We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly a hidden gem - beautiful rustic...”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Petit Courtoux
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Petit Courtoux
The garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Le Petit Courtoux
The garden
The bathroom
The pond where children can go fishing
The flowered  garden
Our sheeps next to the pond
Wild roe deers next to our house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Saint-Germain-en-Cogles, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ivan M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a hidden gem - beautiful rustic accommodation in Brittany”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I am almost a little hesistant to write this review and uncover this hidden gem - a tasteful barn conversion surrounded by an exquisite cottage garden set in idyllic French countryside. The accommodation was wonderful - stone walls, high ceilings, exposed oak beams, two large open fireplaces reminsicent of days long gone by, yet all the modern conveniences including a full kitchen and wifi that worked seamlessly. Our hosts Beatrice and Didier were incredibly welcoming and made us feel at home right away, helped us with our cycling adventure into Fougeres and and showed us a shed full of games/toys which enthralled our 4 year old son for days to come. There are plently of sights to see nearby with the old medieval towns of Fougeres, Laval and the exquisite Mt St Michel only a 40 minute drive away. However, the real highlight was coming back to our slice of paradise and simply relaxing in their beautiful garden. One very nice aspect is that the property is located at the end of a cul-de-sac with no passing traffic - great if you have young children as our 4 year old spent many hours freely adventuring around the house and gardens, feeding the sheep and looking for any of the resident felines (which possessed a remarkable ability to sense this and make themselves scarce). A really lovely stay and I will definitely look forward to coming back.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mingmei20...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed this lovely holiday house which built about 400 years ago.Even though it is just off from motorway, it was very very peaceful and quiet around there and we could hear sheeps and cows. We felt so peaceful and had a relaxing time there.The house was very warm and cosy. It has everything we needed.
We were 7 of us(3 adults and 4 children) and there was a plenty of spaces in the house. Next to the house, there is a garage and we could use bikes,scooters, table tennis and darts etc.It was great fun for kids to run around with scooter in the garden.
We visited Mont Saint Michel and it was amazing! It only took 35 minutes from the house. It will be great to go early in the morning as it won't be too busy.
Next day we also visited Fougress by WALK! There is a walk/cycle pass from St Germain and we decided to walk there instead of driving. It took us over 3 hours just one way but all children including 4 years old managed. It was great experience to walk about 20km.
There is a supermarket called Super U in Saint Brice en Cogles about 15 minutes away and we could buy everything fro there.
The owners were both very friendly and helpful. We bought some jam from there and tasted really nice!
We had a lovely perfect family holiday there and would recommend everyone considering to visit Mont Saint Michel or just have a relaxing holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2015
Thank you Akemi for this review.We are very happy to know that you had such a good time in our cottage.
Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavinblax
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic France”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This property is a beautiful restoration of what feels like a traditional Breton farm building. The main features being traditional fireplaces think brick walls and high ceilings. Beatrice and Didier the owners have made the most of the location by setting the rental in a lovely garden and not over developing the site. You feel that you are staying on a farm. They provide free a range of well used bikes. We bought our own and enjoyed cycling the local lanes including the former Fougeres to Antrain railway now a cycle path.

In theory you could cycle to Mont st Michel, but it is about a 40 minute drive so we went in the car. Fougeres is an attractive town with a well preserved castle. The surrounding countryside is very quiet in terms of traffic so to get anywhere does not take long.

The property is not on the coast, which is apparent from the map and reflected in the price. If you have an idea as to what Fougeres is like as an area I don't think you will be disappointed. It's hard to think of anything the owners could have done better at this location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the building
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for everything you said about our place and our welcoming. We try and do our best to make our hosts feel like at home and enjoy their holiday and we really appreciate people telling they had a good time in our cottage and garden.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great for the winter as well as the summer”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed most of January with friends and relatives joining us occasionally. Lovely log fires but the gite stayed a "toasty" 22 C just from the underfloor heating. Perfect hosts who made our stay special with good recommendations. Lots to do in the area in the winter with local markets, fabulous medieval towns (Vitre, Lavall, Dinan +++) and a great restaurant in Fougeres. Mid day temps in Jan varied 8 -14 C with only 5 wet days out of 20.
We will return but possibly in a February as many museums closed in Jan.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xela68
Paris, France
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Gite”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this gite as a base for visiting Mont St Michel and Cancale. It was easy to find with GPS, even in the dark. We arrived after the shops had closed and Beatrice generously offered to supply us with everything we needed for breakfast, which was a huge help. She also gave us a good map and directions/advice about the places we wanted to visit. The gite is very spacious but still feels cozy and full of character with 3 bedrooms, a family room with a huge, open fireplace and an eat-in kitchen. All the pots and dishes we needed were included. When we weren't sightseeing, we played football in the yard (with the sheep looking on) and played games by the fire. Wifi works well. Bikes are available, but it was too rainy to use them. Be sure to bring back some homemade jam!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thank you Alexandra,
We are very happy to see you enjoyed your stay at our place and it was a pleasure for us to meet you.
Maybe will meet another time.
Kind regards
Beatrice
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ispcrco
Homebush, Australia
1 review
“An oasis of quiet”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Easy to find, extremely quiet location and wonderfully relaxing.
Beatrice and Didier live on site and are very friendly, but not intrusive in any way.
Beatrice speaks good English and Didier is getting pretty good as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: Outside of the main bedroom, there was very little wardrobe space.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review. We tried and do our best to make you feel home when you are in our cottage so we are very happy to see that it worked and that you enjoyed your stay.
See you in the future? With great pleasure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Sep 2013
Thank you Phil,
You're very welcome another time.
Regards
Beatrice and Didier
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing