We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay”
Review of Iles des Palmes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iles des Palmes
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Certificate of Excellence
bellville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 night stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this resort. The location is quiet and has a lovely little beaches for the kids to play on. This place has an abundance of animal life including crabs, mud skippers, stingray's, fish, bats, birds and tortoises etc etc. The concentration of crab life is astounding.Though the owners have spent time and money to provide a good product the quality is not quite polished though the accommodation is being upgraded. Workman on either side of us was not ideal. The pool area was great and we loved spending time there. The restaurant and bar area seemed a contradiction to the prefab family concept chalets which put the pool area in no man's land, not quite family fun area not quite cocktail area. The restaurant is not yet open. The grounds are a little damp and marshy and there are a number of mosquito's about which could have been manageable if the units had air-conditioning. Apparently the units will be fitted with AC soon. If we had AC it would have been acceptable for smaller children but I found it a little uncomfortable with little ones and the mosquito.

I think it has good potential to be a nice family resort. I'd like to thank the staff for their friendly service. They do try hard to ensure a good experience.

Room Tip: get a room closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraslinStarfruit, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I have communicated your thanks to our staff that work tirelessly to deliver a fine product to our guests. We stand by our dedication,service, particularly to paying guests.
The work men are painting each bungalow in the family quarters to give guest a as new bungalow. This will be done by 10 more days work according to the painter. The unit being painted was 10 meters plus away from your unit. If there was ever an issue concerning the work men, it should have been addressed to the front desk and they would be instructed to stop work if it inconvenienced you or your party of six person in a three bedroom beachfront unit. On two separate occasions I personally asked your wife and parents if everything was fine. Their reply each was perfect.
You say that the area is damp. What do you expect when it rains? We are on an island and not in the dessert. The real,issue is what he have not said. You requested a day room and when it was charged, you declined it, you felt put out. But we cannot offer free day rooms to guests in a party of six that has spent only three days, purchased nothing from the bar, yet can comment on cocktails. A party of six in a day room means 6 extra pool towels and 6 extra bathroom towels. That is 12 towels to wash extra, and because they are heavy, it is not cheap to run. The security camera picked up a photo of your group sitting in a damp area underneath a mango tree for hours. It is certainly not a way to spend a holiday, or handle 2 young children. If you felt the day room was too expensive. Like the wine,which I offered you at half price,and declined, you could have asked for a discount. Given that you were a large party of six with children,our staff would certainly consider this. But dissing our establishment without merit we will never accept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    54
    12
    9
    16
See reviews for
32
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We spent here 1 week during our honeymoon in 2010. First of all, this is a very good accodomation for this price, so five star for value. But the villas could be a bit more renewed, maybe it is already done since 2010. The furnitures quite old, and used, and no AC so it is a bit hot. Actualy we want to stay in bungalows during our trip as well it has the own feeling.
The bugalows actually on the beach so on the evenings you can sit outside on the balcony or walk on the beach it is very romantic. The garden is very nice, turtles and crabs are cute:) The staff very kind. If you look a cheap bungalow in Praslin definitely has to be the Iles des Palmes.

Room Tip: This is a apartment, so if you wanna cook you need to shop, but on the island there is not to much g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for the positive comment on your stay at Iles Des Palmes in 2010. Since then the establishment has made many great improvements. We have two new swimming pools, a large sun deck, new Coco De Mer WI FI Lounge beachside, a fantastic bar, just opening this week and restaurant to follow in the same time. The new facilities are what are guest ask for. We will make a transition to full service for guests convenience.
The comment on the furniture is a little funny. We chuckle a bit over it. All our furniture is manufactured at the establishment and we use traditional designs. They are not old, but perhaps at times we design them that way, as a means to preserve our French influence, culture and unique heritage.
Thank you for valued comments, we will pass it on to our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We just got back from the Seychelles a couple days ago for our honeymoon and couldn't wait to write a review about Isle de Palmes. Not only was Praslin absolute paradise, but our stay at the Eco lodge was wonderful. Having never been to the seychelles or knowing anyone who's been, we could only go by pictures, descriptions and reviews posted online. And let me say, isle de palmes does not falsely advertise. All pics and descriptions are spot on. Our bungalow looked just like the pictures. It was very spacious, bedroom with large closets, living room, kitchen, bathroom and large porch. Much bigger than a hotel room and it had a ton of island character. The bungalows are also right on the water. Waking up to that view every morning was so dreamy. I must mention a couple of things: 1) no air conditioning and no screens on the windows. This is very typical in the seychelles though so just ask for mosquito netting at the front desk so you can keep your windows open at night. 2) it's a bit buggy at night on Praslin and after it rains so if you plan on relaxing on the porch after sunset keep the lights off, and light a candle and the burning ring of mosquito repellent.
Now about the property. The beach is beautiful. Not exactly the best for swimming because its a bit shallow, but you can watch baby rays feed and jumping fish fly out of the water. The land animals are beautiful too. All of the different birds visit you every morning along with the variety of mangrove crabs. Watch out for the holes in the ground at night though. Also, you can visit the giant turtles on the grounds. They love to be fed and pet. Such beautiful creatures. Additionally, you can take the kayaks out around the bay for some pretty amazing snorkeling. I do advise renting a car to visit the whole island. Don't rely on the bus. You will be waiting for hours. Best beaches to visit are the Côte d'Or area and Anse Lazio. Be careful of the guys trying to selling you boat excursions from Côte d'Or. We heard a horror story of people being left on an outer island with no ride back. Book through a reputable company. We used Lone Wolf Charters and Corsaire Boat Charters. Both were great. Anse Lazio is a must see. The most beautiful beach I've been to in my entire life. We ended up going back two more times.
Lastly, our stay at Isle de Palmes wouldn't have been as wonderful as it was if it weren't for all of the staff. They were all genuinely nice people, so if you kill them with kindness they will reciprocate. One gentleman engaged us and another family in great conversation while treating us to island moonshine made from the palm tree. Another gentleman who was fixing our water heater stopped what he was doing to help me clean a fish I picked up from in town and gave us fresh mangos, limes and star fruit from the grounds. Best mango I've ever had. Also, the woman at the front desk let us keep our room until 4:30pm on our last day which meant we got an additional day out of our trip. Instead of dragging our suitcases around Victoria, we got another beach day. We can not thank everyone enough at Isle de Palmes for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely recommend these accommodations to our friends and can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spinnerr825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Our staff and management is delighted that you travel so far, and had such a great time with us at Iles Des Palmes, Praslin. We were elated that our staff gave you the little attention that is so typical of what makes the Seychellois Island Character, so friendly, and helpful. We do have an excellent team of Tourism Industry professionals and we are proud of them. Marie Rose heads the Front Desk and will professionally assist you with connections for dining, excursions, transfers. Dawson, head of grounds, is ever so helpful, and willing to assist guest, be it a coco nut or as you mentioned, scaling a fish. Charlie and his coco nut toddy or moonshine as you referred to it, is making quite a name for himself and helping to keep our traditions alive that we encourage him, to share with our guests, but not too much if they are driving. Betty in Housekeeping, has consistently delivered excellent service with a romantic touch for guests. Today we compete with International 5 star brands, we welcome the critics and compliments to assist us to improve our product delivery. Thank you very much for a accurate description of your stay and of our establishment, which is becoming famous by the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Me and my wife visited the island for two days in Feb 2014.
What I liked about the hotel:
1) Spacious rooms: The hall and the bedroom were quite spacious and clean. There is a porch in the front wherein you can have your food. this faces the beach.
2) Big garden and tortoise park: The self catering has a big garden for you to play and enjoy. It also has a volleyball net and football goal posts! There is a tortoise park which adds a different zing to this place!
3) View: The view is beach facing and a good place to sunbathe! As the location is quite remote, you will have a lot of privacy!
What I did not like about this place:
1) Remote location: If you have booked this property please ensure that you have a car/bike as this place is quite remotely placed, the nearest grocery store is about 1.5 KM away!
2) The property faces the beach, however the beach had a lot of sea weed and hence I could not enjoy the beach during that period of time.
3) No safe for your valuables in the room. Safe facility is only at the reception and not in your rooms.

Room Tip: No A/C in the rooms. It gets pretty hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhishek0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you found our place to be a great place to relax. The property is large, and it is an an eco resort, Hence the issue of remoteness, we find a bit awkward. 1.5 kilometers from Baie St. Anne, and Cote D'or is not far, it is ideal to our guest, unless of course, one wants his/her hotel room under the Indian shops with all the problems that brings to your holiday. The issue of car renting and bike renting, is a quintessential part of a Praslin holiday for no matter where you stay on Praslin, The areas of interest are well spread out across the span of the island, unless you take the bus to visit the island. Praslin of course, is not Maldive where you are confined to a sun lounger, with no place to walk, bike or tour. Unfortunately, a 2 day visit does not justice to a trip to Praslin.
On the issue of the safe in reception and not in the room. This was a conscious decision by management to provide a safe with a Tag and Bag Service, because of the vastness of the property and span of placement of bungalows, it would be too expensive to camera the whole place, and guests may not like cameras surrounding them where they live. The Reception where the safe is located has 14 cameras, and we have never had a single incident of theft of belongings from the Reception Safe. On the issue of seaweed, it is nature, and it happens, but we have numerous beaches on the property and Praslin itself has numerous beaches accessible easily by bike or car, or bus for the thrifty minded. Iles Des Palmes remains as one Agoda regional said, the best value for money in Praslin, and no one can really complain about anything at this price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Perfectly located on its own private beach. Our family visited Praslin for the first time February 2014 and stayed at iles de palmes self-catering bungalows, we were very impressed of the services that was provided to us by the owners and staff. They were very friendly, helpful during our stay. We had a great time. The rooms were very clean and spacious. I would strongly recommend this place and would not hesitate to go back again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
It is with great pride and gratitude that we read of such a positive comment on Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort. The staff will be advised. Most recently the occupancy permits for Le Vasseur La Buse Restaurant was granted and we are finalizing details for our Chef and expect the restaurant to be fully operational soon.
The new expansion has a great pool area over the ocean looking inwards to the beach and the surrounding sites of Praslin. Today, Seychellois owned hotels compete with international brands, and we are delivering comparable products without the comparable price.
We will continue to strive to offer guests a quality eco product, meet their expectations, and keep our word to them in the Seychelles true tradition.
On behalf of the Iles Des Palmes Team, thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Iles des Palmes on Prasline Island Seychelles on a round trip which included a week in Mauritius and a stop over in Dubai before flying to rainy London... Other than flying in a luxurious new Emirates airbus!!... the highlight of our trip was in fact the simplest part of our trip; a week at Iles Des Palmes. What made it so special and unique was the sheer tranquillity and serenity of the place. We rented a couple of push bikes and road the windy and sometimes quite precarious roads around Prasline, be sure to bring plenty of drinking water as it is HOT! The most amazing scene was the sun setting behind low lying hills whilst sat on the deck chair by the beautiful new pool. The sea is in touching distance of the bungalows that dot the edge of the beach. The best thing about the morning was the sheer amount of birds singing whilst having a healthy breakfast of fruits and coconuts (provided by our lovely maid - Jessy). They are currently building a poolside restaurant and lounge which I am sure will be 'the' spot to hang out after a lazy day sunbathing on one of Prasline's world famous beaches! This place is incomparable to any others due to its uniqueness... When my kids are bit older we are planning on a family trip as they have acres of flat, manicured grass land, tortoise, canoe's, tall palms and of course the beach and the sea. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: Diving is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for such a positive review for Iles Des Palmes Eco Resort. Our staff have been in overdrive during the holidays to deliver to our guests. Jessy is a fantastic housekeeper, and she has a very special touch. I will convey your appreciation to her. Indeed the pool area is just a real real treat for our guests. The restaurant works had been completed in late September. But we are waiting for government to issue our occupancy permits. They are slow in Seychelles. We do expect to be up and running very soon. 2013 was a year of vast improvements at Iles Des Palmes. We hope our guests in 2014 will appreciate the effort similarly, and we assure all our guests of retaining our value for money ethos and deliver on all our promises to our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Our family visited Iles des Palmes for 12 days in December 2013 in one of the 3 bedroom bungalows. As this is one of the cheapest accommodation available we prepared ourselves not to expect too much. We were however very impressed by the lodge and it's staff. The rooms are spacious and always clean. The property is also kept very tidy and there is a sense space that few other resorts on Praslin have (we visited most other lodges on the island for dining out or having some drinks). Their conscience effort to preserve the environment (solar powered lights across the property and no air cons) is also a breathe of fresh air. Other lodges place unnecessary strain (through aircons) on the environment in order to attract a few extra guests. The staff is very friendly in particular the lady that manages everything, Marie Rose. Whenever we required anything, such as extra chairs or mosquito coils she responded very sharply. I would highly recommend staying at Iles des Palmes for anyone who appreciates good service, clean rooms, and the beautiful Seychelle's environment.

Thanks Iles des Palmes and Marie Rose

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sezfree4u, General Manager at Iles des Palmes, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you so much for such valued comment. Indeed, our initial ethos at Iles Des Palmes was to deliver a superior eco nature product for fair value. Our grounds are the second largest on Praslin after Lemuria a golf course, so our guests in the 20 odd bungalows, do indeed have space and nature to interact with. For natural setting and location we are second to none. New Technology has allowed us to replace 250 electric lights with solar lights, saving us money, which in turn steady prices on offer. In the new year we expect to add solar air conditioners, which are now cost effective technology, Thank you for your thumbs up for Iles Des Palmes, it is heart warming to read/hear, our staff efforts have been appreciated. We remain committed to our ethos of delivering an environmental experience for value for money,and keeping our word to our guests, which is a novelty at times .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Ste Anne
4.1 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mango Lodge
Mango Lodge
#7 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chalets Cote Mer
Chalets Cote Mer
#2 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.5 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iles des Palmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iles des Palmes

Property: Iles des Palmes
Address: Anse Takamaka | Near cot d'Or, Baie Ste Anne, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Baie Ste Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Baie Ste Anne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iles des Palmes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iles des Palmes bungalows is a premier Eco resort establishment with 20 cosy beach bungalows set out in a 18th century plantation. A large and peaceful garden just meters from the long and white sandy beach of anse takamaka on Praslin island.A pool and bar offer excellent vistas over the ocean. Restaurant Le Vasseur La Buse offers excellent Creole and international cuisine..Detached beach bungalows are typically designed in a Creole manner and fully equipped with all the necessary facilities and amenities for a pleasant stay.All Family units have kitchens. couple units we recommend B&b options.Iles des Palmes Bungalows are split into two different types of accommodations: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iles des Palmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isles Des Palmes Hotel Praslin Island
Isles Des Palmes Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing