We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We covered the north and south islands in March-April 2014. At the last minute, we added Settlers Motel and Hamner Springs, and I am so glad we did. It turned out to be our favorite stop. The motel is clean, well-run, and perfectly located -- a short walk to town. The owners were helpful and attentive to detail. (It was the only place we stayed where all of the clocks were actually set!) Hamner Springs offers mountain biking, hiking, a wonderful set of springs, and a spa. We would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your review on our motel and we are glad we became your favourite place to stop and experience Hanmer Springs. It is indeed a beautiful spot and we encourage everyone to slow down, relax and enjoy the forest and the scenery as well as the Thermal pools.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time to our beautiful village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Couldn't ask for more. I needed to book two rooms for a group of friends getting together in Hanmer over a weekend and right from the initial booking the staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to be a problem. We had a studio room and a one bedroom room and both were surpurb. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDO_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Motel and we are glad you were happy with your studio and one bedroom unit. We look forward to your return some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a ground floor room with a little courtyard at the front in this lovely clean hotel. Situated within walking distance to town and the springs {which we thought was VERY overated}...

The owners were very friendly and helpful offering advice re restaurants, massages and drives....

Comfortable, well appointed accommodation with a kitchenette and a separate bedroom...

You won't be disappointed....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineBernasconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

thank you for your recent review and we are pleased your enjoyed your stay and found our unit comfortable. We are sorry you were disappointed in the thermal pools complex.

The mineral water comes from deep below ground and is very therapeutic for your body. They are true thermal springs, so the water will be a slightly different colour and will smell differently from the Fresh water pools in the family part of the complex.

There will be an upgrade of all the changing rooms next month including heated floors.

We hope you will return one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

From the moment we checked in, we were made very welcome and received some of the best customer service I have ever had! We booked and stayed in the 1-Bedroom Executive Honeymoon Suite which was very clean and extremely well fitted out with all the little extra's that make your stay that much nicer and easier. We enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked back for later this year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiflyboy205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Settlers experience so much that you have booked your return visit! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I was travelling with two elderly ladies and had mistakenly booked a room upstairs, Sally was quick to change our rooms around to the ground floor at the last minute which we were very grateful for and with out extra charge, an added bonus.
The rooms are just lovely, comfortable and there is nothing that has been left out or missed, from preparing food down to the red wine glass, its all there. Laundry facilities provided also at no cost, everything so very clean neat and tidy.
Great stay, wish it had of been longer.
Natalie

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review of our motel and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Settlers experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The decor is beautiful, service is fantastic and the rooms were very clean. A great selection of free DVD's for hire. Lovely and peaceful and very close to the hotpools. Fabulous walk through the forest is right at the end of the street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glbayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review on our Motel, we appreciate you taking the time to write about Settlers. Yes we are handy to the Thermal Pools, shops and restaurants and yes the beautiful Heritage Forest with several different walks, is just at the end of our street! We are glad you found the forest, it is such a peaceful place with a lot of birdlife. We look forward to seeing you again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

What an awesome motel in a beautiful town!Fantastic location & still amazingly quiet; the unit was lovely with it's own private courtyard & was spotless; the hosts were friendly & very helpful. We loved our stay here. If we are lucky enough to go back to Hanmer we will definitely be staying at Settlers again!

Room Tip: The 'Honeymooners' unit was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your recent positive review about Settlers. Yes we do have a great location, so handy to everything, but also a wee bit hidden away. We certainly hope you can make it back to our beautiful town again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
524 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £83 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing