We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nil service and nil charm”
Review of Iles des Palmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iles des Palmes
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nil service and nil charm”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

very boring very bad service and not clean. Very unhappy with the place and the staff. Cant believe that it is closed from 8pm to 8am and no telephone in the rooms so wha t do you do if something happens.........and it is not safe!!!

Room Tip: look somewhere else it will ruin your trip to Praslin that is a beautiful island.......dont think an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    54
    12
    9
    16
See reviews for
32
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

When we arrived in iles de palmes, there was no one to help with the bags so we had to drag them along the sandy path which is v difficult. Iles de palmes doesn't have a phone in the hotel room and the reception close from 8pm to 8am...who do you call in case of emergency? There are no air con in the house. The fan was making noises. The house where we stayed was quite far from the reception, which is no good and inconvenient. We were told that there were baby sharks lingering in the shallow water. Especially when there were cases of death in the water due to sharks, we became very cautious and apprehensive.

Room Tip: no security all around the compound
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kitty c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We spend 6 days in the Seychelles, 22/10/11 to 28/10/11 and split the 6 nights between Praslin Island and Mahe. In Praslin we stayed in Isles des Palmes and the 2nd night, 23/10/11, we where robbed by a person in the middle of the night. We had been sitting outside on the terrace and went in to prepare to get ready for bed and someone very quite went in to the living room and took cash, mobile phone and camera when we where in the bedroom. We heard someone and turn and see someone running out. Night guard was sleeping and no one else around. The self catering houses are in a very quite location. No staff available after 8pm but we manage to get polise over in the night that was totally relaxed and asked what they could do....robbery happen every where........We left the hotel the day after and staff was totally unhelpful. Same again when we saw the local police to get the police report....they indicated that this have happened before at this hotel and again their excuse was that ....robbery happens everywhere so why was we upset.
So clear warning from Isles des Palmes and also be prepared for a not very safe time in Seychelles specially with local police that have the attitude that it happens all the time and everywhere..........

Room Tip: not safe place to stay........and we do not think any self catering unit they have is safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank anders h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, Owner at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I regret to have to read about such an incident. My apologies to the guest, if you contact me through Iles Des Palmes address, I would appreciate more details on the case. However, admittedly, Seychelles as a whole has undergone a spree of petty robberies during this period. I have been the Chairman of the Public Safety Committee of the Hotel Association for years, and we tried to curtail the growing issue of petty theft against Visitors. We had one case of a 14 year boy going about robbing hotel rooms throughout Praslin in 2011. He has been caught. It is amazing how much damage one bad apple can do. In November 2011, we installed cameras on the hotel area, and we have not had a single incident since then. We also had to install fences to curb access, something which we never expected to have to do. It is done now. Additionally we do have security personnel these days. But until 2006 we all slept with our windows open in Praslin, no fence , no security. Hence , any attack on a Guest is traumatic for them , I know, it is equally traumatic for us. At times Guests do not follow instructions, and leave cameras out, wallets. The bungalows are right on the beach, and fishermen pass by. While Iles Des Palmes is a private eco reserve, the beach remains in Seychelles Public.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maennedorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We where a bit nervous booking Isles de Palmes after reading some of the reviews on this site. We did anyway also based on the lack of options.

So after a 22h trip we finally arrived at Isles de Palmes and we where positively surprised by the place. The bungalows have a lot of space and are very clean, the shower was one of the best we had on the Seychelles (in terms of water pressure). The staff was always very helpful.

The bungalows are set in a nature reserve and the view from the patio is beautiful. Yes the beach is not really for swimming but then you are only about 20 car minutes away from Anse Lazio and the beautiful Valle de Mai is very close.

We saw guests who rented bikes but we would recommend a car and if you don't like animals inside and outside the house don't go there.

For us this was a perfect spot and if we get back to Praslin we shall stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bscyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

This self catering resort is good value, with simple rooms and a quite location. it is quite isolated from restaurants and shops, and has no on site facilities (shop or restaurant) so a car as a must. It has a private beach, mainly at low tide, but not for lazing on. The rooms though all have lovely patios and sun decks on the lawns in front.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikejnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Great value for money, and very well-equipped bungalows, which were thoroughly cleaned each day to a very high standard. Lovely location, quiet, and peaceful, with almost all bungalows being only a few feet from the beach; but not a great swimming beach. Also, property has no restaurant or shop on the premises, so we found a car to be a necessity rather than a luxury. No telephone in any bungalow, and no wi-fi. Wish they would install this, which would make the bungalows almost perfect! Staff all very helpful and friendly. Overall a lovely stay. We would most definitely return!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, view, privacy
  • Disliked — Internet access, and no phone
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mulqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We stayed in 3 different places in the Seychelles - 2 on Mahe and Iles des Palmes.
We stayed in one of the chalets in the Pirates Cove part.
First of all the good points - the chalet was very nice - a good sie with a decent kitchen and a lovely balcony.
It was very very peaceful here, and great for sitting out at night on the balcony enjoying the silence.
The site is good for wildlife - lots of land crabs comically scuttling in and out of their burrows, mudskippers, fruit bats at night feeding on the trees in the site, herons, curlews etc - so quite good for wildlife.
The service was ok - efficient.
On the downside, the beach was not as per the photo on the website - it might be a bit further along the site, but where we were you could hardly see sand due to the washed up weed - natural but a shame compared to the website photo.
Also, you can't swim in the sea here - at least not in November. It was full of weed, and also other debris and rubbish that was washing about - a real shame as we were looking forward to snorkelling.
Water was rationed when we were there too - not the fault of Iles des Palmes, but a pain. We weren't there expecting luxury but the lack of water completely for the first 24 hours we were there wasn't ideal! But I would think the rains we had there mean there is no longer a problem.
You need a car - to walk to the shops is.... too far in this heat (about 45 mins to an hour)
And then the place just felt a bit money grabbing - exchanging money we got 14 rupees to the Euro - everywhere else it was 20. You had to pay to borrow snorkels and masks, to use the internet.... pretty much everything - whereas everywhere else we stayed all of that was always free.
The receptionists were good but felt constrained and like they were not able to relax and be themselves.
So overall good - but just felt it could be so much friendlier and better.

  • Liked — The crabs
  • Disliked — The sea and beach
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JandJ35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, Owner at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
I believe Iles Des Palmes can be better. Many guests have made this comment in the past. We started out as a little self catering operation. The nature of self catering is such that there is no room service, no butler, no attendant. This formula worked well for us for many years, and it attracted Visitors that wanted to stay 14 days, 21, days 30 days on Praslin. Within that time, they would become friends of locals, and learn all the ins and outs. But many Guests wanted more services and we intended answer this call in 2008. But the financial crisis sent us in a tail spin, as many others can attest. Therefore we shelved a development and expansion project for Iles Des Palmes. In 2012 we embarked in a major expansion that will change Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort forever. We are near completion now of Two(2) restaurants, a baby pool for toddlers, a large swimming pool beach side, beachside bamboo bar on the famous Anse Takamaka beach, and a grand restaurant that will serve up the freshest seafood and Seychellois specialities ever. When booking in the year, ask the reservations specialist, the dates of opening. Our family units will remain self catered, and families will have the option to dine out right on the premises. Additionally, we are really excited about a project we are working hand in hand with the Seychelles National Heritage Foundation to name and protect Six (6) historical sites at the eco resort. We will be developing trails for this during the year, and information center for all our guests and visitors by day. It is truly, very exciting times at Iles Des Palmes. All the new renovations have been roofed with Latanier leaves, endemic palm found only in Seychelles, and produces the most fantastic thatched roof that can last 15-20 years. I thank the Guest for all his valuable input and critic. It has motivated us to push our product to new heights and look forward to welcoming all our guests to Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Ste Anne
4.1 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.5 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iles des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iles des Palmes

Property: Iles des Palmes
Address: Anse Takamaka | Near cot d'Or, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iles des Palmes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iles des Palmes bungalows is a premier Eco resort establishment with 20 cosy beach bungalows set out in a 18th century plantation. A large and peaceful garden just meters from the long and white sandy beach of anse takamaka on Praslin island.A pool and bar offer excellent vistas over the ocean. Restaurant Le Vasseur La Buse offers excellent Creole and international cuisine..Detached beach bungalows are typically designed in a Creole manner and fully equipped with all the necessary facilities and amenities for a pleasant stay.All Family units have kitchens. couple units we recommend B&b options.Iles des Palmes Bungalows are split into two different types of accommodations: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iles des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Des Palmes Hotel Praslin Island
Isles Des Palmes Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing