We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete satisfaction”
Review of Chalets Cote Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalets Cote Mer
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in March 2012, duplex apartment, room # 1. Hotel has requested to provide for my credit card details to guarantee booking from booking.com, though no pre-charge has been applied. This is a small hotel which is close to the other one called Colibri (I understand they have the same owner). Location is great, just few minutes from Praslin jetty, and the view is awsome. Apartment was big for 2, clean and well furnished with equiped kitchen. The staff was polite and helpful enough, especially in restaurant. The breakfast was ok though obviously a limited choice of snacks. The buffet dinner costs EURO 18 per person and is a good quality though again rather limited selection of dishes due to small size of hotel.

On the negative side: hotel has no beach though some guests do not hesitate to snorkle in front of it. La Digue with its great beaches is just 20 min by ferry. Short walking path to the jetty might be a challenge to seniors and for those travelling with heavy luggage. Though air con in our apartment worked well, it was located right above our bed, so we couldn't use it at night not being exposed to the risk of getting sick. These minor issues do not spoil overall good impression though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AwfulRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
120761, Manager at Chalets Cote Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest.

Thank you taking the time writing such a great review. We are immensely pleased to receive feedback such as yours especially helping us in providing an unforgettable service as well as assisting other travellers to select an exceptional Hotel.
Once again thank you and we place your review in high regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

About the location:
Quite close to the jetty which makes it very convenient to plan an excursion for a day in La Digue or any other island. However, Praslin being very hilly, you have to climb the road from the jetty to the hotel (maybe 10 minutes at slow pace?).
The hotel hasn't got a beach and the sea is not really sandy in front of the hotel. If you are looking for very close beaches near your hotel, don't pick this one.
The swimming is quite small but enjoyable and with a stunning view on the bay Ste Anne.

The room:
I liked the huge bay window with the amazing view on the bay. You see the bay from your bed and can rest on your balcony so peacefully. bungalow have their privacy and you won't be bothered by other residents. This is really brilliant and I couldn't get bored of the view!
The decoration is nice. Bed and furniture are in wooden material, carved and decorated with taste. You have got all the western facilities as well. Nothing to be grumpy about!

The staff:
Very friendly. We got picked up on the way to the hotel by one of the gardener as we were climbing the road. We asked the catering staff a sharp knife to cut mangoes that we had picked on the way and handed him back later. The lady at the reception can organise any tour for you but we haven't requested their service.

Breakfast/Lunch/dinner
We were a bit disappointed by their dining options. The breakfast is very fine (you can have boiled eggs, omelette, scrambled eggs, bread, butter, jam, juice, fresh fruit, tea/coffe) but for dinner, you haven't got real choices despite it is called a "buffet". Also, there is nothing around if you want to have dinner in a restaurant so in a way you have to rely on their menu. And if you go to town for dinner, it is good to know that the road can be very dark at night and it is not pleasant to walk back to your hotel so you need to find a way. They also served snacks but nothing outstanding.

Tips:
It is good to know that you can take a free boat to go from the jetty to the New Emerald Cove hotel (in the other side of the bay). A good way to reach Anse La Farine and see around.

If you are interested, you can have a look at my blog where you will find lots of pictures from Seychelles http://stagetheworld.free.fr/

Room Tip: They seem all quite good. Maybe if you want a more peacefull room you should ask to be far from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

There are small chalets on the slope above the sea surrounded by beautiful gardens. It is a very romantic settlement. All rooms have a spectacular view to the sea. We had an apartment with two bedrooms, living area and well equipped kitchen and also a small terrace. It was spacious and had very good location. There is a nice small swimming pool; beach is not convenient for swimming. Breakfast is served and there is very limited choice of food. I was satisfied with the eggs and jam, but some were not. This hotel is not convenient for disabled people or baby strollers. There are also Colibri guest house and self catering Le Grand Blue Villas in this settlement, run and managed by same people. You will definitely need a car. A car can be hired at 35 € per day in Praslin island. We visited Curious Island; we booked a boat trip with local people who can be found on the beach in front of Berjaya Hotel. We were very satisfied with this trip; nice island, full of big tortoise; nice experience also for our children. We will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at this place for 3 ngts and the stay was very very nice... the views from our room was spectacular with the sea right in front of us.. and even the swimming pool just outside.. so made for some gr8 views.. the B'fast was nice.. nice spread of breads, eggs, fruits and juice, alongwith coffee, tea, milk etc. so pretty nice.. the room was gr8.. we took a superior room and it was in 2 levels.. level up had a room, bedroom and the bathroom.. whereas the lower section had the living room, sea view balcony and the kitchen.. the room was very clean and so was d entire property and d best part is that it is just 5 mins from the jetty.. one can walk for 5 mins without luggage to and from the jetty to the hotel, but with luggage it might cost you about EUR5 in cab from the jetty. The airport, however is a little far and is about 10-12 kms one way i guess..this is a very convenient location and area so would highly recommend it.. very nice staff as well.. kudos to them for makin our stay memorable..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vikramv4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spend a very nice time to chalet cote mer we appreciate the kindness of all the persons working there we appreciate the variety and the quality of the food for the breakfast with many house-made marmelades and for the buffet dinner we discovered every nights new plates of fishes and meat wich enjoyed each of ours meats. The room service was perfect , the reception always helpful to manage us accomodations...
A very nice place to be to discover the island of Praslin

Room Tip: Every rooms have a nice view on the see and the nice jetty of baie saint anne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank line p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Everything there was perfect, its near the Jetty but you dont hear any noise from there and the view from balcony is wonderfull, furthest when its sunny day. Stuff here is very kind and pleasent from gardener to mistress. The famous beach Anse Lazio and lots of another beauties of this island is far from there to go by foot, but you can take a bus (cca.1€) or taxi (20€ almost everywhere), or you can just rent a car. I really recommend this hotel to everybody ;)

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SlavomirStasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed 3 nights in Chalet Cote Mer. The room was perfect with a sea view and the balcony. Air conditioning and helpfull staff. The swimming pool is really relaxing after a full day of travelling. Close to the jetty you do not need a taxi to go there and you can then discover the Island with the bus (there is a bus stop at the jetty). The dinner in the hotel's restaurant is quite good and at a same price level than in the rest of the island. I recommend this hotel for your stay in Praslin !

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Floxygenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Ste Anne
1.6 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
155 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,459 reviews
6.1 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
823 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,058 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#6 of 11 in Anse Volbert
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Cote Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Cote Mer

Address: Pointe Cabris | Baie Ste Anne, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range: £131 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalets Cote Mer 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far away from busy crowds, situated in a convenient location near the Praslin Jetty is the small hotel Chalets Cote Mer, where our friendly staff will immediately make you feel at home. Our hotel, which is set in beautiful and lush tropical gardens, comprises of 6 duplex apartments, 4 superior and 3 standard rooms. All of our rooms have terraces that provide magnificent views to the Seychelles blue waters and surrounding islands. Our restaurant is set on the water’s edge and offers authentic dishes that are influenced by fresh local produce and the Seychelles Creole culture. Our clients have access to our infinity pool and relaxation areas where you can forget the daily stresses by soaking up the panoramic views our hotel has to offer. While we do not have a beach, we provide direct sea access where guests can swim and snorkel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chalets Cote Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalets Cote Mer Hotel Praslin Island
Chalets Cote Mer Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing