We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here while touring around South Island it is in a great spot to use springs(they will lend you a towel)restaurants shops all within easy walking distance and the Motel is spotlessly clean. Free washing m/c and powder(the only one in 8 we visited)these guys think of everything from free DVD library to sticking plasters in your toilet cabinet. Real good example of Kiwi hospitality could not fault it and would not hesitate to recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Leave the car and walk there are plenty of sights to see the only other tip if you are travelling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimW333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your great review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your feedback.
Our Settlers Team certainly work hard to ensure our guests are happy and their needs are catered for. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Settlers Kiwi hospitality and it is indeed a great location to leave the car and walk to the pools, village, shops and restaurants which are all nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    73
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
373
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This motel presents very nicely both inside and out. The office managers, who are currently relieving for the owners, did a wonderful job at meet and greet and providing us with a personalized tour of the premises and travel advice on Hanmer Springs. The studio unit is well laid out with good space, a compact but comprehensive kitchenette, comfortable lounge and importantly a comfortable bed. A portable power board is provided to deal with the problem in many accommodations of insufficient accessible power points to help manage all the energy needs of personal electrical devices we take with us on our travels. The location is quiet and within easy walking distance of the thermal pools , restaurants and the main shopping strip where there is a supermarket. Parking is safe and easy on premises and the ground floor unit provided easy access for our increasingly heavier luggage. Upstairs units may well provide an over-rooftop view of the local area. Our non-peak season time of visit was an ideal time to see this delightful village of Hanmer Springs and the glorious countryside which surrounds it. We would highly recommend the Settlers inn as your accommodation venue.

Room Tip: The one bedroom spa units are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review on our Motel and we are so pleased you felt at home at Settlers.
We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and that you were well looked after by our lovely Managers in our absence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
272 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My daughter, elderly mother and I stayed last weekend and were impressed with everything about this first class motel. We were warmly welcomed, everything you could think of was supplied and we enjoyed the DVDs from the extensive selection in the evening. We will definitely stay again. We had a 2bedroom unit with a lovely private outdoor area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our motel and we are pleased to hear you found our unit well appointed and comfortable. We trust you will return one day to Settlers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in Settler motel for 1 night as part of the Hanmer Spring Pamper package. Motel is just 600m away from the thermal pool, you will walk through a beautiful park to get the pool. Located in a very quiet road, stay away from any noise on the road.

Staff is very welcome and friendly. You can borrow DVD from their library and watching at night.

Room is clean, modern, nice and warn during autumn. You can find everything you need in the room from tivi, DVD player, power extension cord, cooking ware, heat pump etc. Motel provides free laundry and dryer, also you can use their towels for hot pool (if you don't have one)

Bed is very comfortable and good size with electric blanket under duvet so you will be warm during winter :)

Strongly recommenced this motel. We will stay again in next visit

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xupcua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review on our Motel and we are glad you found our Motel to your satisfaction and our staff helpful and friendly. We are indeed handy to the village and thermal pools but in a quiet street. we look forward to welcoming you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We recently spent one night at the Settlers and were very impressed. Nothing was left to chance and everything about the stay was first class. The welcome was warm, the beds were the most comfortable of our trip, locked storage area for bikes, 300+ DVDs available for use, free wifi and on it went. Highly recommend the Settlers Motel and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We really appreciate the positive review on our Motel and we are pleased you enjoyed your
Settlers experience! We try to ensure that all our guests are looked after and our Team works hard to ensure our rooms are clean and welcoming!
We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future when you venture South again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Highly recommended +++

We bought a deal online which include accommodation, spa, massage, and thermal pools. We booked a room at Settlers Motel and we were so surprise.
It was really cold in Hanmer Spring and Settlers Motel has whatever it needs to warm you up. You are able to choose between Ordinary milk and Trim milk for your coffee, they have many DVDs that you can borrow and watch in your room, they lend you towels so that you can go to the spa without spending extra money to hire one. The room was amazing with thick blanket, electronic blanket, heat conditioners, and strong heater in the bathroom so it wouldn't be an issue if you wanna take shower.
Plus, the quality of shampoo and shower gel was really good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theodore T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay at Settlers Motel, Hanmer Springs. We are pleased you found your room and all our services to your satisfaction and that you had a memorable stay in our village. We hope you return one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was the second time I had stayed at Settlers and it definately wont be the last...
The rooms and quiet and comfortable, and the service is very welcoming!
Both times I have stayed I have had a great experience!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kirsty2883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your Settlers Experience and that you have returned to visit us again.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms and peaceful location.
We look forward to welcoming you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
491 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing