We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vegetarian friendly!”
Review of Malabar Restaurant

Malabar Restaurant
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“vegetarian friendly!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent service and great food. Despite the limited vegetarian options on the menu, they can make some of the meat dishes vegetarian as well - just ask.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank star6582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    174
    36
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful food in a chic setting”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The food was beautiful. Generous portions served piping hot . What made the food so nice was the subtlety of the spices, which meant that each dish had its own flavour. The service was attentive and accommodating , the restaurant was chic and modern, we could not fault the charm of the place. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fangwallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Great food, great service, great time!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a fantastic night out! All food came out promptly with lovely service from all staff. For starters we had onion and spinach bajjis and they were delish. Followed by crispy duck and the lamb shanks for our mains which were equally full of flavour and very enjoyable, both visually and in taste. Finished with a lovely cappuccino and black tea.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodforlife31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great twist and mix of Asian and Indian food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you like Indian food and your partner likes Thai or Asia food then come here as you can mix and match from a huge range of foods. I was recommended to come here by a friend and was advised to book in advance as it can get booked up and i can see why.

We had the Onion bhajis and Spring rolls to start with and the Bhajis were a great example of modern Indian cooking. But i think the spring rolls might have beaten the bhajis for being total amazing, I think next time i might just have sharing plates for my whole meal.

The mains were again great modern examples of what you can do with Asian inspired cooking. There was such choice on the menu I would find it hard that even the most picky eater could not find something to enjoy here.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndrewNZ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had an excellent dinner here over the weekend while staying at Hanmer Springs. The duck main was superb and I'd highly recommend this. Fairly pricey but the food was excellent and beautifully presented. The service was also great - the restaurant was very busy but we got served promptly with a smile and were looked after well. I suggest you book in advance if you want to eat here, as it appears as if this is one of the most popular restaurants in Hanmer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EA9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malabar Restaurant also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Malabar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing