We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday in a great location on Praslin Island”
Review of Iles des Palmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iles des Palmes
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday in a great location on Praslin Island”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned on a two weeks vacation at Isles Des Palmes. The Chalets are well equipped and everything was clean and in very good condition.
Two large bedrooms, one with double bed and the other a good size twin room. Shared bathroom with shower facilities.
The location is fantastic, tucked away from the main road and next to the beach with fantastic views of Bay Ste Anne. The tranquillity of the place is beyond imagination.
Good customer service from staff and always helpful. I will recommend the place to anyone going on a trip to the Seychelles. Value for money!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryJ2292VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
It is with great appreciation and satisfaction of all our staff, head of departments of our family run establishment that read this great guest comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Iles Des Palmes Seychelles and we could make it special for you.

Our establishment remains the best value for money on Praslin, and with the new restaurant beach bar, pool-sun deck over the sea 4 sided views, we aim to continue to deliver excellence and that WOW (!) effect, guests expect from the Seychelles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    55
    12
    9
    16
See reviews for
33
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We, 2 adults and 2 kids (10 and 12 years) spent 2 weeks here. Everyone was very friendly and we just enjoyed the stay all the way.
Only reason for not giving 5 stars, is that the beach is not really for swimming/snorkling, as it is too shallow. However, we had rented a car and with Anse Volbert only 10 mins away it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: The bungalows are very big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjarne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel has great price/value. You get an entire house with a bedroom, a living room including a kitchen. It is very quiet and very relaxing. The place is also safe. There are even securities walking around. The service is very friendly and professional.

There is now AC in the room, which is the only downside (even it's better for the environment - but with 34 - it was very hot.)

You for sure need a car.

Overall I would go there again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urshinterwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
It is always very much appreciated when a Guest makes a fair and honest comment on our establishment. Our staff which is small, and Seychelles does have staffing issues, work tirelessly to deliver an excellent eco product that is not comparable to anything else in Seychelles for the price.

Indeed we will be installing solar air-conditioners soon as our next project after the restaurant opens. We are lucky that the South East winds have picked up from now until next December and the climate is very pleasant day and night. This period Iles Des Palmes sell outs early.

Thank you for your valued comments and critique.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa, Polska
Level Contributor
353 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

...and most likely the best value for money.
We arrived with 2 small kids and received and updrage vs the originially booked smaller house. The location of the houses is great. On the beach, near a small road, overall piece and quiet. The people were friendly, local staff provided us even with starfruits.
What was nice is that the apartments were cleaned everyday, even with dishes.
The kitchen was well-equiped, starting off with a v.good fridge:)

At the time we stayed the restaurant was not yet finished, the pool was 90% ready, but swimable already.

What was the main drawback is the lack of airconditioning or at least more efficent fans. The one we had in the bedroom was simply oldish and did not a lot in the v.hot days. 2nd, dependant on the weather were the algae. They were in the bay in bigger numbers than elsewhere on the island, making an early swim hard. Mind you, there was a nicer beach ~5min walk north.

If the price will not sky-rocket due to the availability of the pool and restaurant, the place will develop nicely. With air-con or best-in-class fans this will be a Praslin counter-offer to the overpriced hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
We thank the Guest for this fair comment of our establishment. The restaurant is ready save for arrival of cutlery and glassware from Germany. We traveled to Munich last April to sort out the order, and insure that our guests will receive only the best quality. Our Executive Chef is on stand by. The Pool has now made a full conversion to salt and offers a nice swim and treatment for the skin.
On the a/c side, we are aware of this issue and we will do the necessary purchasing of solar a/c to keep cost of a stay at a reasonable level.

As for the algae, it is a seasonal issue and from time to time, it hits ever beach on Mahe Praslin La Digue. Usually we do get it in May and June. Then is lessens and moves to other beaches around Praslin,Mahe, La Digue. But there are always other beaches to frolic to and have a fantastic stay. No other destination has so many fantastic beaches as Praslin. Thank you for the comments, and I assure you, we will continue to do our best to deliver to you and all our guests a great eco product, with a fair price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My girlfriend and I were searching for a place to stay in Seychelles. We picked Praslin as the main island for our stay because friends tipped us that it is the main hub for island hopping and excursions. Mahe being mainly a gate of entry and exit. We followed their advise and booked 14 nights under special promotion at Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort. They have only 10 couple units, so we were very lucky to get the space for that length of stay. This place is magical. The hotel is set in a large estate owned by a Seychelles family, which we are delighted to support as they face many international branded companies with high and out of this world pricing. The bungalows were on the beach, and I must say for the price excellent value. The same unit in Seychelles can easily run you in the euro 300.00 mark. The units are large and have everything you need for a stay. Save money on getting a around, and rent bikes stay fit on holiday. You will love it. There is a new restaurant opening, it looks all exciting, too bad we arrived before the opening, but the added service will be a big plus to a hassle free holiday.

The house maids were a delight and absolutely pleasant. They are very simple people, but very nice and extremely professional in their job. Iles Des Palmes cannot be compared to any other establishment on Mahe or Praslin and La Digue, an alternate comparison just does not exist in Seychelles. We have really found a fantasitc place, with very nice caring people, we are definately returning not next year, but in the autumn/winter...

Room Tip: The bungalows are meters from the edge of the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 8 nights at Iles des Palmes and we felt extremely lucky to find such a place. Most of the guesthouses on Praslin are either on the busy road or far away from water. At Iles des Palmes - you have it all: waterfront and total serenity and privacy. It's a place where you can truly rest. Bungalows are very spacious and have everything you might need - from mosquito repellant to salt & pepper. Restaurants in Praslin are very expensive so if you don't want to spend a fortune, self-catering apartment is an option.

The owner is the nicest and kindest person we have met in Seychelles. He lives in one of the bungalows and was always ready to help us. When we arrived on Easter Sunday and were starving he took us with his car to the supermarket and to fisherman (the best one on the island) so we could do some shopping. He even gave us some stuff that we have forgotten to buy. Anything we needed he was accommodating it - even improving our view by asking gardner to cut some plants. We felt truly spoiled. :)
The place will even get better as there will be very soon the restaurant and swimming pool (all is built from local . You can also expect air conditioning coming powered by solar panels .
If you are looking for real, eco-friendly Seychelles - you won't find better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LatamPlywam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We came to Iles Des Palmes after a long week on Mahe. On Mahe we were very unhappy with the hotel we stayed at. It was cramped, loud music and dogs barking all night. At one point my wife asked me why did we come here. I felt really bad. We made our onward journey, taking a ferry from Mahe to Praslin. The ferry was loaded with travelers, but as we left the port of Victoria, we passed by St. Anne island, then Cerf island, we started to relax. Arriving on Praslin we jumped into a taxi and the driver took us to Iles Des Palmes which is a 7 minute drive. When we arrived, we saw this big red granite building and thought it was our hotel. It was I learnt later, a Seychelles Heritage Site one of the last remaining cinnamon burners in Seychelles representing a plantation era gone by. The Iles Des Palmes is basically a hotel with scattered bungalows along the coast. Immediately we regained our senses our sense of space to breathe. There is a large coconut grove at the center of the property which seems to separate everyone from everything. It is delightful to see it has been preserved. The rooms were large bungalows made of timber and had a comfortable natural feel to it. The housekeeping staff was very efficient with their service and they took excellent care of us for our 5 nights there. We regret that we did not book longer, and just stay on Mahe for one night when flying back. Praslin is a totally different island. If it is space, peace, relaxation and nature you are looking for, I fully recommend this hotel. The price is very competitive for Seychelles, but I suspect as the fantastic restaurant and pool opens to the public next month, the nice price will disappear. I hope they keep their value for money approach. We booked three nights in La Digue, but after the first night, we rebooked back at Iles Des Palmes for 2 more nights. We will definitely come back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
It is extremely encouraging for the staff and management of Iles Des Palmes to receive a positive assessment of a Guests stay with us. Such positive feedback reflects on our tireless effort to deliver to our guests a special product that has a fundamental ethos rooted on integrating nature in our product and not destroying it. In addition the Seychelles National Heritage Foundation has taken a great interest in the Six (6) sites on the property that have immense historical value that provide testimony to the great Plantation era, when this property under the previous owner was Praslin's main economic life line, from copra product to cinnamon vanilla, schooner building to ply the seas of the Indian Ocean and beyond. These assets and our tireless effort to meet guests expectations are given great injustice when lumped together with other establishments, that offer guests a fraction of what Iles Des Palmes does for the money. Thank you for your positive comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Ste Anne
4.1 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
839 reviews
6.2 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Berjaya Praslin Resort - Seychelles
2.4 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iles des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iles des Palmes

Property: Iles des Palmes
Address: Anse Takamaka | Near cot d'Or, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iles des Palmes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iles des Palmes bungalows is a premier Eco resort establishment with 20 cosy beach bungalows set out in a 18th century plantation. A large and peaceful garden just meters from the long and white sandy beach of anse takamaka on Praslin island.A pool and bar offer excellent vistas over the ocean. Restaurant Le Vasseur La Buse offers excellent Creole and international cuisine..Detached beach bungalows are typically designed in a Creole manner and fully equipped with all the necessary facilities and amenities for a pleasant stay.All Family units have kitchens. couple units we recommend B&b options.Iles des Palmes Bungalows are split into two different types of accommodations: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iles des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Des Palmes Hotel Praslin Island
Isles Des Palmes Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing