We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want cosy,clean,comfort,friendly,location then Glenalvon lodge is for you!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Hanmer Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you want cosy,clean,comfort,friendly,location then Glenalvon lodge is for you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

A++ service from the very first phone call. Dale was friendly and accomodating. Arrived late at night and it was cold and was greeted by his lovely wife she gave us a map & recommended many spots to eat. She took us to our room and they were so kind and had the room heatd 4 us. Very cosy and clean. They were realy cool and up graded us wooohoooo. I would highly recommend Glenolvan excellent host, rooms are great, location is fantastic literally cross da road ur at the pools,literally 6 driveways up and ur at ur first eatn spot. Oh actually one driveway...Definitly be bak here. Thanks guys for a relaxing, stressfree stay. We will be sure to spread the word. Louise and Mark.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiselamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We arrived and were met by Dale, the most obliging owner. In fact he was so obliging he even washed and dried all our cycling gear! ( three people). This was exceptional service. The rooms were immaculate, very spacious, warm and very quiet. We were able to walk to all local amenities and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. No hesitation in reccomending this lodge. Next time in Hanmer we will ensure we stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
170 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid April and wow what a gem! Location is perfect, opposite the hot pools and walking distance to all restaurants and bars. Set back from the road, the rooms are quiet with no traffic noise. Studio rooms are very spacious and immaculately clean. Great to stay in a studio that actually has a couch, coffee table, and dining table with chairs!
The owners are fantastic hosts, offer complimentary hot pool towells without asking for them.
Already looking forward to staying again.
(One very small negative that wouldn't stop us staying again is the car park is a very tight squeeze)

Room Tip: We understand some of the units have spa baths, we had the shower unit which was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Hamner offers some very good values in the South island. There is a lot of competition and in the late afternoon they start putting out the "special Boards". We were very happy with this property. The husband and wife team are delightful and the rooms are very homely and spacious, with good beds, good showers and all in all a very clean comfortable and quiet package. Located directly opposite the Hamner Spring Hotpools you couldnt get a better location and just up the road (2min's walk) good resturants and Bar's. Tea, coffee making facilities are in the room as is a fridge, microwave and dining table and chairs. Also an extra single bed for a guest.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravinon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed two nights here and it was great all round for a good price. A Nice clean room and right across the road from the thermal pools. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Have stayed here many years ago (Oct.1998), we just drive straight to this establishment. The motel is now run by Chanel and her husband who took over the business four years ago. It's still very well maintained and everything works well. There is also free wi-fi with very good signal strength. We are staying at room number 7. The location is spot on, opposite the thermal pools, in the heart of town. What else can one ask for. Chanel is so friendly and accommodating. We just love her disposition and flexibility. We are staying tonight (19Sept.2011) and will definitely be extending for another night or two.

Room Tip: Have stayed in room no.2 and now no.7. They are similar and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magbillSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We checked two other motels close by and this won out. Comfortable and close to pools with really friendly customer service, Room was already heated when we arrived and Front desk pointed out restaurants on guifde map.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank licorice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge Motel
Alpine Lodge Motel
#18 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
ASURE Hanmer Inn Motel
#10 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B

Property: Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B
Address: 29 Amuri Avenue | PO Box 29, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#12 Family Hotel in Hanmer Springs
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Glenalvon Lodge Motel and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalvon Hotel Hanmer Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing