We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The island of Praslin is undoubtedly as near to paradise as you might find. It's wonderful tropical climate, famed powder white beaches (often cited as amongst the best in the world) and lush, forested interior are truly amazing. The Dhevatara Beach Hotel rises to paradises challenge by offering you a little bit of heaven.

The moment you step into the hotel you enter a sanctuary. Themed around a central water garden, with fountains, waterfalls and tropical plants the hotel is extraordinarily beautiful. The swimming pool is small but beautiful and the beach is amazing. A huge expanse of the softest sand with hardly a soul upon it.

With only 10 rooms you are guaranteed peace, quiet and a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. The rooms are luxuriously appointed and feature TV, mini bar coffee and teak, powerful air conditioning and above all possibly the most luxurious and comfortable beds I have ever slept in. You will sleep well at Dhevatara. The bathrooms feature the use of natural stone and have both a luxurious shower and separate deep bath. L'Occitane products add to the pampering and enhance your bath time even further. Each room is different and themed. Mine was the Losean suite and had a subtle, nautical feel.

Food in the Seychelles can disappoint a little, but not at The Dhevatara. The cuisine is simply outstanding. Beautifuly presented, freshly cooked and with wonderful flavours each coarse will delight. The menu is extensive and the hotel listens to your likes and dislikes and will tailor the menu to suite. Of especial mention is the bread, wonderful! Easily on a par to that served in the finest of Michellin starred restaurants. Fortunately the same quality of bread and pastries is also offered with the wonderful breakfast.

However what sets this hotel appart from most others is the service and the staff. As a team they make you feel both valued and special. The hotel manager personally greets you and checks on your satisfaction throughout your stay. The restaurant staff show a genuine interest in you and make you feel like and old friend. The entire, small team deserve a big pat on the back and a huge thank you making my oh so brief stay with them perfect.

Finally, if you want to treat yourself to and outstanding hotel, where customer service is paramount, food and accommodation are superb and where the atmosphere is intimate, unhurried and relaxed then you need look no further.....

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank SimonLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhevatara, General Manager at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear valued guests,

Many thanks for choosing Dhevatara Beach Hotel as the place to be in Praslin!

It was a pleasure welcoming you and ensuring the hightest quality of service during your stay. We are delighted that you've found 'your little heaven' with us!

Thank you so much for your lovely comments which have already been passed on to all our team members. Our guests comments mean a lot to us and help us to move forward in the right direction to exceed our guests' expectations. Here, at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, our aim is to satisfy our guests by providing the most personalised service with high standards and courteous manners.

We are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Most sincerely,

Geraldine Morat
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Dhevatara Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

From the moment my husband and I arrived, we felt like we made the right choice for our honey moon. The hotel is small and quiet and immediately you feel a sense of relaxation and tranquility. Everyone from the hotel manager to cleaning staff was very friendly and professional. The chef was spectacular and made sure that all of our food expectations were met. The beach is long and great for walks. Although there was some seaweed in the water, the staff cleaned the beach each morning so it was perfect. If you are looking for a more expansive and well known beach, then do some research and stay on another part of the island. Taxis are easily accessible so travel around the island is very easy. The hotel provides bikes and snorkeling gear for guests. Overall, our five night stay was amazing and we highly recommend this hotel to those looking to relax.

Stayed: December 2012
21  Thank bostongirl17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhevatara, General Manager at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear valued guests,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you in our peaceful resort. Many thanks for your nice comments, my team and I are delighted to have served you and contributed to enhance your stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Dhevatara Beach Hotel for your special celebration, my team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back for your 1st anniversary.
The Dhevatara team would like to take the opportunity to wish you a fantastic New Year.

Best regards,

Geraldine Morat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The worrying stuff first (after all that, I still give it a "very good"!)... If you make it through that, you'll discover the beauty of the hotel:

Important 1: Know that the beach is nothing special at all, and quite often full of seaweed (depending on season and wind direction). Check the fotos - it is really not a beach anyone stays on, and there are no sunbeds or sunchairs nor ambrellas found on the entire beach (that pretty much speaks for itsel).
Important 2: You'll need a rental car. Else you will not see much of the beautiful stuff on Praslin.
Important 3: Check the status of construction work. There was not much to be heard when we were there (November 2012), but construction is ongoing and likely to last at least another year.

The hotel buildings, rooms and gardens are very beautiful. The pool (a pool that is kept clean without chemicals) is ok, but nothing spectacular. The hotel is small (10 rooms) and does not offer much besides sleeping and food. There is a small garden to relax (hammocks, sunbeds and beach umbrellas), which is kept nice and tidy. Most people go to other places during the day...

Food: This is food-heaven! There is a great cook (award-wining in the Seychelles), and you get a well-made and attractive-presented 4-course-meal every night. Dinner is a celebration, so if you don't enjoy that but want to eat fast, let them know or chose a different hotel. This is only for people who value a real dinner and "have time" for it.
For breakfast, you get the a la carte option (also if you are on a meal plan) - and breakfast is served with care to detail too.
You really can't complain about the food - the chef even includes the fish people catch on a fishing day in the menue. The chef also comes and talks to you, asks you what you like and what else you could probably whish for.
Food is outstanding at the Dhevatara, no question.

Location:
Google Maps doesn't know where the hotel is, if just enter the name. Make sure you are shown a position at "Grande Anse, Praslin". This side of Praslin is the less beautiful one, so be prepared to travel to the other side for at least some days of your stay, and if you want to see Anse Lazio, Anse Volbert, Cote d'Or there is no way around having your own car.
After we found out the beach was nothing, we rented a car for the whole week (aroound 35$/day) and were happy with that solution, because we could see many different places and beautiful beaches (all between 15 and 35 minuntes driving time from the hotel) at reasonable cost. Without mobility, it's hard to get happy at the hotel, because it does not offer a nice beach nor else much to do.
We recommend to visit Anse Lazio and Anse Georgette (ask hotel to call the Lemuria resort to obtain permission, else you will be refused at the gate - also expect to walk 15min uphill and downhill).

Service:
Staff is very friendly, and also very helpful. Sometimes speed is not their main asset, but if you look around the Seychelles, you will see that this is what they are used to, so be a bit generous too.

Spa:
There really isn't a Spa. They have 1 room where they offer massage (anyone saying you can not get a massage at this hotel is simply lieing - we got one). The lady doing the massage came from outside of the hotel, but she did a great job and there's no complaining about that. You will definitely not find big spa pools, sauna, whirlpool and likewise at the hotel, also true.

All in all, I would go again, but only with the knowledge of what the beach looks like and how this influences your stay. Don't expect to be sunbathing at or in front of your hotel - you have to go elsewhere for that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank FlyboyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhevatara, General Manager at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Dear valued guests,
Many thanks for choosing Dhevatara Beach Hotel for your stay in Praslin.
Me and my team would like to thank you for your valuable comments. At Dhevatara we aim to provide high quallity services and constantly review our standards and train our team members to fulfil our guests expectations.
In the Seychelles all beaches are public which restraint us to put permanent sunbeds and umbrellas however, it can be arranged on daily basis by our team members to satisfy our guests.
As mentioned, there is a construction taking place close to our hotel which might be noisy from time to time, this construction will end shortly.
Our Spa is under rennovation however, services are still provided on demand for our guests' satisfaction.
Our executive chef and his team are delighted to offer amazing international dishes and we are pleased that you've enjoyed your fine dining experiences.
Many thanks once again for choosing Dhevatara Beach Hotel, we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in our little paradise.
Sincerely,
Geraldine Morat
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We spent 4 nights in Dhevatara Hotel at Praslin in the middle of November. The hotel is very nice, rooms are clean, very new and well designed. Especially, the view from our suite (sunset) was spectacular. The staff was very helpful all time. Dinner at the hotel's restaurant was first class. First day the beach was full of seaweed, but the following days they just had disappeared. We were told it is because of the trade wind change. So, after that, everything was just perfect, like being in the paradise. Praslin itself is wonderful, with many nice and secluded beaches, so its worth to travel a little bit outside of the hotel, and visit other places in the island. (by public transport, which is fun, or by hiring free of charge a bicycle from the hotel)
Overall, i would recommend this place for everyone.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
17  Thank Gabor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhevatara, General Manager at Dhevatara Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear valued guests,

We are delighted that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Dhevatara Beach Hotel & Spa.
My team and I appreciate your nice comments which are so meaningful to us .
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Most sincerely,

Geraldine Morat,
General Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were here for four nights on our honeymoon and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
This is a small hotel, only 10 rooms, and the staff here really do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Whatever you ask for, the answer is always yes!
The rooms are amazing: big, spacious, bright, great decor, super comfortable bed and one of the best bathrooms I have ever seen.
The food is also great. No buffet, you can order anything you want for breakfast and they will make it for you, and they have a great dinner menu. The chef Pat cooks amazing dishes.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are great
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank BarcelonaAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were greeted by name when we arrived at the hotel by taxi and that was the level of service that continued throught our 12 night stay...

The hotel is a small boutique hotel with the emphasis on quality and relaxation. It delivers...

All the staff are exceeding friendly with nothing too much effort and the food produced by the chef was simply fine dining of the highest order, it was fantastic.

My only critiques are that the beach was out of use due to the seaweed being in season and the Spa was closed until 2013. To alleviate this they provided complimentary shuttle bus to both the nearest 5* Spa and Anse Lazio beach. Anse Lazio is a beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Stay Half Board as the food is amazing....
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Just got back from a five day trip to Seychelles, first time, and was generally very pleased with our choice of hotel. Dhevatara is an interesting boutique hotel, perfectly suited to the without kids travelers (couples) with a nice low key vibe dictated by its ten room max. From what we could see the Seychelles seems to have a handful(growing) of luxury resort hotels and then a plethora of guest houses, smaller hotels, self catering. Dhevatara nicely straddles this world and gets you close to a luxury holiday but without the cost and to be frank anonymity of some of these places. The 10 suite/room set up here is nice. The suites are well designed and a nice little escape, the garden/pool set up nicely done and the food potentially very good. On this latter point we had the set 4 course menu rolled into our package every night which was great value. It does constain you of course to what the chef has got on the day and not everything was to our taste but you have to admit the food was good. At times a little too complicated it was good nonetheless. The pastries/bread and desserts every day/night in contrast were great - a real high point and clearly top notch training. Service was on balance very good - Estelle very helpful - and they helped us sort out a boat charter (Indigo - with nigel - which we would highly recommend) and took us around the island to Lazio which was good. The free bikes were great and we could check in early and later which was good. The only thing i would say is that service in the restuarant probably needs one more person - we did have to wait a bit too long at times for the menu, to get the drink we had ordered. Maybe just running one person short? The spa was also closed when we were there - not sure why but we be good to get that fixed. All in all, loved the island and would recommend the place as good higher end mid tier hotel.

Room Tip: In reality there is little difference in my view between an ocean view or garden view. any ocean roo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Princesslucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
2.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
789 reviews
2.8 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
167 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,038 reviews
8.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhevatara Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhevatara Beach Hotel

Address: Grand Anse, Grand Anse, Praslin Island 00000, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range: £234 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dhevatara Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dhevatara Beach Hotel is a 5* Beach Front Boutique Hotel, offering 10 individually styled and designed Suites that embrace local culture and architecture whilst providing the amenities that a modern day traveler expects. All our suites (50sqm) are individually decorated and furnished with handcrafted art pieces to create a natural luxury environment.No need to rush in the morning to have your breakfast. With us, you have the freedonm to decide where and when you will have it: in the restaurant or in the garden even until 3pm. Forget the hustle to wait for a club-car to reach the Beach , here, it will take only 20 seconds to find the blue sandy beach or the invigorating first ionized swimming Pool in Seychelles ( chlorine Free).The Hotel offers: 5 Ocean and 5 Garden view Suites with En-suite bathroom with bath and shower,Deluxe L'Occitane Bathroom amenities. Separate changing room. Balcony. Mini-bar. Tea/coffee making facilities. In Suite deposit safe. Free Wi-Fi Internet access. 40 Inches Multi Directional flat screen TV with 21 satellite channels including EuroSport Channel, English and French movie channels, German, Chinese, Creole Channels. DVD players . Direct dial telephone. Air conditioning. To note that 1 ocean and 1 garden view suites can be turned into Twin rooms and that no extra bed can be intalled in the Suites. We are also able to provide 2 interconnecting Double suites attached via a Single Room for a maximum of 5 pax. Unfortunately due to the stucture of the Hotel, we are able only to welcome children over the age of 12 years old. At the Pond restaurant, Dhevatara a-la-carte Signature restaurant, our multi award winning Chef, delights his guests through a combination of culinary traditions interpreted with ethnic savors from Mediterranean, Asian, and of course Creole flavors. His fusion cuisine is bound together with the perfumes of home grown spices, local herbs, and flowers all handpicked from the in-house roof-top spices garden. At Dhevatara Beach Hotel we assure our highest level of service to ensure our guests a comfortable and memorable stay with us, making them feel more than a room number. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dhevatara Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing