We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were looking for a room for the night and we came across a sign outside this hotel advertising $100 night so we went in. Yes we got a room for that price but it was very small altho we did have an ensuite.
The hotel provides an awesome kitchen which you can cook any meals there which was great and an amazing fire in a brick fireplace with lovely comfy sofas to sit by.
The hotel is opposite the hot pools so that was a good asset and the very friendly managers gave us free towels for 2 days even when we only booked for one night. We were also allowed to keep our vehicle parked at the hotel until we were ready to drive onwards with our trip.
All in all a friendly atmosphere and good facilities. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    42
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
107
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

On Friday night which was a quite night in Hanmer Srings we saw the sign outside from $100 a night, so my sister and I went in to book but the $100 rooms all of a sudden become $140,00 and when I asked for there best price deal I was told that was it. The room we were shown was so small just enough for the single beds so I wonder if the $100 rooms were the wood shed outside. Last year they also had the same sign out that is why I thought I would give them a try but went around the corner and got a lovely motel instead.

Room Tip: Rooms are very tiny
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 22Kazza7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Just enjoying the excellent country style hospitality and welcoming atmosphere.
Drifters is situated in the heart of Hanmer and directly across from the pools so restaurants, bike riding, mini golf etc is all so accessible.
We have enjoyed the convenience of having the option to use the excellent commercially equipped kitchen and dining facilities. (Great for late breakfasts!)

Thanks to Penny and Mike your welcoming presence made our short break most enjoyable.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Parakenui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here recently for a friends wedding. The facilities were perfect for a large group with the communal lounge/dining & kitchen. Our room was nice, nothing to rave over but it was very clean an had everything we required. Normally we would prefer something a little more upmarket but the facilities and the hostess Penny more than made up for it. The only negative is that the rooms are very warm which would be great in winter but not so good when it is 30+ degrees.

Room Tip: If staying in the warmer months request a room which doesn't get the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benderloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay at. We were bowled over by the friendly hosts. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean and adequate. You have full use of a very large well equipped kitchen with large fridges to store your own food and drink. There is a massive lounge and dinning area as well as a BBQ for guests to use.
If you don't fancy catering for yourself there are plenty of good eating places within minutes walk.
Best of all it was one pensive and directly opposite Hanmer Springs pools.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adriennelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We paid only $100 for a double room with kingsize bed, ensuite facilities, coffee/tea making in the room, with free wifi and Sky TV. The room was very small but top value for money. Friendly helpful reception. Huge common area for lounge dining and outdoor facilities and an amazing commercial-standard kitchen. Literally across the road from the hot pools entrance, and metres from town centre facilities. A little noisy in the corridors, but top choice for budget travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnabusbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We arrived on a lovely sunny day and were pleased to be greeted cheerfully by Ann the Manager and shown our room. The room was perfect and quiet and well decorated and had great facilities. The bed linen was GORGEOUS and the bed spot on. The shower had excellent water pressure and was spotlessly clean. Ann was so helpful with suggestions of where to visit, get coffee and dine and always seemed to have a smile. It was a shame to leave really.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda and Davi... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#19 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
581 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs

Property: Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Address: 2 Harrogate Street | North Canterbury, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing