We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and friendly (for the most part)”
Review of Indian Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indian Ocean Lodge
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The hotel is clean and the rooms very spacious and comfortable. Its located at the southern part of Praslin, not the prettiest part of the island. But if you are on a budget then this is a good option to explore. The staff is friendly and courteous, but you will find a few sullen staff, all in their restaurant. This part of the island has a lot of seaweed in close to the shore, which can make the beach dirty, but the staff actually rake up all seaweed washed ashore. Not the best spot for snorkeling. Over all we had a pleasant time and wouldn't mind going back

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shiran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

Location for this hotel is not good if you are coming to Seychelles to enjoy the beach and swim. The beach is dirty, lots of seaweed and smelly. Location is not good considering that nicest beaches (Anse Lazio) are in the other side of the Island. The hotel itself is nice, and rooms are comfortable with classy beach decor (full of ants though). The staff is not friendly and sometimes rude. We got there around 8.30 am and we had to wait for the rooms to be ready until 11 am (expected). The receptionist offered us to sit down and have breakfast and even though we had a half board we were charged 25 US$ each for an omelette and a coffee creating an uncomfortable situation in front of other guest (server was extremely rude and confronting). Overall, not a good experience and a waste of time if you want to enjoy the beach and a truly Seychellois welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Such a sweet little hotel in a very peaceful setting. The rooms are extremly comfortable with lovely balconies looking out towards the sea although some of the view is obscured by trees. The only problem I had with the rooms were the rather basic bathrooms which are really in need of an upgrade but saying that they are prefectly clean and the shower is nice and powerful. Very comfortable bed and good selection of English TV channels just in case you are unlucky enough to get a rainy afternoon.

The food was excellent, lots of choice for dinner, great breakfast where they give you an extensive choice of fruit, very fresh pastries and eggs cooked to order.

The pool is quite small but perfectly sufficient and very clean. Maybe would be nice to have a few more sun loungers in case the hotel is full as there were a couple of days where there was not enough for everyone but I get the impression that the hotel is not always full so may not be a problem. The beach is lovely but not suitable for swimming so you will need to go to the other beach, Cote D'or to which the hotel provide a shuttle service and is absolutely worth the journey, probably one of the most beuatiful beaches I have ever seen. Praslin in general is a real paradise and this is a very good value place to experience it from.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

What a wonderful 5 day stay we had here this december!
The hotel is at Grand Anse ideally situated with a supermarket, money exchange and take away places nearby. The beach is right there for you to laze or swim. The rooms are wonderful. For once the pictures on the website were as the place was ! Loads of storage and nice bath , comfortable beds. We shared a room with our 2 daughters and they had 2 comfortable beds to themselves. Quite spacious for the 4 of us. Lovely balcony to sip your morning tea watching the sea. We were on half board, breakfast and the dinner buffet were good. Lots of variety. If you are a vegetarian you might not have much variety but you definitely wont go hungry.
The staff is helpful ready to acomodate all your requests. Makes sense to have a self drive car unless you are booked with a tour company. Highly recommend driving around the island, beach hopping. Anse Lazio is the best beach about 35 minutes drive from here and it'll take your breath away!
Time just dances idly in the waves here. Its dreamy and the ideal island holiday.

Room Tip: Any room is good! we were at number 9 right next to the restaurant. Kids would hop in and out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

indian ocean lodge is a solid choice when staying on praslin island, especially if you like long walks on endless white sand beaches. the hotel was clean and friendly and had everything we wished for. anyway, if you like snorcheling you better find a place at the northern end of the island (snorcheling there was just a dream!!!!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doraemonPEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Lovely little hotel in a great position. Small and cosy with a family run atmosphere. Comfortable rooms, bit small but cosy. They are decorated in a beach comber style, like drift wood and shells and little interesting knickknacks you would find on the beach.
The beach is great here and although the hotel has a restaurant where nothing is too much trouble, it is easy to eat out.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ly52kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

After a night at Praslin’s most exclusive hotel – the Constance Lémuria Resort – we moved to the Indian Ocean Lodge 10 mins car-ride away.

Expecting the move from five-star to three-star to be a disappointment, we had a pleasant surprise: we loved it.

From the moment we checked in to our delicious lunch of fresh stir-fried Calamari and grey jackfish with tomato chutney, topped off with a fresh coconut milkshake, we’re sold by the personal service, charming setup and friendly laid-back feel of this small property.

Owned by Mrs. Mason – the Seychellois owner of Mason’s Travel, who is one of the largest travel agents on the islands – it is part of a chain of three properties: one on Mahé called Carana Beach Hotel (under reconstruction) and a five-star resort on Denis Island called Denis Private Island Resort.

There are 32 villas located close to the beach with a marine decor. The double shower and the kitschy Coco de Mer-shaped lampshades amused me.

We ate dinner in the hotel one night and it was good. As there are not many restaurants around, it's handy to eat at the hotel, especially if you have been out at the beach all day or diving. We had a watercress soup for starters followed by palm heart with fresh mint.

Main course is grilled barracuda steak, roast lamb loin or a local fish called bonito darne with ginger sauce served with coconut rice which I chose, seduced by the combination of fish, ginger and coconut. In a naughty twist, for dessert, they serve up the popular European desert Black Forest gateau with a watermelon coulis. It’s an unfussy dinner, a cosy atmosphere, the sound of the waves breaks in the background and the service is personal and fast. What more can you ask for.

The Indian Ocean Lodge is good value-for-money (by Seychellois standards). Half board for two people per night will cost around EUR 220.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KerryBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Anse
4.2 mi away
Iles des Palmes
Iles des Palmes
#3 of 3 in Baie Ste Anne
150 reviews
2.7 mi away
Acajou Beach Resort
Acajou Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Anse Volbert
410 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,422 reviews
2.9 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Lodge

Address: Grand Anse, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Region: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Grand Anse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Anse
Price Range: £160 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Ocean Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are spacious, each boasting a king-size bed, air-conditioning, ceiling fan, tea & coffee making facilities, mini fridge, IDD telephone, WiFi, safe, hairdryer and satellite TV and private terrace.The restaurant offers both local and international cuisine in an informal and friendly atmosphere. Live music five times a week. Our bar on the seaward side services both the lounge and the pool deck. Shuttle service to and from Cote D’or beach are available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Indian Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Ocean Hotel Praslin Island
Indian Ocean Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing