We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the little things...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Last Straw Cottage
Reefton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All the little things...”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

It's hard not to relax here, even with our three VERY active young girls racing around, checking out the house and garden, racing down the long drive on the bikes, climbing the fields to see who could get closest to the sheep or going for a talk to the horses. They had a wonderful time busying themselves with the surrounds, while we could just sit back infront of the cosy fire and sip the wine Jon and Lynne had provided as a welcome. In addition, the morning papers, freshly baked bread, bouquet of fresh flowers and the sumptuous toiletries made us feel special and nutured. We didn't notice if we had forgotten anything we usually travel with because so much was provided. So much so, we forgot to take some of our own things home with us!! But the gorgeous Lynne was quick to post them back and no cost. See what I mean? You could just give yourself over to this place and not have to think about anything, except maybe whether it is too early to light the fire and indulge in a little tipple! Five stars from our family.

Room Tip: Fully equipped and stocked laundry also a godsend when travelling with children!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ausfan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Our family were fortunate enough to stay at the Last Straw Cottage for 7 nights. We needed a peaceful place away from Christchurch where we live. When we drove up the drive towards the cottage we were overwhelmed with the beauty, serenity and peaceful surroundings. Our daughter immediately fell in love with the horses in the paddocks surrounding the cottage. We continued through to the last gate and arrived at the cottage. We were literally speechless as we approached the cottage it was like something out of a fairy tale story! Having had the opportunity to travel to Europe we had never come across anything like this in our travels. As we entered the cottage we were greeted with the most outstanding vase of roses, fresh muffins and a sense of how on earth were we ever going to be able to leave this place. From the kitchen to the dining and living areas, it simply felt like home. Beautiful decor, immaculately presented and inviting in every way. Upstairs was an extension of homeliness and exquisite taste. Every detail had been taken care of and nothing had been overlooked. There was so much to do, magazines to read, the daily newspaper was dropped off, outdoor games, lazing in the deck chairs. We also had fresh towels supplied which we never used, the owners went far beyond the call of duty to make our stay unforgettable. We can assure anyone who wants to experience pure serenity and exquisite accommodation, that you will not be disappointed staying at the Last Straw Cottage, in fact you will be working on how to get back!! We can not recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the last straw cottage for a week last winter. It was a fabulous place with pleanty of breakfast provisions with 3 bedrooms (2 queens), a large kitchen, very comfortable loungeroom with TV, DVD, CD player etc, bathroom and laudry together with plenty of breakfast provisions (milk, juice, cereal, fresh eggs and muffins) provided by the loviliest of hosts. We watched Pukekos and bunny rabbits frolic on the lawn in the mornings and stocked the fire at night with plenty of firewood provided. We had the whole run of the place and found the bed in the southern bedroom the most comfortable. The house is very nicely appointed to almost 5 star level, and the price is most reasonable considering you have three bedrooms in total. The bedding is changed every few days and if you need more breakfast provisions just ask. From memory they even provide a daily newspaper.There are loads of magazines to read, games to play with and there are some nice horses on the adjacent paddock who are very friendly. If you want a break away from the ratrace this is the place to come. You are only 20 minutes drive or less to Nelson, with Richmond only about 10 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: We found the Queen bed in the room on the southern side of the house the most comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have tried to book Last Straw Cottage a number of times over the years but it has always been full so I was thrilled to finally book a 2 night stay here in March. It was all I expected and more. A beautiful property in stunning countryside with everything you could want.

The kitchen is really well stocked, with full breakfast provisions provided as well, including bacon. There is a barbie, a herb garden, a laundry, 3 beatifully decorated and ultra-comfortable bedrooms, TV in the living room and the main bedroom, a claw-foot bath and walk in shower in the bathroom and beautiful gardens to enjoy. The bathroom has big fluffy towels, robes, slippers and lovely New Zealand made shower gel, shampoo etc.

We had visits from Pukeko and saw rabbits in the paddocks next door. Lynn left us blueberry muffins on arrival and popped in the next day with two delicious passionfruit custard slices. There was also a box of chocolates for us. Everything has been thought of here, it is all beautifully and tastefully done and we absolutely loved our two days here. Whilst it is very rural and off the beaten track, you are only a 20 minute drive from Richmond and a little further on to Nelson itself where there are supermarkets and restaurants. However, we loved the cottage so much we ate in both nights so we could enjoy the peaceful, beautiful surroundings. A gem of a place. Fabulous hosts. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms, two doubles and one with two single beds. All beautifully decorated with good qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our family stayed at The Last Straw Cottage in March 2012. We had traveled around NZ for two months and felt so lucky to land at Lynn and Jon's very special cottage for eight nights (was supposed to be 7 but we luckily were able to extend it one day). It was by far our most comfortable stay in all of NZ...from the luxury linens and perfect beds, soaking bathtub, thoughtful local art and design ...it was just perfect. Nothing was pretentious here but we did feel spoiled, with an overwhelming feeling of being taken care of while away from home. We made two day trips with our kids, one to Abel Tasman and one to Golden Bay. Local galleries, cafes, wineries, breweries and just hanging out at the cottage filled our days. We need to come back!!!!! Did we mention the neighbors puppies we got to visit and the visiting horse our girls got to groom with Lynn? That was totally unexpected and genuinely appreciated. Everything was so up-to-date too - easy internet access, spotless inside and out, laundry, BBQ, the list goes on. The Straw Cottage is a gem tucked into the hills of Brightwater. We can't recommend it more highly!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanneKHermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whalley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

January 2012 was our third visit to the Last Straw Cottage and the third time we have been charmed by our hosts Lynne and John and delighted by this 'home from home' cottage. If you seek a sense of solitude and relaxation whilst being a short drive from local amenities, sandy beaches, crystal clear rivers and impressive mountain ranges then the Last Straw Cottage is for you. Located in a secluded valley, the cottage is fully self contained and provides everything you are likely to need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. Ideal for families and couples alike, extensive lawns provide a place to sit and listen to birdsong or for the active, run around and play one of the several outdoor games provided. Abel Tasman and other national parks are within an hours drive with Nelson lakes stunning scenery a little further afield. Lynne and John are the consummate hosts living nearby, never intrusive but on hand if needed. Little touches such as provisions on arrival to flowers and a daily local paper make all the difference. We have got to know Lynne and John quite well and enjoy their company on a regular meal out and walking expedition on each visit. We will be regular visitors to this stunning country and expect to return to the Last Straw Cottage.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The cottage is just perfect, like the ones in the postcards, but with all the modern comfort you may need. It´s the perfect mix between country cottage and a 5 stars hotel.
The welcome is amazing, with home made bread, milk, newspaper... the owner is the best host I ever met.
The quality of the beds, lights, sofas is wonderful, and it´s so clean it looks brand new.
After travelling 5 months in Australia, Polinesia and New Zeland, this is the best house we rented.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Last Straw Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Straw Cottage

Property: The Last Straw Cottage
Address: Mt Heslington Road, Brightwater, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Brightwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Brightwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Last Straw Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing