We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Really enjoyed our night here. Very smart hotel room with ensuite. A bargain at only $100. Beautiful shared lounge and guest kitchen. Friendly staff. Not many other guests at this time of year. Right over the road from the hot pools.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a last minute booking - most places were full - and we were greeted very warmly by the couple managing the hotel who went out of their way to show us around the property/kitchen/communal area. Very strong air-freshener throughout the hotel which is overpowering, very dark paint on walls and carpets desperately in need of replacement - the rooms/bathrooms were very clean but looked dirty due to the old and stained carpet - so not the fault of staff - again kitchen spotless with great amenities. Small but perfectly adequate bedroom - again some pretty tired furniture but all clean and tidy. Such friendly hosts and great facilities encourage one to stay again but the owners really need to spend a bit of money on renovation and replacing carpets - they decor really lets the side down!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked a place to stay in advance of my trip to Hanmer Springs. However I made a minor error and contacted the wrong Inn! I left my original booking as my room was dusty and dirty and triggered as asthma attack!!! Thankfully, there was a room left at Drifters to take me in! Thank you so much to the couple who were so kind and helpful in my time of need! The rooms are comfortable and clean. The location is perfect to the local pub and shops. It is
value for money with a
limited budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDN75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Whilst I agree with a lot of the reviews our stay was excellent. The bed was uncomfortable because of the zip down the centre and the shower was tiny. However, the hosts kindly stored our bikes, they were super friendly and nothing was a problem. The room was clean with all necessary amenities, extra towels are provided FOC for the pools just across the road. Good price for a great value room, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Often_Travelled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the Drifters Inn. The staff were friendly and took the time to show us around, as well as tell us about the local eating spots, even telling us about the local pub's steak special. Directly across from the Thermal Springs and the Day Spa, it's perfectly located to be a great base for a trip to Hanmer. The rooms are stylish and comfortable, and the bathroom was a decent size in our room.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Drifters Inn and will be back next time we go to Hanmer Springs.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kylie_Coggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Our stay was on a hot night in February. The room was tiny and very hot even with the windows and door open. The bed was solid to the point of thinking I might sleep better on the floor. Everthing seemed dated and due for refurbishment. The shower was tiny and as a 6ft man I struggled to wash my legs properly with such a lack of room. It is situated directly across from the hanmer springs and a very short stroll to pubs and cafes. All in all I cant say I would stay again its ok for an overnight stay

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great bed, king size, which was just as well because the room was very hot. The windows only open a couple of inches. No windows in the very small bathroom. Shower was small but ok. Staff were pleasant and friendly and everything was clean. What a beautiful little town!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#7 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
Tussock Peak Motor Lodge
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs

Address: 2 Harrogate Street | North Canterbury, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hanmer Springs
Price Range: £61 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Drifters Inn Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing