We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Died and gone to gourmet heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant

Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Isobel's Restaurant is located in the Heritage Hanmer Springs hotel and is open every day of the year for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We also have a fantastic outdoor Terrace overlooking our gardens for amazing al fresco dining. We offer a variety of meals to suit most tastes and we are proud to offer vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Died and gone to gourmet heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The restaurant was filled with an internal tourism association or travel agents group but they divided us up and we were very well accommodated by the friendliest waiter in the town. The meal was exceptional and after dinner coffee taken by the fireplace very romantic.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank KeyImage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2015
Dear KeyImage

Thanks for posting a review our restaurant. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible dining experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    26
    20
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had a fantastic meal here. Started off with happy hour off beer & wine at 5pm followed by dinner. Simply delicious. Our waitress Kimberly had fantastic customer service & went out of her way to ensure our meal matched our expectations.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VenusNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2015
Dear VenusNewZealand

Thanks for posting a review our restaurant. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible dining experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice food, great service, good fireplace.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We struggled to get a booking as the town was busy with the start of the school holidays. We were served very promptly by Alan, a french waiter. Very courteous and pleasant. The entree and main's were well presented and cooked very well. We weren't going to have desert but after looking at the menu we decided on the sorbet assortment. Alan then suggested if we would like to have our desert by the fire which was a nice touch. The only downside was that a large party and another table had kids that were running around the restaurant. As it is a premium restaurant we felt this let the establishment down as both management and parents did nothing to respect other diners. We came for a pleasant meal not to listen to screaming kids. The other issue was that there was a wedding party in the main conference room off the main dining room. Wait staff used the adjoining door to access the room so consequently the noise filtered through to the dining room. They could have used the main doors off the hall way which would have not spoiled the evening.
Lastly, the other factor that let this venue down was the actual menu, not the content, but the actual menu itself. Some of the pages have been laminated and made it very hard to turn the page as kept springing closed. We would go back but would specify a specific table away from the main thoroughfare.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RoseandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2015
Dear RoseandTrevor

Thanks for posting a review our restaurant. We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to your review.

As the new General Manager at the hotel, our focus moving forward will be on providing the best possible dining experience for our guests.

Best regards

Duncan Mackenzie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing