We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at an affordable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Settlers Motel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury at an affordable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Read some reviews of hanmer hotels before my partner and I stayed there. We really wanted to stay in braemar lodge but it was booked out. Hotels are pretty pricey in hanmer so we read reviews of settlers motel and decided to try it. Best decision I ever made! Pretty sure the girl on reception was Tamara and she was so lovely and helpful! She showed us to our room which was warm and smelled lovely when we went inside! Spacious and immaculately clean! Literally every surface was shining! I worked as a housekeeper for a year so my standards are high and this hotel surpassed all my expectations. The rooms have everything you could need and the spa bath was amazing. Hugh collection of DVDs in reception too which is such a nice touch. They even had towels we could take to the hot pools. By far the nicest hotel I have stayed while I've been in New Zealand (including a couple of 5 star resorts) and I wouldn't even consider another hotel to stay in in hanmer. I can't believe it was only $175!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileenrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We all work hard at Settlers to ensure our guests have a great time and enjoy the Settlers hospitality. Our housekeeping team certainly do a great job and we have passed on your comments! We have a lot of complimentary facilities so we do feel we are value for money, with no extra charges added to your bill when you check out. We hope we can host you again some time in the future. Once again, a big thank you from the Team at Settlers, Hanmer Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    70
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
109
365
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Why havent I done this before? This is a fabulous place to stay - the 2 room unit was perfectly positioned off the main roda - very close to the pools - closer to the restaurants and bars - but not so close to hear any noise! We could have stayed for weeks! The unit has absolutely everything you need - even electric blankets (which you dont need as the unit is warm and cosy anyway!). Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoWilkinson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the 'home away from home' feel of Settlers. We are certainly in a quiet yet handy location to the Pools, village, restaurants and shops. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night, were greeted by the lovely Vivian, who showed us to the beautiful room (and let us check in half an hour early). There was a great range of free DVD's and they also had towels that you could take to the hot pools. We spoke with Alan a couple of times, who was so welcoming and friendly. We couldn't have asked for nicer hosts. The room was warm, had everything we needed, and was so close to the pools and the main village. Highly recommended to anyone staying in Hanmer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toycoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your welcome by our wonderful Minders, Alan and Vivien.
Yes we are in a great spot here at Settlers, quiet and out of the way but so handy to everything.
We hope to welcome you back to Settlers some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have stayed in a few different places in Hanmer, and would honestly say that Settlers is the best that we have tried yet. From the warm and friendly welcome by Vivienne and Mike to the clean, warm and well appointed accommodation situated in a quiet side street, we could find no fault with our 2 night stay. We booked the 'honeymoon suite', which provided a well equipped kitchen for self catering, a comfortable lounge area, bathroom with spa, shower with good water pressure, and a really comfortable bed. Towels are provided for the hot pools, and use of the washing machine was very welcome for dealing with our trail running kit. We appreciated the managements efforts to help offset the environmental impact of the NZ tourist industry by using more ecologically friendly products and having re-cycling systems in place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. Our team and our wonderful minders (Alan & Vivien) certainly work hard to ensure you have a great time and enjoy the Settlers hospitality! We look forward to welcoming you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumner Beach, Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Impeccably clean, nice touches like extra towels, warm on arrival, great selection of free DVDs. We'll be back! Hanmer itself is both a very relaxing town and a centre for much sport, including golf, great mountain biking, plenty of walks from the easy Conical Hill to the longer walks such as Mt. Isobel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sumnerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your return stay at Settlers!
We look forward to welcoming you back to once again enjoy the Settlers hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed with a smile by Alan and Vivienne (hope thats right) who were minding the motel. What a lovely welcome it was. The upstairs room we had was warm and cosy and very clean. The added bonus for us was our new room guest, the beautiful cat. Information was readily available. Free towels for hot pools and free wi fi were great. We would have no hesitation in recommending Settlers to others. We will be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet and Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our motel. Yes our Minders (Alan and Vivien) certainly do a great job and we are happy to hear Sammy the Cat welcomed you also.
We look forward to welcoming you back some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Alan, Sally and staff are just great. Nothing a bother, even when our car decided not to start one morning, Alan had just the right tools and had us up and going in a couple of minutes. They offer great information on the surrounding areas and ways to travel.The motel is just across the road from the pools. And it is a two minute walk to the shops and cafes. It is spotless, warm, roomy and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ella054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallysettlers, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review and our Team at Settlers work very hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay. Yes Alan can come in very handy some time, especially if you have a flat battery in your car! Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanmer Apartments
Hanmer Apartments
#2 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 6 Leamington Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#1 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#2 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Settlers Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SETTLERS MOTEL is a 5 star boutique motel carefully designed for your comfort and privacy. With relaxing decor and quality fittings you can be assured of a totally rejuvenating holiday, short break or romantic weekend away in superb accommodation which has that special touch. We are situated just 60 metres from Amuri Avenue in lovely tranquil surroundings with no street or traffic noise. We are a Qualmark 5 Star rated motel - Self Contained and Serviced - "Exceptional, among the best available in New Zealand." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settlers Hotel Hanmer Springs
Settlers Motel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing