We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax for a day, feels great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hockley Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hockley Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mono
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Relax for a day, feels great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My friend and I went up to Hockley to spend a spa day, relax, and remind ourselves why we have been friends for so many years,
At first it was difficult to get appts,, called 2 weeks ahead, they were booked. Our Appointments for Organic facial were confirmed, off we went.
The facial was one of the best I had ever had, I felt like I was glowing. Not only do they do your face but neck, shoulders, feet, lower leg, hands and lower arms. After the first 5 minutes, I thought, if this was to end now I would be satisfied, this coming from a person who likes to get her monies worth.
Before our treatments we relaxed on the balcony , in our robes, enjoyed a glass of bubbly, or maybe 2, come to think of it, maybe that is why I was relaxed???ummm
after our facials we went to the indoor pool. my friend was looking forward to the hot tub and sauna. Unfortunately, the hot tub was not operational and wouldn't be until August., we suggested they tell people when making bookings as we heard a few women complain about not being told ahead, if they had been they wouldn't have had a let down.
The pool area was fine but other then the pool, my friend and I, it got boring real fast, maybe some light music.
The outdoor pool area was nice, the pool is small but certainly ok to cool off.
We had a light lunch of a decker sandwich, side order of fries, (more like match sticks) and a beer. Nothing to write home about but the atmosphere and company made up for that.
would I go back, probably not only because I want to go to as many different places for the experience. would I recommend going for a girls getaway, certainly.
it is the ups and downs of experiences that rounds out our lives, learn what you can and move on
.

Room Tip: we did not stay over night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgesqd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you for writing.

We are happy to read that your spa treatment was one of the best you have had.

We have done a complete renovation of the pool area, and unfortunately it has to be closed to complete those renovations. We chose the month of July to make the changes so that guests would still have access to the outdoor heated saltwater pool.

The new space, comprising of the indoor saltwater pool, fitness centre, dry sauna and whirlpool is beautiful. We do hope that you return to experience it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    131
    60
    37
    36
See reviews for
135
193
14
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I look after a little golf trip that includes 20 firefighters that have been going to Hockley valley for over 20 years. it includes three rounds of golf and an overnight stay at the resort. And I think I can vouch for all of us that our experience has been amazing. From the staff inside the resort to the golf staff I cannot say enough about how well they treat us. Over the twenty years we have outlasted a few Golf Pros and a lot of the staff inside...and there has never been a change in the attitude or service.
To sum up I can say we have been going for 20 years and plan on going the next twenty years as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

It's great to hear that your team of 20 firefighters have been coming for so many years and still continue to choose us as your golf getaway.

We will pass on your comments to our team and we look forward to seeing you in Year 21!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went for a girls weekend package. Checked in with no difficulty, front desk staff very welcoming and helpful. Room was very nice with a balcony and excellent view. Spa services excellent. The spa itself was beautiful, spacious and with wonderful amenities like the fireplace room with balcony to relax (weather wasn't cooperative when we were there), Small dining area. Dinner in the cabin was amazing. Beautifully appointed room and food was excellent! Service was wonderful! Not long in the room, but very nice. Pool area was great with sauna and whirlpool. Breakfast buffet was one of the best that I have had... Local products...

Room Tip: Room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you for your 5* review!

Our girlfriends getaway package is so popular and we are so happy to hear that we can add you to our list of thrilled guests!

Be sure to visit us again soon, our pool and fitness area has a whole new look and feel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Wow, what an incredible experience we had at Hockley. Everyone loved the place, the hospitality, the food the meeting space, to name just a few.
From the minute I started my negotiations with management to the very end it was perfect.
We were all very impressed with the changes made to Hockley. A lot of people had been there in the past and were a little apprehensive that I had chosen Hockley. I am happy to report that they were blown away.

The service and the staff in The Cabin, especially our waiters they were fantastic and of course the chef, the food was absolutely outstanding. In fact everyone from banquet staff to reception, waiters, cleaning staff were just friendly and helpful. Honestly the staff all round were amazing. Hockley is back on our places to hold our corporate events at. Well done and thank you everyone at Hockley.

Once again, thank you for making me shine...Hockley is definitely on the Roche list of places to hold off site meetings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your corporate stay with us.

Our team goes above and beyond to delivery an extraordinary experience for our guests, from the food to the service. So glad you enjoyed it.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We got married at Hockley last weekend and couldn't be happier with the amazing job that they did!
A huge thank you to Christine, Tony, and all of the staff at the resort. Christine was so helpful and was with us right from the start. We met with Tony a few months before the wedding and he was there all day to make sure our day ran smoothly. The food was delicious and the staff were great. EverytAing went off without a hitch. We had our ceremony on the beautiful Montclair Patio and it was very nice (except for the screaming children in the pool right beside it - my only complaint). Our reception was in the Aida Ballroom which was perfect for us because it also has a private outdoor patio attached to the ballroom. All of the staff, especially Tony and Christine, at Hockley really made the effort to make our day special and we felt the service was excellent. They even sent us a congratulatory bottle of wine to our hotel room and congratulations emails the next day! We will definitely be returning to Hockley to celebrate our first anniversary!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Regal Suite, an amazing two-floor suite. It was beautiful and spacious. It also wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thank you so much for your great review.

We are thrilled that you chose Hockley Valley Resort for your wedding day and that it was everything you had hoped for.

Looking forward to seeing you again next summer for your Anniversary!

All the very best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We celebrated a friend's bachelor party with a round of golf, dinner at the fine dining restaurant, some socializing in our rooms, and then saying goodbye over a buffet breakfast.

This experience cost just under $250, including 18 holes, a room split 3 ways, and a 2 course dinner (w/ appertif and coffee) ordered a la carte. The average review is because I felt like I got a little less than my money's worth for an experience that was good but not great.

The Good
- Golf, great views, well kept courses, an on-course marshall that was both friendly and helpful while doing good work at his job
- the lobby, comfortable place to be with your friends and the staff were happy to have you meander
- the rooms were comfortable, spacious, and with enough furniture to allow 16 people to gather and play cards while enjoying some drinks
- breakfast buffet, not spectacular but a good variety of enjoyable healthy and greasy options
- well kept grounds, while we didn't have a chance to enjoy it, the grounds seemed quite enjoyable.

The Medium
- encouragement to speed up by the on course marshall when we were waiting for the two groups prior to us
- mosquitoes - it's Ontario, just be aware and prepared

The Bad
- a desperate need for renovations on the hallways to the rooms
- The warden that tees you off was simply a bit of an unpleasant gentleman
- Parking, it was frustrating to have to park in an accessory parking lot and not have an offer of help to move my bags
- Cabin, the fine dining restaurant was a let down but by no means terrible. We waited a long time to have our drink order taken and the entree servings of everything other than the Ribeye were a bit of a letdown. The food was enjoyable but by no means exceptional. Wait staff were courteous, helpful, but frequently missed things (ex. numerous guests never had their water refilled after much hand waving until we deliberately grabbed the waiter). The decor was good. I mark this as bad as it was priced as a fine dining restaurant

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies - ask if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

We're happy that you enjoyed your stay, the golf and the grounds, our team works hard to ensure that the golf course and landscaped grounds are meticulous.

Our renovations are ongoing at the Resort. We have spent over 8 million dollars in renovation in the past 4 years - and we are now undergoing renovations to our indoor pool, sauna and hot tub. Several hallways have just been updated with paint and new carpeting, the others are on the list with a number of other projects.

Our free guest parking is a much appreciated bonus for our guests, and of course during busy times, parking has to be pushed to an overflow lot. We would have been more than happy to assist you with your luggage should you have requested it.

cabin is our signature restaurant, it isn't a fine dining restaurant, however, the dishes are organic, farm fresh, and locally sourced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have had nothing but positive feedback, they were all very impressed with the resort, the people who work there and wow the food was absolutely amazing.

We all want the recipe for the beef ribs that were served for lunch on the Tuesday!

I will not hesitate one bit to come back to Hockley again, thank you so much for all your help Pam. You made our stay totally awesome!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVR_President, Owner at Hockley Valley Resort, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

It's important for a meeting convenor to get great feedback, after all they put a lot of work into organizing a meeting! So glad to hear that we came through for you in every way.

Email hockley@hockley.com for that recipe, we'd be happy to give it to you.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mono
8.4 mi away
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Millcroft Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Alton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Orangeville Inn & Suites
10.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Bolton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Red Pine Inn & Conference Centre
24.5 mi away
Days Inn Brampton
Days Inn Brampton
#6 of 12 in Brampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
19.1 mi away
Stone Edge Estate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hockley Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hockley Valley Resort

Property: Hockley Valley Resort
Address: 793522 Mono 3rd Line, Mono, ON L9W 5X7 | 793522 Mono 3rd Line, Mono, ON L9W 5X7, Mono, Ontario L9W 2Y8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Mono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hockley Valley Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hockley Valley Resort is a year-round resort located in the heart of some of Ontario’s most picturesquecountryside, one hour from downtown Toronto. Since opening its doors in 1985, Hockley Valley Resort has become a leading culinary tourism, leisure, corporate meeting and wedding destination. The 300-acre boutique property features 104 luxury rooms and suites, 14 meeting rooms, an 8,000 square foot full-service spa, a championship 18-hole golf course designed by renowned Canadian golf course architect Thomas McBroom, and 15 scenic ski and snowboard runs for all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hockley Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hockley Valley Hotel Orangeville
Hockley Valley Orangeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing