We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a deception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colibri Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a deception”
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We had read quite a few recommendations, but they must have been outdated.
The only highlights are a wonderful view on Baie Ste. Anne and the garden.
The owners seem to be pre-occupied by their hobbies (gardening), and seem to consider guests more or less as a nuisance. The food is lousy (breakfast consist of ever the same 7 jams and not much more, fruit are never ripe, only the omelettes are nice. Dinner is so-so, fish is mostly okay, but meat is constantly cooked for hours and therefor nearly inedible. The cook obviously does not enjoy his job, and the management doesn't care. Don't even try a cocktail, that's just a warm fruit juice with some rum.
All friendliness of the personnel does not compensate for the shortcomings.
In short: Don't sty any longer than two nights, otherwise the "Seychelles experience" becomes quite a drag, at least as far as accomodation and restaurant food is concerned

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunshinefun69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    95
    15
    12
    4
See reviews for
23
171
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2008

I stayed here for a week in May 2008 and have to say that I had a fantastic time - what a wonderful place, a great family run business and extremely professional with lovely attentive and friendly staff. The proprietors are clearly very experienced in what they do here and are still very hands on with the day to day running. The menu's are masterminded by a classically trained master chef so, as you would imagine, the food is absolutely suberb - very authentically creole and given the challenges of importing into a group of small islands like this, they manage to provide a feast fit for a king night after night - delicious! Far better than what the same money would buy you if were eating out in the UK. Having travelled all over the world, this is one the places that I will be going back to again and again - a lovely setting, very romantic, beautiful views and rooms that are of a very high standard. This place comes highly recommended - go and enjoy it, you won't regret a minute! I'm already planning my next trip back!

  • Liked — Everything, the food, the staff, the location, the accomodation
  • Disliked — there's nothing bad to say about this place!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

I and my wife spent several days in Colibri Guest House Praslin in December 2006. The overall impression as concerns to service and food is rather disappointing. May be due to the hot climate, personal is not greatly interested in guest problems. Food is unrecognizable mix of unknown components, even if you ask to grill tunas caught by yourself. The only good thing about Colibri is nice view from some rooms on the Bae St. Anne.
All in all, we much more liked Chez Michelin Guest House on La Digue, in spite it lacks modern furniture and such nice sea view, but it is far more friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank N_Sadyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Ste Anne
0.1 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
779 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
878 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,006 reviews
6.2 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colibri Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colibri Guest House

Property: Colibri Guest House
Address: Pointe Cabris, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Colibri Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mentioned as a reference in all major tourist guides, The COLIBRI Guesthouse possesses an undisputable typical charm. All its chalets, combination of noble wood and stone, have a breathtaking ocean view. Pleasantly located on the hillside, nesting amongst the abundant tropical shrubs, the hotel offers 5 superior rooms and 6 standard rooms all with terrace or balcony. The restaurant is situated on the water’s edge. Rene, a French Master Chef, is there to offer you outstanding Creole and International dishes, Guest booking a stay at COLIBRI Guesthouse can look forward to a home away-from-home ambiance, as well as feeling very much part of the owning family, whose generous warmth and friendliness assures a true experience of the Seychelles' way of life. For your comfort, we offer you:• 6 STANDARD ROOMS : 5 Double rooms (Max 2 Pers) one of them can be turned into a triple room - 1 Duplex (Max 4 pers). No air-condition in standard rooms. All our rooms have King size Bed, Coffee-tea making facility, private shower room, safety box, hairdryer, television, fridge and fan. The triple room consists of 1 king size bed and 1 single bed. The duplex has a king size bed on the mezzanine and 2 bunk beds on the ground floor. For more than 4 occupants, the duplex has a connecting double room. The daily cleaning of the room is provided with the bath towels changed every 2 days and the bed sheets every 3 days. A wireless Internet Access is available at the reception at extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Colibri Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colibri Guest House Hotel Praslin Island
Colibri Hotel Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing