We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a family”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Country NSW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for a family”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our family of five (three teenagers) stayed two nights at Settlers Motel and could not have been happier. The apartment was comfortably and stylishly furnished with warm and cosy beds. It was so convenient to walk into town for morning coffee or home after dinner. The Hot Pools are just across the street. The rates were really reasonable for what we got. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Settlers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    72
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
372
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we enjoyed our one night stay, it was relaxing and enjoyable, the double bed was very comfortable with a lovely decor.
There was a good selection of free dvds to watch. The dressing gowns were lovely but unfortunately they were only a medium size and didnt fit one of us, a larger size would of been nice.
The outside light was not working and my husband tripped and hurt himself because of this which was unacceptable.
The spa bath was very enjoyable but unfortunately the button to work the shower would not work which was also unacceptable for a luxury suite.
We did mention we were coming for a celebration of our anniversary and it would of been nice to have some small treat left as it is a luxury apartment.
Over all our stay was nice apart from the injury, for the price we may reconsider checking out other places to stay for value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our stay at settlers motel was perfect. Lovely friendly staff, some of the best I've encountered. Clean comfy warm rooms, large beds and perfect distance from everything in hanmer. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for review on Trip Advisor it is much appreciated and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our Settlers hospitality. We are tucked away in a quiet residential street but we are a 5 minute walk through the beautiful avenue of Oak trees to the thermal pools and the village.
We look forward to welcoming you back some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Spent a night in the honeymoon suite at settlers motel in june 2014. Very warm welcome on arrival, fantastic accommodation which was warm and comfortable. The spa bath was a real treat. Walking distance to the hot springs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AP_review15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and we are pleased your enjoyed your stay in our warm and comfortable rooms. We are indeed close to the Village and the Thermal Pools and we hope you choose us again next time you plan a visit to Hanmer Springs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This accommodation was arranged for us in our pamper package at Hanmer Springs. The girl who checked us in was very nice. There was free parking, so that was fantastic and the room was better than we could have expected. It was quiet, the bed was comfortable, clean and the bathroom had a heated towel rack which was an added plus after coming back cold from the pools. I think there was a tv because they offered us movies from their movie library but we didn't use it. We were only there one night but it was a great experience and right around the corner from the restaurants/facilities. Oh and free wifi too!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and we are glad you stayed at Settlers, Hanmer Springs on your visit to New Zealand. We are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and our Team works hard in ensuring you have a comfortable and memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Warm (due to the heat pump), cosy room nicely decorated. Walking distance to pools, shops, restaurants. We checked out and mentioned we were heading to the pools, and were offered towels which we dropped back afterwards. The motel was a delightful discovery as part of our pamper package and we'll definitely be staying here again this winter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad you discovered Settlers on your recent visit. We are tucked away down a side street, but quiet and close to the village amenities and restaurants, and of course the Thermal Pools (500 metre walk).
We look foward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

What a perfect little place this is. Not far from town at all, walk would take 5 minutes. Clean, well equipped and very comfortable modern rooms. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. The gentleman who took our booking and checked us in was awesome and super helpful. You get a huge choice of free DVDs to choose from, tea and fresh coffee in your room, a super sized bath and power shower and cute little balconies. All at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rap28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you felt at home at Settlers and we work hard to ensure your stay is a positive one. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.4 mi away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing