We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Settlers Motel
Nearby Hotels
The St James(Hanmer Springs)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel(Hanmer Springs)
US$121
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Scenic Views Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalets Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Lake Apartments(Hanmer Springs)
US$202
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Hanmer Springs(Hanmer Springs)
US$160
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrogate Gardens Motel(Hanmer Springs)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (642)
Filter reviews
642 results
Traveller rating
546
82
12
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
546
82
12
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundryhot poolshot springsone nightpamper packagelittle extrasdvd librarywalking distancethought of everythingspa baththe main streetprivate courtyardbedroom unitgreat place to staypool towelsstay there againextra towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
395 - 400 of 642 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were welcomed with a smile by Alan and Vivienne (hope thats right) who were minding the motel. What a lovely welcome it was. The upstairs room we had was warm and cosy and very clean. The added bonus for us was our new room guest, the beautiful cat. Information was readily available. Free towels for hot pools and free wi fi were great. We would have no hesitation in recommending Settlers to others. We will be back

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet and Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our motel. Yes our Minders (Alan and Vivien) certainly do a great job and we are happy to hear Sammy the Cat welcomed you also.
We look forward to welcoming you back some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Alan, Sally and staff are just great. Nothing a bother, even when our car decided not to start one morning, Alan had just the right tools and had us up and going in a couple of minutes. They offer great information on the surrounding areas and ways to travel.The motel is just across the road from the pools. And it is a two minute walk to the shops and cafes. It is spotless, warm, roomy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ella054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review and our Team at Settlers work very hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay. Yes Alan can come in very handy some time, especially if you have a flat battery in your car! Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it. Sally and Alan were very helpful and courteous hosts with very high standards that were reflected in the comfortable, clean, warm and all-round quality of our unit. Even our two grand-daughters were very impressed and much appreciated the complimentary pool towels and DVDs. Overall, we found that our motel and hosts deservedly justified the 5 star rating.

Room Tip: We have stayed previously in a Settlers studio unit and also found it to be of a high quality. This time, with our two grand-daughters, we stayed in a two bedroom unit upstairs, recommended to us by Sally, which was very quiet and had lovely views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeeandGaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review on our Motel. We are so pleased to hear you and your grandchildren enjoyed your time at Settlers and we look forward to welcoming you back one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times 1st time a few years ago and just recently. The quality of the rooms is very good and there is plenty of space with a sofa and a small table. They offer towels for the pools which is a great help and the owners seem very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and they were happy for us to park on site and make use of the free towels before we could check in and again on the day e checked out. Upon arrival they also ensured we knew where everything was in town rather than assuming we knew as we are only from Christchurch. All the staff seem friendly not just the owners which is nice to see. As you walk past the staff tidying the rooms in the morning they say hello.

I would happily stay here again next time I come to Hanmer Springs.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank AndrewNZ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

thank you for your Trip Advisor review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We certainly work hard to ensure the rooms are cosy and comfortable and that you have everything you need for a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What a lovely stay!!

My wife and I came to stay over the weekend and we were very impressed with Settlers. The room was really nice and had a good amount of cutlery, plates and cooking gear. We were also impressed with being able to use the extensive dvd library to watch something at night, and use towels for the pools which were easily obtained.
So overall was a lovely stay and we would definitely consider coming back

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshHawkes1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Settlers experience and certainly hope you return one day. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews