We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Settlers Motel”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Settlers Motel”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Spent a night in the honeymoon suite at settlers motel in june 2014. Very warm welcome on arrival, fantastic accommodation which was warm and comfortable. The spa bath was a real treat. Walking distance to the hot springs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AP_review15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and we are pleased your enjoyed your stay in our warm and comfortable rooms. We are indeed close to the Village and the Thermal Pools and we hope you choose us again next time you plan a visit to Hanmer Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    74
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
117
380
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This accommodation was arranged for us in our pamper package at Hanmer Springs. The girl who checked us in was very nice. There was free parking, so that was fantastic and the room was better than we could have expected. It was quiet, the bed was comfortable, clean and the bathroom had a heated towel rack which was an added plus after coming back cold from the pools. I think there was a tv because they offered us movies from their movie library but we didn't use it. We were only there one night but it was a great experience and right around the corner from the restaurants/facilities. Oh and free wifi too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and we are glad you stayed at Settlers, Hanmer Springs on your visit to New Zealand. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and our Team works hard in ensuring you have a comfortable and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Warm (due to the heat pump), cosy room nicely decorated. Walking distance to pools, shops, restaurants. We checked out and mentioned we were heading to the pools, and were offered towels which we dropped back afterwards. The motel was a delightful discovery as part of our pamper package and we'll definitely be staying here again this winter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad you discovered Settlers on your recent visit. We are tucked away down a side street, but quiet and close to the village amenities and restaurants, and of course the Thermal Pools (500 metre walk).
We look foward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

What a perfect little place this is. Not far from town at all, walk would take 5 minutes. Clean, well equipped and very comfortable modern rooms. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. The gentleman who took our booking and checked us in was awesome and super helpful. You get a huge choice of free DVDs to choose from, tea and fresh coffee in your room, a super sized bath and power shower and cute little balconies. All at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rap28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you felt at home at Settlers and we work hard to ensure your stay is a positive one. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wonderful warm room, and set out nicely and very clean. We had a chocolate on our bed every day. Loved the shower very powerful, very quiet area to stay and in great walking distances to pools and Restaurants. Fantastic idea of providing extra towels for guests to go to the pools. We will be back. We were warmly welcomed and we stayed in a studio unit. Thank you very much :)

Room Tip: So warm, and very quiet complex :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delightful2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Manager at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we are glad your enjoyed your stay at Settlers, as part of your Pamper Package. We are glad you found our standard studio unit clean, comfortable and warm to complement your treatments. We hope you felt restored after your stay in our lovely Village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here while touring around South Island it is in a great spot to use springs(they will lend you a towel)restaurants shops all within easy walking distance and the Motel is spotlessly clean. Free washing m/c and powder(the only one in 8 we visited)these guys think of everything from free DVD library to sticking plasters in your toilet cabinet. Real good example of Kiwi hospitality could not fault it and would not hesitate to recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Leave the car and walk there are plenty of sights to see the only other tip if you are travelling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimW333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for your great review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your feedback.
Our Settlers Team certainly work hard to ensure our guests are happy and their needs are catered for. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Settlers Kiwi hospitality and it is indeed a great location to leave the car and walk to the pools, village, shops and restaurants which are all nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This motel presents very nicely both inside and out. The office managers, who are currently relieving for the owners, did a wonderful job at meet and greet and providing us with a personalized tour of the premises and travel advice on Hanmer Springs. The studio unit is well laid out with good space, a compact but comprehensive kitchenette, comfortable lounge and importantly a comfortable bed. A portable power board is provided to deal with the problem in many accommodations of insufficient accessible power points to help manage all the energy needs of personal electrical devices we take with us on our travels. The location is quiet and within easy walking distance of the thermal pools , restaurants and the main shopping strip where there is a supermarket. Parking is safe and easy on premises and the ground floor unit provided easy access for our increasingly heavier luggage. Upstairs units may well provide an over-rooftop view of the local area. Our non-peak season time of visit was an ideal time to see this delightful village of Hanmer Springs and the glorious countryside which surrounds it. We would highly recommend the Settlers inn as your accommodation venue.

Room Tip: The one bedroom spa units are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your review on our Motel and we are so pleased you felt at home at Settlers.
We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and that you were well looked after by our lovely Managers in our absence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
503 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing