Thank you so much for your positive review and we are so glad you enjoyed the Settlers experience, even if it wasn't long enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing