We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarborough Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scarborough Lodge Motel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Romantic and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Me and my partner stayed here in January 2012 for the night and it was just lovely. A nice quick walk to the pools made it close to town yet still it was still far enough away to feel secluded from the busy area. Lovely big room with kitchen, dining area and outdoor area made it much nicer than any of the hotels on the main street. Definetly recommend this lodge if you are looking for a romantic weekend getaway

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
105
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The Scarborough lodge is more than "just a room", and we could have easily extended our stay if we had not made other plans. We felt that the room was decently priced as it included free Wifi and separate spa towels. What really impressed was the size of the room, with cooking facilities, massive bed and all the necessities. Also on offer beside Sky were DVDs free to use. Host was friendly and offered basic ingredients if we were going to cook. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WasupB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

A short walk from the most amazing Hanmer hot pools, the best thing about this nice place was the hosts who were wonderful. We followed their recommendation to go up the nearby hill and to visit the hot pools (we'd have driven on and missed them otherwise) and had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank godoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

As per a previous review, at first glance Scarborough Lodge does not look anything special but as the old adage goes, "You can't judge a book by it's cover" it certainly applies here. We were greeted by a neighbour who was standing in for the absentee owners for the afternoon. I am so sorry I can't remember her name but she was so friendly and accommodating and showed us around the 2 apartments (there is only 2) that us and our two friends had booked explaining eveything and supplying towels for our use at the hot pools. Nothing was lacking in the unit and with free wifi thrown in for good measure we were set for the night. It's location and proximity to all Hamner Springs has to offer is superb so the car is just not necessary when restaurants, pools etc are so close. Graham the owner met us the next morning and he too was very friendly and eager to offer any touring tips to us. Do not hesitate in booking here if your travels take you to Hamner Springs, a lovely little town. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dougalHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

The owner Graham was extremely friendly. We only had a fly by visit to experience the hot pools. We were glad we stayed here. It was an easy walk to the springs and into town for dinner. Graham supplied extra towels for us to take to the pools. There is easy parking close to the room which was great for lugging our luggage out early in the morning. There was a mini kitchen and a spa which is probably under utilised, I imagine, as we had had enough of soaking by the time we got back to the room. The room was lovely and warm to return to after a brisk walk home. It's a lovely village and I would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: There are only two so you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

Scarborough lodge is a small motel within easy walking distance of hanmer springs village, the rooms were clean, well equipped and warm (have heat pump). The host Graham is very friendly and has good local knowledge, he even offered to transport us to wedding we were attending at a nearby winery. Definitely would recommend motel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSBLJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

This motel was in a great location very close to the centre of Hanmer Springs and the hot pools etc. The host was extremely welcoming and helpful on arrival. The room itself was large and very clean with a kitchenette, sofa, flat screen TV, large bathroom with spa bath, and a little garden out the back. There was Sky TV in the room, including sports and movies, which I thought was fabulous.
One negative was that the walls were very thin, and I could hear everything the people next door were saying in the night, the shower going, the toilet flushing etc. Also, I personally found the bed was a little hard for my liking, but then I am extremely spoilt with a fantastic pillow top super-king bed at home, so not much really compares to this except in 5* hotels.
All in all a good stay, and the positives definitely outweigh the negatives. I would recommend staying here, good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamarieauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Lodge Motel

Property: Scarborough Lodge Motel
Address: 34 Harrogate Street, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scarborough Lodge is a couples-only retreat just a short walk from Hanmer Springs Thermal Pools Reserve. The property offers barbecue facilities, free Wi-Fi internet access and free parking. The air conditioned apartments feature flat-screen satellite TV with over 40 channels. Each apartment has a double jacuzzi, separate shower and a well equipped kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scarborough Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing